Recent Searches
Clear

York Walking Tour

star-4.5116 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
York, United Kingdom
York Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 40 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Free pick up within a 1 mile radius on individual private tours.
Museum and attraction Entry fees. Price range £6 - £17
30-32 High Petergate , 30-32 High Petergate, York YO1 7EH, UK

Please head to the West Window of York Minster. Currently it has a board outside advertising 'Queen Elizabeth's Square.' Bennet's cafe is on the corner, near one lonely tree. Your guide arrives 10 minutes before start time and will stand near the outdoor area of Bennet's cafe

All Saints' Pavement , High Ousegate, York YO1 8RZ, UK

The end point is 6 minutes walk from the start of the tour. The location gives access, to Jorvik Viking Centre, Castle museum and Cliffords tour, the river walk and 2 minutes from the Shambles.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Britannia RoutesTours LTD
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during York Walking Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by York Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
116 Reviews
3 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews
star-5
Great experience
Anthony_K
, Aug 2022
Overall a very good tour with helpful advice on how to enjoy other aspects of York. Our guide was punctual, friendly, and well informed
star-5
York Tour
Megan_R
, Jul 2022
I really wish I could remember the guide's name, he was very informative and engaging! Awesome experience and I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting York. The best tour I have been on in awhile.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much for the brilliant review. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
star-5
Lovely York Walking tour
Angela_C
, Jul 2022
The guide - Nick: Good stories - a super insight to ancient York. Nick was very personable & considerate. The small group helped to make it very enjoyable. Walk wall was great - just the right duration.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your review. It's amazing to know you had such a great afternoon with us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Many thanks Nick for a...
Sirpa_J
, Jul 2022
Many thanks Nick for a excellent tour and a good humour! You were very knowledgeable and entertaining
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Awwe thank you so much. It was pleasure to have such a fantastic group. Always a pleasure.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour that ended up a private tour
Russell_M
, Jul 2022
Nick was great and it ended up being a private tour! He was full of knowledge and had answers to all of our questions. A great hour and a half learning about York!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the tour. We are really pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A great historic walk well explained.
Paul_S
, Jul 2022
Our guide was punctual, polite and very knowledgeable. In fact, he made our day. The walk along the walls, seeing historic sights was indeed memorable. Past times, religions, tribes, pestilences and persecutions peppered our talk and he certainly brought the historic events to life There is no doubt of the benefits of having a guide. Guidebooks are dull by comparison. Recommended.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much for this amazing review. History is always interesting it';s the way it's portrayed, which is why we deliver an exciting overview of York from its development, through it's history and other events that makes York so amazing.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Our the tour guide didn't...
Simon_B
, Jul 2022
Our the tour guide didn't turn up. We were very disappointed as looking forward to it. But hopefully we are getting a refund... did our own tour of the city walls which I would recommend
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
The review is understandable but VIATOR and another booking platform who tried to join link systems closed my bookings down for nearly a week, since they allegedly rectified the error my bookings are now coming through 2-3 days late which they are apparently working on. Where as it is fair as no guide was there, it has been completely, and frustratingly out of our control. I can only apologise on behalf of Viator who don't take responsibility for their error.
star-5
Spot on Nick
Sean_J
, Jun 2022
Wow - what an hour and 45 mins. Nick our historian was spot on - his knowledge of the local history was amazing, and so interesting. Learned so much ...that if you were not informed of you would walk straight on past. - "devil's doors" . " lepers window", "one for the road" "and "hangers on" to mention but a few. Excellent would go again if and when back in York - thanks Sean and Julie
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for this lovely review, really pleased you enjoyed the tour , it was a pleasure taking you around.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Magical!
Temenuzhka_P
, Jun 2022
Tom is very energetic, kind and knowledgeable. It was very informative yet interesting and engaging. I did enjoy the tour very much and I can only applause the way Tom did it. I did feel special customer and I truly hope that when I return one day to York I will be able to do the same tour. Thank you for making my stay in York so amazing! Thank you, Tom!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for this amazing review, it's great to read about your fantastic experience. You will always be welcome back!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great insightful tour , guide very impressive
Donna_B
, Jun 2022
My mum and me had booked a walking tour around York as part of trip away to the city. When we arrived to our surprise we were the only to people on the tour. The man leading the tour was brilliant , and extremely knowledgeable and engaging with a plethora of facts and history about York. We were led through all the main landmarks starting at the minster along the old city walls and through the well preserved cobbled streets of York. We would highly recommend, the experience was fulfilling and we both felt like we left knowing a lot more about the city of York!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. It covers everything we try to do with our tours. Hope to see you all again on another one of our tours.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Having the History...
Chris_F
, Jun 2022
Having the History condensed, getting to walk around the walls and take in the city views, very informative in a reasonable amount of time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review the walk.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun & knowledgeable
Karen_Y
, Jun 2022
Our guide was very knowledgable and very interesting. Really insightful and enjoyable tour. Would absolutely recommend. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Inspiring intro walk for first time visitors to York
Laurence_M
, Jun 2022
Tom, our guide, is a local guy and made the experience interesting and informative. Lots of interaction with him which made it more enjoyable.!! Learnt about the history of York through the ages and walked part of the City Walls to see the historic parts from that unique perspective. An inspiring introduction to York and big thanks to Tom for that.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for taking the tome too review your tour. It's great to hear that you had such a great time.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Fabulous
Helena_C
, Jun 2022
Nick was lovely. Kept the history interesting. Nice stories behind sayings - one for the road, on the wagon etc Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for this amazing review!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great knowledgeable tour guide with excellent presentation and a good walk.
Elena_R
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was very knowledgable and ready to answer any questions that we had. He did get one thing wrong (he stated that Henry VIII was king in 1586, I corrected him, that Elizabeth was on the throne). Other than that, it was excellent - I learned a lot about the city, the landmarks, the romans. He was great!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your great review. I will certainly brush up on my monarchs! Glad you enjoyed the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Bring Old York to Life
Andrew_P
, Jun 2022
Had an amazing tour around York. The guide’s name escapes me, but he did a wonderful job with the history and stories. It made ancient York come to life. He answered questions so thorough. Loved hearing the different eras of York. Really, really amazing job.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we are so pleased to know you enjoyed the journey through Yorks history.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A wonderful sunny day out :)
Elspeth_S
, May 2022
A HUGE thank you to my tour guide. I was the only one booked on and instead of feeling like a nuisance, I was welcomed with a friendly smile and wonderful enthusiasm. My tour guide was extremely knowledgable about everything and was incredibly accommodating - he was constantly checking I was OK with different aspects of the tour (e.g. height). He gave recommendations the whole way around and he was always available for an anecdote of the tour went slightly off tangent. It was clear how passionate my tour guide was about York, not just the history, but the city as a whole. I would highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for this lovely review. York has a lot to be passionate about and it's brilliant to know you had a. great time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Thoroughly Enjoyable!
Jacqui_W
, May 2022
A really enjoyable tour with a guide who was really knowledgeable and engaging, would highly recommend
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Brilliant 2 hours
Roz_S
, May 2022
Nick was brilliant . Told us so much history and saw places we would never of found on our own . Very very interesting and funny tales too.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It is always pleasure to show people this amazing city. Loom out for our tours in Stratford upon Avon.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Enjoyable afternoon..!
Stephen_W
, May 2022
Nick was an engaging and informative Tour guide. We visited many places of interest, and discovered a lot of interesting York history.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for this amazing review.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
York Walking Tour
York Walking Tour

star-4.5116

1 hour 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$15.36

star-5371

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$22.12

star-530

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$14.75

star-5838

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$11.67

star-535

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$18.43

star-518

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$24.41

star-00

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$29.98

star-41312

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$22.12
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations