Recent Searches
Clear

Wellington Sightseeing Tour

|
Wellington, New Zealand
Wellington Sightseeing Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 20 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Whether it’s your first time in Wellington or you just want to see as much as possible during your time in port, this half-day sightseeing tour offers a great introduction to the city and a diverse range of sights. Visit the iconic Weta Cave and the historic Old St. Paul’s Cathedral, ride the Wellington cable car to the top of the city, and enjoy panoramic views from the top of Mount Victoria.
  • If you’re at a hotel or on a cruise ship, pick-ups and drop-offs are provided
  • Don’t miss any city highlights with your guide's help
  • You won’t fight to get your questions answered on this small-group tour
  • No hidden costs: all entry fees and taxes are covered with this tour
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Hotel pickup and drop-off
GST (Goods and Services Tax)
Tour escort/host
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Air-conditioned vehicle
Transport by private vehicle
Drinks
Gratuities
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
  • Wellington , Wellington, Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

    The tour starts at the bus stop just down the road from the I-SITE, opposite the Amora Hotel

  • Wellington Harbour , Wellington Harbour, Wellington, New Zealand

    The tour may start at the port if your vehicle is full otherwise there may be additional pick ups. Please note we will pick you up at the port 1 hour after your ship has berthed.

  • Wellington
    Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
    6/1/2022 - 5/31/2023
    Monday - Sunday:10:30 AM - 01:30 PM
    This activity will end right where it started.If you are of a cruise ship please stay at the port. There is a private tours area to the left of the cruise ship as you disembark. We have access to the port and will meet you there. The cruise ship may tell you to catch a shuttle into the city. PLEASE DO NOT DO THIS. The pick up will be 1 hour after your ship has berthed unless ship berths before 8am then the tour pick up is 9am.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travelers can participate
    • Cruise ship passengers will be met in the private tours area to the left of the ship as you disembark. DO NOT take a shuttle into the city
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Xplor Tours
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Wellington Sightseeing Tour?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Wellington Sightseeing Tour.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Wellington Sightseeing Tour?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
    See all safety measures taken by Wellington Sightseeing Tour.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "If you have limited time and want to have an awesome, fun, comprehensive sightseeing tour, then Wellington Sightseeing tour and Richard, is the way to go." See review
    • "Another place on the confirmation said it was at 10 a.m. Big difference!" See review

    Reviews

    5.0
    star-5
    220 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 220 reviews
    star-5
    Highly Recommend
    Daksh_G
    , May 2022
    Super fun trip with the Super Cool Richard. What a Good bloke. We drove everywhere and then some more places. Took so many Photos. Learnt a lot about the place which I wouldn't have by myself. Great experience overall
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
    Hi Daksh Thanks for your review it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour, hope you a good time in Courtney Place. Once again thank you for your review
    star-5
    Fantastic tour, would highly recommend
    Sharyn_M
    , Apr 2022
    Wonderful tour, the operator was very informative and super nice. I would recommend this tour to my fellow kiwis, if you haven't been to Wellington before this is a really good option to get an overall experience of the city. Thanyou to Richard.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Hi Sharyn Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. It was fun taking you and your granddaughter around Wellington. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-4
    Fun & Informative
    Debra_S
    , Feb 2022
    We had Richard as our tour guard and he was awesome. The comms prior the tour was very good as well. The tour itself was really enjoyable. We were able stop and stretch along the way. He also quizzed you, another fun part! The weather was wet and windy but you can't help that. We had a great time. It's a perfect way to check out Wellington. Thanks once again Richard.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Hi Debra Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed the tour and the fun we had on it. All the best
    star-5
    Around Wellington
    Jules
    , May 2021
    It was a very interesting.Drive around the bays was enjoyable.never new that part of Wellington .The driver was full of fun and so helpful
    icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
    Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-5
    10/10 to Richard for an incredible sightseeing experience in Wellington.
    Debbie_G
    , Apr 2021
    I can’t rate this exceptional tour highly enough. Richard was a fantastic host who ensured that we had as full a Wellington experience as possible. He clearly loves his home town, Wellington, and this was evident in his enjoyment in sharing it with us. Richard was knowledgeable, fun and willing to go the extra mile. He showed us the venue for an appointment we were due to attend the following day, saving us the stress of trying to find it. If you have limited time and want to have an awesome, fun, comprehensive sightseeing tour, then Wellington Sightseeing tour and Richard, is the way to go. Thank you, Richard for an unforgettable experience and many happy memories.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
    Hi Debbie Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. It was fun taking your lovely family around Wellington I really enjoyed the time with you. Once again thank you for the review
    star-5
    Wellington small group tour
    maria_r
    , Mar 2020
    The tour was great and Ray made it even better! Great way to see Wellington! The town is beautiful and Ray's personalized details made it even better.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
    Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. Ray is a great guide that has fun with his groups. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-4
    A wonderful introduction to Wellington and all it has to offer
    Michael_C
    , Mar 2020
    Ray was a delightful tour guide. He provided a thorough overview of Wellington's history and showed us all the key sights in Wellington. On top of this, he treated us to Hokey-Pokey ice cream during our time together. The only downside was the weather was rather cool and windy. A very pleasant morning!!!!
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
    Hi Michael Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed the Wellington tour with Ray--he is an amazing guide and I will ensure he sees your comments. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-5
    Loved Wellington
    James_S
    , Feb 2020
    This was a great small group tour with our driver and tour guide Ray who was a real character, both knowledgable and friendly. Loved the hat !! We covered all the major sights in and around Wellington a wonderful tour. Of all the cities we visited in New Zealand Wellington was our favourite in some ways probably due to the enthusiasm shown by Ray. Would highly recommend this tour.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
    Hi James Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. Really glad that you enjoyed our tour with Ray. He is a character and loves to have fun with his group. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-4
    Great oversight of Wellington
    Richard_T
    , Feb 2020
    Our tour guide Brian was excellent and full of knowledge of the places we went to. Got to o see the top of Mt Victoria, with a full view the city of Wellington. At end of your Brian recommended we go to the Te Papa museum. Highly recommended
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
    Thank you for your review which I will ensure Brian reads. Glad you enjoyed the tour and once again thank you for your review.
    star-5
    Excellent.
    Wing_L
    , Feb 2020
    The driver/guide Ray was excellent. Showed us a lot and even bought us a Hokey Pokey ice cream. The owner, Richard was excellent as well with communications about meetup and times. Well organised company.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
    Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I am glad that your experience in Wellington with Xplor Tours was a good one. Once again thank you for your review
    star-5
    Fun in Wellington
    KJones2840
    , Feb 2020
    The tour guide Ray was so much fun. He was witty polite and seemed very interested in showing our group the sights of Wellington. I feel lucky and thankful to have Ray as our guide a true ambassador for the city.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
    Hi KJones Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour. We are very lucky to have Ray as one of our tour guides. As you know he loves to have fun with the tourists and conducts a great tour. Once again thank you for the review
    star-4
    Driver knew his city.
    JANE_B
    , Feb 2020
    Our driver was good but he had a lot of political commentary that was unnecessary. Very right wing and it was uncomfortable. But he was very helpful to me as I am handicapped so that was good.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
    Thank you for your review as this helps me make sure my tours are run in a manner that all my clients enjoy. The guide does know Wellington as he has lived here all his life. You were possibly on the same tour as another guest as I received two similar reviews at the same time. I have spoken to the guide and told him not to discuss religion, gender issues or politics as his opinion may offend someone. He wishes to apologies for any discomfort to you and has advised me he will just talk about facts in future and not offer his opinions. On the positive side I am glad he helped you as you state you are disabled. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-5
    Great way to see Wellington
    pattiwalsh2016
    , Jan 2020
    This was a great tour and I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Wellington. Our tour guide went out of his way to make it a memorable trip. Well worth the money. Thanks for helping to make our trip a once in a life time experience.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Wow!! Thank you for your great review, it is really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the tour and it is lovely to hear that the guide helped to make it a once in a life time experience. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-3
    Confusion on Pick Up Time
    bogeysue
    , Jan 2020
    We received a confirmation from Viator with two conflicting tour start times. One was an hour after docking which would have been approximately 8:30 am. Another place on the confirmation said it was at 10 a.m. Big difference! Since we didn't want to miss the tour we arrived at the earlier time to find that the tour pick up time was actually around 9. Very confusing and stressful. Some other tour companies on this trip sent confirmation texts the day before so I wrongly assumed this would be cleared up via text the day before, but there was no text. Also I didn't realize I had booked an 18 person van and it was filled to capacity. We had booked our previous tours for small vans and were lucky that they were not filled to capacity. 18 people was a shock after being in vans with only 6-9 people total. For those reasons I would not book this tour again. The driver was great and generously bought ice cream for everyone. I would rate him 5. The stressful confusion was the reason for the lower rating. Whether this was the fault of Viator or the actual tour company I don't know, but it was unacceptable..
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    I am sorry for your stressful time in not knowing when your tour started. When a booking comes in I reply immediately what time the pick up time is. It is always 1 hour after your cruise ship berths with the earliest time being 9am. You would have had this message. The reason for this is that ships change their berthing times often from that orginally published. There is no start time now in Viator exactly for this reason so you must have booked your tour a long time ago. Our tours are for small groups with the maximum being 17 people not 18. Most of our minibuses take 11 people maximum. We also cater for private tours if the clients wish. I am glad that you rated your guide a 5 as I believe Ray is the best tour guide in Wellington. Cheers
    star-5
    Great tour of Wellington!
    Randi_B
    , Dec 2019
    Our tour guide Brian was very knowledgeable and welcoming to the small group. He gave us great tips on must see sights in Wellington!
    icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
    Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I will pass on your comments to Brian. Once again thank you for your review.
    star-3
    Wellington tour missed
    Tim L
    , Dec 2019
    Too bad we missed the email advising the tour started 1 hour earlier - the email was sent the afternoon we sailed so unfortunately we missed our tour. I had no phone package so missed Richard's call as well. Richard arranged a reduced replacement tour which was very disappointing as we were stuck in traffic for 50+ minutes and missed the railcar ride but managed many photos of pretty Wellington. Oh well, hard lesson.
    star-5
    New Zealand Cruise
    MsBonBon27
    , Dec 2019
    Another Fabulous Tour. Great Group of people. 4 Wineries and chocolate factory. Tour was amazing and great tour guide. Was easy to find guide and van just where they said they would be. Highly recommend this tour !
    icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
    Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I am really glad you enjoyed the tour.
    star-5
    Wellington sightseeing by Xplore
    Annie_L
    , Nov 2019
    our guide Rob was excellent, picked up at terminal although it was raining we were able to see a lot of the sghts in Wellington.He was truly a local knew about all the businesses in Wellington, went to botanical garden at which time weather cleared up, our Rob dropped us off at TePaPa museum which was great & shuttle back to port. Highly recommend this tour.
    star-5
    Great small group tour
    Japbonsai1
    , Oct 2019
    Thanks to Richard in Wellington our tour was great. We were sailing onboard Ovations of the Seas and it was to dock early but ended up delayed. Richard and his team were keeping aware of this and we were onboard his bus to start the tour 1 hour after we docked. The weather was king to us on this day in Wellington. We saw all the main spots as well as riding the Cabel car ( we bypassed the people lined up as we had prepaid tickets YAH) Richard and his staff are friendly and know their city well. A very good tour thanks to Richard at Xplor tours Wellington NZ.
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
    Hi Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. It was tricky with the ship changing its arrival time about 3 times but we met up on time which was great. Glad you enjoyed the tour because that is what we have to do is make it a good experience for our customers. Once again thank you for the review.
    star-5
    Fabulous Tour
    Joseph_D
    , Jul 2019
    This was an excellent tour and I would definitely do it again. Richard was very knowledgeable and we made several stops for photos. He is a superb tour guide.
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
    Hi Jane Thank you very much for your review it is really appreciated. I enjoyed taking the 3 Js on a tour around Wellington and we had fun. Once again thank you very much for your review.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Wellington Sightseeing Tour
    Wellington Sightseeing Tour

    star-5220

    3 hours 20 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $63.66

    star-4.5105

    2 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $48.72

    star-4.533

    7 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $183.65

    star-591

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $83.79

    star-511

    5 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $157.69

    star-4.518

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $77.95

    star-524

    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $91.83

    star-55

    5 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $110.83
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations