Recent Searches
Clear

Wellington Lord of the Rings City Tour with Small Group

star-4.518 Reviews
|
Wellington, New Zealand
Wellington Lord of the Rings City Tour with Small Group

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 7 days in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Combine a tour of Wellington and the Lord of the Rings locations during this half-day excursion from Wellington port. Follow your guide, a LOTR specialist, to locations including the Weta Workshop, the LOTR filming and post-production facilities, and Mt. Victoria. Entrance fees and round-trip transportation from Wellington port provided. This small-group tour, limited to 15 people or fewer, ensures an intimate experience.
  • Cover Wellington city and the Lord of the Rings filming locations in a half day
  • LOTR expert guide
  • See Mt. Victoria and the LOTR facilities, including Weta Workshop
  • Port pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Departure Point: Wellington Cruise Port
Address: 1 Hinemoa St, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Directions: Meeting Instructions - Wellington Lord of the Rings 1/2 Day
Your cruise ship will come into Port Wellington. Once you disembark you will follow the gangways. The buses will be departing from outside there. Please look for a "Rover Rings" mini bus. Please get there around 8:00am for an 8:15am departure.

Please be aware that your ship may be docked in a restricted wharf area and you may be required to get a (free) shuttle ticket to the central iSite before you disembark. If that is the case, then take the shuttle ticket but do not board the shuttle. Continue with the instructions we have given you and look for the "Rover Rings"
Dates: See Availability
Return point: Returns to original departure point

Ports

  • CentrePort Wellington, 2 Fryatt Quay, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand


Departure Time

8:15 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Small group limited to 9 people
  • Regular departures are at 8.15am, however if your cruise arrives later there may be an afternoon departure at 1.15pm. For those arriving later, your pickup time will be confirmed at time of booking.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 9 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Leisure Tours
You can cancel up to 7 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 7 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Any changes made less than 6 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a 50% refund, you must cancel 3–6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
18 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews
star-3
Wellington Cruise Excursion
Linda_H
, Mar 2020
We were generally disappointed with this tour. We were a group of 7. The movie shooting sites were really just one site with 4 different scenes, very disappointing. The WETA workshop was good and information and we did enjoy this portion of the tour. If this is the only tour you have time for while you are in Wellington, I would choose a different tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is disappointing you did not enjoy the excursion which has received many great reviews over the years. We appreciate that everyone has different tastes and expectations and that all reviews are subjective.
star-5
WETA is Amazing!
Joan_R
, Mar 2020
What an amazing time we had at WETA. Wish we could have spent more time there looking at all the objects. The tour guide at WETA was very informativeand knowledgeable. Our guide around Wellington had lots of insight into the different areas with LOTR lore and to the LOTR film shooting sites was great.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am pleased to learn that you had such a great day and enjoyed the Weta so much. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit New Zealand again sometime in the future .
star-4
Nice overview of Wellington and the Weta Studio
Deborah_R
, Feb 2020
Our tour guide met us at the port terminal. We went to Mt. Victoria for spectacular views of Wellington. The short trek through the magnificent woods where several scenes from the Lord of the Rings was a nice break from the ship. Our guide held up photos from the movie and then showed us where the various scenes were shot and told us what happened during the shooting of those scenes. The tour of Weta Studio was an eye opener...the attention to details and the innovative work that is happening there is amazing. The only negative comment I have is we did not see anything like the scene used in the advertisement for this tour. We had a very short day in port and we were returned to the ship in plenty of time before departing.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for the great review of your Lord of the Rings City Tour in Wellington. I'm happy you enjoyed yourself on this shore excursion. The guides at Weta Studio are really enthusiastic about the films and offer a lot of insight and insider information into the filming of those films, making it a not to be missed excursions for fans of LOTRs. With regard to the photo, that image is only relevant to particular tours which may not have been yours. We will look into replacing it. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit Wellington again soon!
star-4
Insights into how a fantasy world was faked in the real world.
Paul_H
, Nov 2019
I started the half-day tour and ended up upgrading to the full day tour. The Weta Workshop tour was fantastic.Some locations are immediately recognisable, others required careful comparison with screenshots to verify that yes, those two trees over there are the same two trees you can see in that particular shot. The guide was friendly and informative and did very well with what must be a tough gig - if you've watched all the DVD appendices, there can't be many amusing on-set annecdotes left that you won't already be familiar with. You won't be magically transported to Middle Earth (which should be obvious), but you will get an appreciation for the reality of how the films were made.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thanks for the great review of your Lord of the Rings Tour in Wellington. I'm glad you got to enjoy so many great locations for where they shot certain scenes for the films. And I'm happy that you enjoyed your tour guide too! All of the guides at Weta Workshop are really knowledgeable and enthusiastic about LOTRs as well as both the filming details and on-set stories, so it's nice when they are recognised for their efforts. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Weta Workshop! Thanks again for the review and I hope you get to visit New Zealand again soon.
star-5
Excellent tour
Suzanne_C
, Apr 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed our wellington lord of the rings tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and really enjoyed the weta tour as well. The view from mount Victoria was amazing and luckily we had a very still morning so we had a great view! Really enjoyed the walk through the forest seeing where various scenes were taken too!
star-4
Enthusiastic, knowledgeable guide & highly recommended tour
Robina M
, Feb 2019
The tour covered everything that was outlined on the Rover Tours website. We went as a family of 8 ranging from 10 yrs to 80 yrs. Grant was enthusiastic & very knowledgeable. He made extra time for the children (& adults) to get photos with the large figurines.My rating of 4 was only because we thought we would see some characters in costume or perhaps‘elf ears’ on our guide. Also the movie inside was perhaps a little long particularly for the 10 yr old and 80 yr old. Also Weta Cave is more of a props centre than a workshop. Very interesting tour though.
star-5
My sister insisted we add this to...
Jacquelyn_Y
, Mar 2018
My sister insisted we add this to our list. It was wonderful. Again the tour guide new ever thing and really gave you behind the scenes details. There is a lot of walking on the movie locations scenes in the Victoria Forest but his details makes it worth it. The tour of Weke Studios was very informative of how things are made for the movies and the displays from the various films were great to see up close.
star-4
This was a great tour and even if...
Katrina_M
, Mar 2018
This was a great tour and even if you aren't a Lord of the Rings fan, it is still very interesting. The Weta Workshop was definitely the highlight along with the drive through the city of Wellington and also the spectacular views of Wellington from Mount Victoria.
star-5
This was an excellent Tour which we...
Patrick C
, Mar 2018
This was an excellent Tour which we thoroughly enjoyed. We were picked up from the wharf as directed which told me that we were not dealing with amateurs and the commentary given was clear, very Informative and professional. The drive up to Mount Victoria was scenic and to me eye opening when told about the private rail cars of the houses on the steep slopes. Did make sense !!! Sufficient time was given us all at the summit to take photographs and the walk to the film locations sites was not too strenuous . It was good that Grant had 'photos' of the actual shootings scenes which helped us visualise the actual filming. The scenery there was spell binding. The added behind the scenes snippets about what took place too was fantastic. Now we will need to see the Movies all over again and look out for those scenes !! At the Weta studios ..... well what more can be said !!!!. It was very informative and well done explaining the 'history' behind it all. The screening of the 'movie' was great. Seeing the props close up and holding them too .... wow. Having earlier on our trip visiting Hobbiton we could appreciate the whole series so much more. Congratulations and a huge THANK YOU, and you can bet we will strongly recommend you to all our friends and relatives who are visiting Wellington. To top it all off, we were then dropped off in the City and shown where was what etc. and urged to visit the Te Papa Museum which was exhibiting the War at Gallipoli. There we could see the figurines that were produced at the Weta Studios and all I can add is that they took our breath away. Absolutely realistic. To all those Fans of 'The Lord of the Rings', who are just thinking and undecided about booking on this Tour, I encourage you all to just go ahead and BOOK IT and you will not regret it. It made our trip to NZ worthwhile. Once again, THANK YOU. Patrick
star-5
Nice tour. The tortured forest...
Ricky_C
, Feb 2018
Nice tour. The tortured forest, where they filmed some of the movies, were great. Ray did a great job. Nice day

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Wellington Lord of the Rings City Tour with Small Group
Wellington Lord of the Rings City Tour with Small Group

star-4.518

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.03

star-4.5103

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.03

star-4.5105

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$53.15

star-5213

3 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.45

star-514

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$72.54

star-55

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$124.00

star-4.551

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.23

star-524

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.49

Explore Similar Things to Do