Recent Searches
Clear
Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour

Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour

star-4.5103 Reviews
|
Wellington, New Zealand
Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds
Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Maximize your time in port in Wellington with this shore excursion and take in the highlights of the New Zealand capital. Ride the Wellington Cable Car, take in the views from Mount Victoria, explore the old and new St. Paul's Cathedral, visit the famous Weta Cave, and enjoy free time to explore independently. Port pickup and drop-off is included.
  • Wellington city highlights shore excursion
  • Enjoy a bird’s eye view of the city from the Wellington Cable Car
  • Look out over Wellington from the summit of Mount Victoria
  • See props from movies like Lord of the Rings at the Weta Cave
  • Tour includes pickup and drop-off from Wellington cruise port
  • Small-group tour limited to 15 people ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Experienced, local driver/guide
Port pickup and drop-off
One-way cable car ride
Visit to the Weta Cave
Visit to Te Papa - New Zealand's national museum
Lunch (available to purchase)
The cost of any additional option entry fees
CentrePort Wellington , 2 Fryatt Quay, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
9:30 AM
On disembarking your ship please make your way to the Private Tours meeting point adjacent to the ship and within the port, just a short walk from the gangway. Please arrive 15mins before your tour start time. Look for the Shore Trips and Tours signs held by our drivers. DO NOT TAKE THE SHUTTLES INTO THE CITY, these are for passengers without pre-booked tours.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Please note that the order of the tour may vary depending on the weather conditions and traffic issues
  • This tour is not suitable for wheelchairs or mobility scooters as there is no storage space on our vehicles. Fold up (collapsible) walkers may be able to be accommodated, please check with us when booking.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Please purchase a ticket for all travelers in your group - including 'purchasing' a ticket for all infants. NZ transport law requires us to count all heads on board. One child or infant max per adult ticket.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour is for passengers arriving on a cruise ship into the Port of Wellington
  • This is a Pre Booked Tour Only!
  • No sales on the day of the Tour!
  • 9.30am is the regular tour start time. This may be adjusted for early/late arriving cruise ships. We will advise any time change at time of booking
  • Please ensure you provide a contact phone number and/or email address that you will have with you and/or checking whilst on holiday so any last minute tour time changes can be notified
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Shore Trips and Tours
You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The ship had to depart early because of tide conditions so we had to be careful with our time." See review
  • "Also would use Shoretrips all over New Zealand as they were reliable in all our other excursions." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
103 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 103 reviews
star-5
Wellington tour from cruise liner
Geoffrey_M
, Jun 2020
We were picked up at the Cruise Terminal in Wellington Harbour by a local driver in his minibus. He showed us the major parts of the city, the Parliament, the beach, botanical gardens, the funicular railway and the amazing National museum. The entire trip was superb with a great driver/guide. Highly recommended.
star-4
Very good highlights tour
Anita_G
, Mar 2020
Ewen was friendly and professional. We were picked up promptly and the group was a nice, small size. We saw several city highlights - the government buildings, botanical gardens, Oriental Bay, Mt. Victoria, Wahine Memorial, and the Roxy Theater (loved this!). Then drove through Miramar and to the Weta Cave. Dropped off at Te Papa to explore with recommendations to visit the Gallipoli exhibit and the earthquake exhibit. So glad Ewen recommended this - the Gallipoli exhibit is simply amazing and not to be missed if you are in Wellington. We finished off with the cable car ride. Very interesting tour - definitely recommend if you have an interest in an overview of the city and limited time to explore.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks Anita, pleased you enjoyed the tour and managed to get so much packed into the day. The Gallipoli exhibition is stunning and unique in the world, another of Sir Peter Jackson's achievements. Shame we could not get the rating up to our usual 5 start level though, if you have some feedback for us on how we could have done better to get that extra star, then please let us have your ideas, regards Ian
star-5
Wellington Highlights
Jeffrey_W
, Mar 2020
Enjoyed small minivan ans smaller group allowing for ease of transport and exit from vehicle for pictures and other items. Great spots for pics.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Yes, we specialise in smaller [15 pax or less] tours as then we can go places the big buses cannot and also get to see more. Regards Ian
star-1
Best of Wellington
Robert_C
, Mar 2020
Great overview of the Wellington area. Beautiful city and we certainly got to see the highlights on our tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Robert, given your very kind comments about the tour it seems odd that you gave us a one star rating. If this was in error, then can we ask you to get TripAdvisor either to remove the review or correct the star rating you wanted to give. A one star rating really does impact our business so this would be a great help. I made this mistake once myself when placing a review on a hotel and managed to get it changed. If the one star review was your intention then if you could make direct contact with me i can look into any issues you had, as this tour usually gets 4 and 5 start reviews. Regards Ian
star-2
Would not recommend for active people
Christine_H
, Feb 2020
If you like riding a bus for five hours and only getting off for ten minutes at each stop this is for you. Driver dropped us off by popular local brew house and museum for an hour and a half so he could could “visit his attorney “ dissatisfy on trip. He did have knowledge of area so if you were there for a few days you could go back to those spots to visit
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Can you please tell us which day you traveled on our tour so we can look into this for you. You can email us direct at info@shoretrips.co.nz with this info. The drivers do have to have a 30 minute lunch break by law in NZ, so we schedule around 60 minutes for you to visit the National Museum of Te Papa [which is free and even though we suggest our international visitors make a small donation towards its upkeep, few do] and maybe have a quick snack at the cafe or any of the other local eateries if you do not want to visit the best museum in NZ!. In the 5 hour tour we show you as many things as possible, like the Government Buildings, the St Pauls Catherdral, the old and new university buildings, The central city, the Miramar peninsula, the coastal drive, Mt Victoria, The cable car and its museum, the Weta Cave [LOTR] and the Roxy Cinema. Not sure how much time you would like at each place but most clients find the program very good. In 5 hours there is only so much you can do. If our guide used his 30 minute break to visit someone then this should not reflect on the rating you give the tour, he can do whatever he wants in his lunch break. So if you really do have an issue with the tour please write directly to me, the owner of the company so we can straighten things out for you. Regards Ian
star-5
Wellington highlights
Robert_W
, Feb 2020
Action packed, Howard was a great guide! We saw some beautiful views around the harbor! The views from the cable car entrance were breathtaking! Cable car ride not so special! Did not see much except inside several tunnels!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
You must have been on a totally different tour to that of the reviewer one above yours. Its amazing how people have such different ideas on what a tour can deliver. So thank you for the 5 star review, Howard will be pleased. Not much we can do about the tunnels though on the cable car ride down the high, they needed to get through the rock. Regards Ian
star-5
A fun day
Martha_G
, Feb 2020
This tour gave a nice overview of the area. There were some beautiful, scenic vistas and beaches along the way. The Te Papa Museum was amazing - I wish we had been able to spend more time there. We felt that the Weta Cave was a waste of time since all you see are some statues/props from Lord of the Rings (such as Gandolf and trolls). There is not time to go into the "cave" (it's not really a cave which was disappointing). The tour started and ended just off the ship - very easy.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi there, Weta Cave is just the mini museum and sovenier shop that is part of the LOTR experience in Wellington. There are no caves to visit sorry. there is a longer tour that includes the WETA WORKSHOP, this a behind the scenes tour where you get chance to see the staff actually working on future productions [the animators and artists crafting the sets etc] which is an option. Our Highlights tour does include some LOTR destinations as well as many of the other highlights of the city. Regards Ian
star-1
Disappointed
Leanne_O
, Feb 2020
The time was changed and I wasnt aware so missed the tour. Contacted the operator they came back to pick us up and collected the wrong people. Others were effected as well
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
As we do not know your name, the date of the excursion, it is hard to look into what actually went wrong with the day. Have you made contact with us directly to address this problem. We have searched our database for "Hedley" but we have no booking in that name. It would be great if clients with an issue such as this actually contacted us the operator if give more details in their review, then we can make amends, which if the problem was caused by us we would be happy to do. Please note also that we have to change the start and end times of tours to suit the variety of ships ETA and ETD in port. We do have a standard time and this is what is shown on our web site, but when you book on our web site if a change has been made then you are given the new times when you book. These are clearly seen on your voucher. However, if you book through one of the Global Online Travel agents, such as VIATOR [also this is TRIP ADVISOR now] or Cruising Excursions or The Shore Excursion Group, then these companies only store a Standard time of departure. So you make a booking thinking the time is what their voucher tells you. When these agents send us the booking, this is when we send back a request to ask them to tell you the times have changed, hopefully they do this and you should be able to acknowledge this in their client log in system. If the ships changes its time after you have made a booking, then we always send out a new voucher to our clients, and for the clients who have booked through an agent, then we tell them the new time. This is then passed to you by email. However, we often get clients arriving to tell us that they did not receive either an email or text message update, as they "have no internet or phone access on the ship" so we just do not know what else we can do to give you any updated information [have not tried pigeon post yet though!]. Most agents ask you to reconfirm 48 hours in advance with the supplier of the tour [thats us] for any changes to the program. Around 2% of clients do this. Really surprised that when we came back that we picked up the wrong people, does this mean that you did not actually take our tour at all. If you make contact with me, the owner of the company, i will look into it for you. A one star review on Trip Advisor does our business a great deal of damage, i must now check to see if the error was ours or yours. Regards Ian
star-5
Fun in yhe City
PAUL_H
, Feb 2020
The weather was bad but Andrew our guide was terrific. We had a great overview of the city with special emphasis on their movie industry and the Maori culture.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Please you had a great day with Andrew, i will see what we can do about the weather for you, but doubt anyone will listen to me on that score! Regards Ian
star-3
Wellington ho-hum
james_p
, Feb 2020
Wellington is not the most interesting place to visit by far in New Zealand, but thankfully this tour included a stop at the Wellington Museum that had great exhibits. The tour guide was good but only so much you can do with a ho-hum location. Our guide did have information about all the stops we made and knew his stuff, but again the city is just not much. The vernacular was maybe the second highlight of the tour, but it was not spectacular by any means.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Sorry that Wellington was a disappointment for you, but at least you thought our tour guide good, We try and show you all the main highlights, but New York or Paris it certainly is not. Its a small capital city of a small country which is really famous more for its natural beauty rather than city landscapes. Regards Ian
star-3
Wellington Highlights
Steven_T
, Feb 2020
The cable ride and Park we went to was fun, and a nice family we traveled with were very nice. Otherwise, not memorable
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Sorry you did not have a wonderfull day, we try and show you all the best bits of the city in the time we have available, not sure what you were expecting so maybe you can make direct contact with us so we can discuss things further as we only ever want to give our clients a 100% experience. Regards Ian
star-5
Quick overview of a big city
mariejeannesavelkoul
, Feb 2020
We’ve got a very nice impression of the city’s most interesting places to see. Thank you for driving us around with very good explanations!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the review, Wellington is big by NZ standards but small when compared to other capital cities world wide. Regards Ian
star-5
Glorious Day in Wellington
GSLANZ47
, Feb 2020
Our guide Chris led us on a wonderful exploration of the beautiful city of Wellington. We visited all the sites listed on the itinerary as Chris gave us an insightful narration of his personal favorites in the city he grew up in. From the capital building "The Beehive" to the Roxy Cinema and all the wonderful sites concluding with a stop in National Museum of the New Zealand, this excursion was fabulous.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our Wellington Highlights tour with Chris, we try and show you all the main "highlights" of Wellington, New Zealand's great little capital city. Regards Ian
star-5
Great tour guide
atreides
, Feb 2020
Very informative tour. Good time adjustments to see the sights in the best weather for that time of day.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your review, the Wellington weather is famous for being unpredictable, so you must have found a nice window without the wind and rain. Regards Ian
star-5
Howard in Wellington
Suzanne_D
, Jan 2020
Howard was pleasant and helpful. The sights visited where great and it was the most enjoyable excursion we took.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your review, our Wellington Highlights often sells out, so best to book as far in advance as possible, tour code is WLG-1 if you want to find it. Regards Ian
star-5
Highly Recommend
Alan_K
, Jan 2020
Knowledgeable and friendly driver/guide, easy pick up and drop off. Very worthwhile doing this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you for the very positive feedback, we try hard for all our clients and we mostly get it right, but its good to know when we do. regards Ian
star-5
Wellington Highlights samll roup tour
Alex V
, Dec 2019
Very good value tour. The guide was very knowlegable about Wellington,. He had a great sense of humour and kept the passengers well entertained. A Very good value tour.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Pleased we were able to offer you a great day, with limited time we try to show all the main highlights of our capitol city. Kind regards and a very Happy Christmas
star-4
Well worth seeing all the 'highlights'
Allison_G
, Nov 2019
Our tour was exactly as described - seeing 'highlights'. Only very short period of time at each of the location spots was great as it gave you a brief look at what there is as it is a big area to cover in such a short time. It allowed us to see what we would like to come back and see again, but with more time. Our driver (Howard) was great - very informative and friendly. The only disappointing aspect would be the cable car ride - not very exciting we have to say.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Roving... Thanks for the feedback, pleased you enjoyed this highlights tour and sorry the Cable Car ride was not what you expected. People sometimes expect an "alpine" style cable car high above the slopes, well Wellington Cable Car is not that, but a rail car on a very steep grade pulled by a cable, and it keeps its wheels very firmly on the ground, which we must say is to be recommended in the earthquake prone city of Wellington. For excitement i would suggest the Cable car up to Mont Blanc in the French/Italian alps, that one certainly made my knees shake!
star-4
shore excursion
Seaside279463
, Oct 2019
we enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was excellent and well informed about the points of interest, good job
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hello Seaside, thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your tour. Kind regards Kim
star-4
Great way to see the highlights
Lanee_W
, Apr 2019
Enjoyed the tour overall. Was a little rushed at a few spots, but overall would recommend. Easy to get to from ship. Tour guide was knowledgeable.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour
Shore Excursion: Wellington Highlights Small Group Tour

star-4.5103

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$0.00

star-4.5105

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$51.31

star-4.554

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$58.15

star-4.518

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.09

star-565

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.35

star-5218

3 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$67.05

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.06

star-514

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$70.03

Explore Similar Things to Do