Recent Searches

Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

star-4.5820 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Richmond, Canada

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Scout for an incredible array of marine life during this half-day Vancouver whale watching cruise. Join a professional naturalist on board a modern boat as you search for creatures including orcas, seals, porpoises, and eagles. The waters for your cruise are renowned for attracting whales, offering an up to 90% success rate with sightings. Best of all, enjoy spectacular scenery set amidst the Gulf and San Juan Islands. Your whale watching trip from Vancouver includes round-trip transport from your hotel, plus bottled water and snacks.
  • Whale-watching tour from Vancouver
  • Look for orcas, porpoises, sea lions, seals, eagles and more!
  • Travel through the spectacular Gulf and San Juan island chains
  • Accompanied by a professional naturalist
  • Shuttle option for round-trip transportation from downtown Vancouver
Saved to wishlist!
Shuttle pickup and drop off (if option selected)
Restroom on board
Hotel pickup and drop off (if option not selected)
Parking Fees

Departure Point

12240 Second Ave, Richmond, BC V7E 3L8, Canada

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Explore the incredible marine life near Vancouver during this half-day whale watching cruise in search of orcas and much more. If you’re a nature lover or simply looking for a way to immerse yourself in the scenic beautiful of the western coast of Canada, this excursion is a great option.

Start your whale watching trip with pickup from select Vancouver hotels or by meeting at Steveston Village where your boat departs. A shuttle transports guests from nine convenient hotel locations in Vancouver, and free parking is available for those arriving by car. Depending on the option you select, your cruise may leave in morning or afternoon. Check with your tour operator during reconfirmation on your exact schedule.

Then climb aboard your sleek, modern whale watching vessel. The high-speed zodiacs used on the trip offer both an open-air deck and a covered cabin, ensuring a comfortable ride no matter the conditions. On-board hydrophones also allow you the chance to hear the whale calls of any orcas encountered along the way, and handy photo ID charts help you identify different species of animal.

Soon your boat cruises out into the waters of coastal British Columbia. The area for your excursion is renowned for the killer whale pods that come to feed on the spawning salmon in the area between May and October each year. During your ride, listen as the naturalist shares insights into orca behavior, and helps you spot for a variety of creatures. Three pods of killer whales, totaling around 80 animals, reliably return to this area annually, making it more likely you have a sighting. Keep your eyes peeled for the orca old-timer named ‘Granny,’ who many believe is more than 100 years old.

Guaranteed whale sightings or your next trip is free.
Stop At:  
Vancouver Whale Watch
This is our office where you can get information about our excursions, and also check in for your tour.
Duration: 3 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Vancouver Whale Watch

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver.
What is the policy on sanitization during Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver.
What is the social distancing policy during Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver.
What is the maximum group size during Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver.

Still Have Questions?

Traveler Photos


820 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 820 reviews
, Sep 2020
Absolutely amazing, highly recommended Staff was super friendly and informative. I think snacks and cocktails should be provided 😊
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Hello Guest, Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear you found our staff friendly and informative. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch. Kindly,
Excellent choice, wonderful experience
, Aug 2020
Levy made the bus trip really pleasant, shared good information, very welcoming. The boat staff was great too, no rush, they even stop the boat for extra time to see 2 humpback whales! We saw few orcas, sealions and seals.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hello Mila, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are so pleased to hear you found the tour informative and enjoyed all of your interactions with our staff. It sounds like you had a wonderful day out on the water and got to see tons of marine wildlife. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch! Kindly,
Fantastic experience
, Aug 2020
This was a fantastic experience. The boat ride itself was amazing, but we were lucky to see a family of killer whales very quickly and stayed with them for at least 45 mins before moving on to see seals, sea lions, and different birds. We almost saw a humpback whale but it got away.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us and were able to see Orcas so quickly. Hopefully you'll be able to observe a Humpback whale next time. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch!
, Aug 2020
Definitely not worth $177 a ticket. Was a waste of our last day on vacation. For all of that money, we received a warm bottle of water (after being left waiting in a shuttle bus in the heat for 45 minutes and no AC) and a granola bar. You would think for that price you would get fed. (We did bring our own food but after being left in the shuttle in the heat, we had to throw it away) We were given wrong directions to the boat, and when we asked staff around, no one could tell us where to go. When we finally got to the boat, we were incredibly embarrassed that everyone had to wait for us. There was no plan for when one of us got incredibly sea sick, except for a ginger candy and being told politely to suck it up we are stuck on a boat for at least 3 hours. My girlfriend wanted one thing for her birthday and that was to see an orca. But we didn't see any. We did see one humpback whale, but our view was blocked by other people standing. We are incredibly disappointed and regretful that we spent our money on this. We planned our entire vacation around whale watching. Although our shuttle driver was friendly and informative, and our boat tour guide was the same, they did the best with what they had. Definitely will not recommend or return.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hello Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The cost for each person with the shuttle is $170 per person so you shouldn’t have been charged more than $340 in total. Even though you did book through a third-party website; we did double check to see it doesn’t charge any additional fee. Our apologies that the water was not cold. We do prepare the little bags we hand out on the morning of the tour, so the water would be room temperature when we gave it to you. We do have additional water on board that is kept in the shade on the back of the boat that passengers can always ask for. As for the concern with the shuttle bus temperature, we did discuss this concern with our shuttle driver and he did mention that the AC was only turned on later in the ride. Not all passengers wish to have the AC turned on so we don’t always have it running. But we will consider your concern and address it with our drivers. Please note that our driver would have been more than happy to turn on the AC had he known your lunch was spoiling. We do not offer lunch services on our tours, as advertised on our website. However, through our office staff, we do recommend to our guests to pack lunch for the trip or we have the option to pre-order lunch through us at a low cost. We have never had a passenger get lost in the 150-yard walk down to our boat from our office. However, if anyone is ever confused with directions our office staff is more than happy to walk them down. That is very unfortunate that someone in your group got seasick. Unfortunately, this is not our responsibility as we do not have legal rights to provide our passengers with any seasickness remedies. This is the responsibility of the person if they know that they are prone to motion sickness. Our staff are there to help the person in need by providing a sick bag, paper towel and ginger candy. As we can appreciate the awful feeling of being seasick we cannot turn our trip around and end the tour for everyone on the boat. Regarding the whales, as we are looking at the whales in their natural habitats, we cannot predict what nature gives us every day. Since we started our tours on July 1st we have seen whales every trip and we have had days with Orcas only, Humpback Whales only and quite a few days with both species. Again, we cannot predict the wildlife we will see from each day. We did speak with the crews that day and both captains and wildlife guides did express that there were 5 Humpback Whales that trip – 2 sets of moms and their calf’s and a lone Humpback, and that one of the calf's breached and the other whales were regularly surfacing, fluking and rolling. We had many positive comments from the other passengers that were on this trip. Therefore, we were surprised to hear that you only saw one Humpback, and surprised to hear you did not have a good viewpoint. During this pandemic we have reduced our capacities on our vessels, so the boat was not at its full capacity. We are sad to hear that your experience was less than expected and would be happy to offer a discount should you wish to come again. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch. Kindly,
Service was not as advertised. Dirty trick was used to quietly steal money from the customers without them noticed.
, Nov 2019
When I booked the tour online, the pictures of bigger boat was showed on the information about the tour with higher price. Thinking the bigger boat could be more comfortable, I bought the higher priced tour for our family. However, when we came, they put us in smaller boat as in the ad of their other tour at lower price. When I questioned about it they said the two boats are the same and did not refund the surcharge they took from my booking. This is the dirty trick the tour use to quietly steal the customers' money and no one seemed notice it.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is unfortunate you feel this way about your experience with Vancouver Whale Watch. Please excuse me, but I am not sure if I fully understand your review. From what I took away from it, I think there was a possible misunderstanding in regards to the pricing and which boat cost which price. Our larger vessels the Explorathor II & the Express cost $145 for an adult, $125 for seniors & students, and $85 for a child. The smaller vessels Lightship & Strider (our 12 passenger zodiacs) have one cost of $150 per person. We apologize if at the time of booking you found this confusing. We would have put you on whichever vessel you paid for. In regards to stealing the money, I am unsure if I grasp what you are saying, but we definitely do not want you to feel this way and would like to sort out the issue. We never take pre-authorized payments from our passengers unless authorized and you will always get the vessel that you paid for. If you paid for the small vessel but upon arrival wanted to move to the large one, we would always refund the difference. It is our number one priority to ensure our passengers are happy with their experience not only during the whale watching tour but also the experience they have booking & with our office staff. We hope this explanation cleared up any confusion booking our tour may have caused for you. Kindly,
A Whale of an experience
Vijayalakshmi L
, Oct 2019
I did not know what to expect. But the experience exceeded my expectations. The customer service was top notch.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello Guest, We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing time with us. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch!
Humpbacks, (Sea) Lions, and Birds! Oh My!!
, Oct 2019
It was such a great day! Saw a pod or two of humpback whales, some sea lions and a bunch in seals (floating boulders ha!). Our guide was great! She was knowledgeable about the area, friendly and entertaining. Would definitely do it again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello Guest, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had a great day with us and got to see numerous different species of marine wildlife. All of our guide on board have tons of interesting whale knowledge to share, so we are glad you enjoyed all of their commentary. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch! Kindly,
Saw Killer Whales!
Susan L
, Oct 2019
Everyone- including the bus driver, captain, naturalist and admin help- was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Was cold, but an amazing experience.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello Susan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a such a positive experience on our tour and with our entire staff! Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch. Kindly,
A Wonderful Time
, Oct 2019
A great trip from beginning to end. It started with a shuttle pick up by a quirky yet hilarious driver. The fishing village from where you depart is the real life town of Storybrooke....or at least where Once Upon A Time was filmed. The crew was that took us out were friendly and knowledgeable. We were able to see plenty of humpbacks, seals and bald eagles. I was slightly disappointed that I wasn't able to see orcas but it was of no fault of the company. They just weren't around! This is a definite must do.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello Guest, We're glad to hear to you enjoyed your experience with us from the very beginning and were able to see a variety of animals. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee if there will be Orcas as we are viewing animals out in the wild. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch!
, Oct 2019
A most amazing day. I have always wanted to do this and this added to our holiday of a lifetime to Canada from the UK.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello Fay, Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review! We're happy to hear that you had an amazing day with us. Thank you for choosing Vancouver Whale Watch!

Explore Similar Things to Do