Recent Searches

Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier

Skaftafell, Iceland
Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon3 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


The Vatnajökull glacier is widely considered the jewel in Skaftafell National Park’s crown, but the icy terrain holds hidden dangers. On this ice-caving tour, hike around and beneath the Vatnajökull glacier with your certified guide, and explore millions of years of natural geology. With crampons and safety equipment included, enjoy uninterrupted views over the icy landscapes for which Iceland is famous.
  • Explore the Vatnajökull glacier caves with your guide: The icy terrain make the caves potentially hazardous
  • Up-close views over the icy formations and subterranean terrain
  • Gain insight into millions of years of natural history
  • Safety equipment included
Saved to wishlist!
Small group experience
Ice caving adventure
Professional driver/guide
Glacier equipment
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks

Departure Point

228J+CQ Skaftafell, Iceland

The meeting point for this tour is at the Arctic Adventures Booking Hut in Skaftafell National park. Skaftafell is located in approx 327km (203 miles) distance from Reykjavik.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 7 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in cold weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum age: 10 years old
  • This is a small group tour ensuring a more personalized experience
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Arctic Adventures
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


33 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-4 of 33 reviews
Arrogant Jerk of a “Guide”
, Oct 2021
I was unable to go. We had a group of five. The other 4 went. Due to a COVID concern (I wasn’t feeling well) I didn’t go. The website says there are exceptions to refunds on this. The incredibly arrogant guide refused to even reconsider giving me a refund. My colleagues said said he was a Nazi arrogant jerk. I would never recommend such a company. I might not ever use Viator again after this trip. Very disappointed. I paid for being responsible
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Discover20898779125, Thank you for your feedback! As any tour operator in the world, we do strongly recommend having travel insurance to cover any emergencies that might occur. We are deeply sorry you were not able to participate and missed out on the opportunity to explore Iceland, but keep in mind we had a seat reserved for you on the tour, therefore a refund is not being offered. If you would have advised us 24 hours prior to the tour, there would have not been any problem. We do however would like to get more information about the guide and pass this on to the relevant team, so we would appreciate if you could send us an email with your ticket number and we could investigate internally. Would be highly appreciated!
The highlight of our trip. Great small...
Kathryn K
, Nov 2017
The highlight of our trip. Great small group experience. We booked the earliest departure and it was worth it! It felt like we had the glacier to ourselves. Our guide, Bronwyn, was fantastic. Very knowledgeable, funny, and she took some wonderful group photos of us. I will note, that we had originally not booked this tour. I had booked another tour via Viator for the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon hike. Unfortunately, the operator cancelled and I never got a notification from Viator. I didn't find out until I was in Iceland the night before when I logged in to look at the parking details, etc. Viator's customer service did work with me and they re-booked us for the Vatnajokull Glacier tour. While I was not happy with the situation, it all worked out in the end. We really did have a great time on this tour and I would recommend it. Just double and triple check that status of your bookings.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Absolutely amazing experience. The...
Philip D
, Jan 2017
Absolutely amazing experience. The guides were great, very accommodating, and provided lots of interesting information. The title of this tour is a little misleading as this was fundamentally a glacier hike/climb with a relatively quick stop-off into a small-ish ice cave. That being said, we weren't the least bit disappointed. The hiking was amazing and unlike anything we'd ever done. You will absolutely want waterproof boots, waterproof pants e.g. snow pants and jacket as you're out in the snow/rain/elements for a few hours straight. Additional gear is available from the company to borrow/purchase on-site if you show up underprepared. Activity level was moderate. Anyone who is able to walk for a few hours straight should have no problem whatsoever keeping up, and the guides do a great job of keeping everyone together.
was really amazing. but if you just...
Sungeun J
, Jan 2017
was really amazing. but if you just want to enjoy with not too much walk. you should not. but anyway highly recommended.

Compare Similar Experiences

Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier
Small Group Glacier Hiking & Ice Caving Tour Inside Vatnajokull Glacier


3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do