Recent Searches
Clear

Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour

star-4.5109 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Francisco, United States
Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

When it comes to wine country, Napa gets all the attention but it can get expensive and feel overcrowded at times. If time is of the essence then this half-day wine tour to Sonoma might be the perfect remedy. Travel by coach to some of Sonoma's top wineries, soaking in not just the tannins and fruit-forward flavors, but also the countryside views from your seat. The first tasting fee is included.
  • Take a half-day wine tour from San Francisco to Sonoma
  • Learn about Napa wines as you tour top wineries
  • First tasting fee is included, additional tasting at your own expense
  • A small group tour ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Transportation in a comfortable vehicle offering vistas of scenic drive through Wine Country
Tasting at one of the wineries
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities
Second Tasting fee (Optional) - Average $25 per person per winery
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

11:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.We offer a few pick-up points in Downtown San Francisco, on Nob Hill, and Fisherman's Wharf. We start pickup from Union Square at 1130. If you are staying at the Wharf, please expect us after 1145, even closer to noon.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Must be 21 years of age to consume alcohol
  • A maximum of 14 people per booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY A Taste of SF Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "A half day for this was just right for me as I was only in San Francisco for a short visit." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
109 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews
star-3
Where’s lunch with wine in Sonoma?
KAREN_R
, May 2022
Trip was just Ok… driver made decisions without asking us… olive oil and 2 wine tastings so we never got to lunch at lively Sonoma center but rather had a sandwich to go from a mediocre deli at 4 PM…wish were asked … tasting 4 of 5 wines at 2 rooms with no food didn’t work for us… choice of vineyards was good, not huge commercial but small vineyards with nice selections… bottom line is second vineyard was supposed to be optional if we had time or wanted to… that option was not given to us. 😩
star-5
Great Experience
Lydia_M
, May 2022
I did the wine tour with a few old friends and we had a great time! Our guide Ulrich was so knowledgeable about the area and taught us some really helpful tricks for wine drinking. (I will never sip wine the same way again!) He took us to two small wineries that made me feel like we’d found some real hidden gems. Overall it was a great experience!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Lydia_M, thanks for your feedback! I am extremely glad that you were satisfied with our tour and had a great experience with our guide. We will be happy to see you on the rest of our tours
star-2
Could have been a better experience!
Balkissa_A
, May 2022
The tour wasn't bad, especially the first site and the stop at Sonoma Market place. I just wish the tour guide managed the time better so he didn't rush us at the second stop. The worse is that he saved half of each wine bottle to take home with him while he poured just a sip ot two for tasting and charged each tour participant $30 for the tasting.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing Wine Experience
Justeace
, May 2022
Had a wonderful day touring vineyards and learning about wines. Ulrick, our tour guide for the day doesn’t normally do tours so we were very luck. The man knows so much about and says he learns something new all the time. I had booked this tour for a different day but unfortunately there weren’t enough participants. Ulrick contacted me to let me know and change the date. He also change the pick up location from my convenience because it was my first time in the city. He is knowledgeable, friendly, and he kept us thoroughly entertained. The tour was full so we had a great time with banter and laughter and tasting all of the wines and learning how to actually pair the wines with something appropriate. I highly recommend this tour. They did a great job organizing it with a great guide.
star-5
Best experience!
Sherrel_B
, Apr 2022
Joe was awesome, very funny and professional. He texted and called to verify location pick up and time. He was very knowledgeable and informative during our tour!
star-5
Half Day Wine Tour
Lance_V
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide Jerry is phenomenal! He was made our experience super memorable. His extensive knowledge of wine, history of the area and agriculture were embellished by his warm humor. We highly recommend this tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wine tasting!
Cinthia_R
, Apr 2022
Let me start by saying that we enjoyed our half day Sonoma wine tour. Driver was punctual & knowledgeable. Don’t be fooled by the negative reviews. I was a little scared when I first booked but once I got to experience the tour it was great! First, please make sure you read the instructions on what hotels they pick up and times. This is one of the reasons why our tour started a little late. We had to pick up other people & driver had to get off and look for them. Second, the first winery was a boutique winery small but very nice people & our tasting was intimate/personal and got to learn about each taste of the wine. Lastly, the last winery had amazing views of the vineyards , perfect for pictures but was too corporate feeling. Don’t get me wrong it was great but not as personal as the first one. I think it’s important to support small local business & it’s great that taste of SF tours partners with Homewood winery. Half day tour for my husband and I was perfect ! We still had time at the end of the day to experience other parts of SF on our own.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Cinthia_R, thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate you have chosen our company and also we are happy you've got such a perfect experience and you liked our tour! We will be glad to see you and your husband again!
star-5
Great experience
ConnieWang
, Apr 2022
Kirill and his wife were kind enough to pick up our group of 11 outside of San Francisco (we were lucky to be the only ones on the tour). He had a very comfortable, brand new transport vehicle for us, and it was red so very easy to remember. We did tastings at a small family owned winery and a very large one- very interesting to see the variety. Had a great time!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Connie, thanks a lot for your feedback! We are glad you were happy and got a great experience with our tour! It will be nice to see you and your friends again on our other tours!
star-5
Had so much fun. Learn a...
LOVELLA_L
, Mar 2022
Had so much fun. Learn a lot about wine. Weather was perfect and enjoyed the whole experience of wine tasting
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thanks a lot for your feedback. It's nice to hear you liked the tour and we are always glad to read our customers got such a perfect experience.
star-4
Taste of SF Wine Tour
Mikelle_E
, Mar 2022
The wine tour was exceptional! We saw beautiful landscapes and toured two wineries. The Jacuzzi winery is absolutely beautiful! We had other folks on the tour, which provided additional engagement and an opportunity to meet new people. Our tour guide Ulrick was very knowledgeable about wine and the area, he was very helpful.The entire tour was about 5hours. FYI bring cash with you to tip your tour guide, it’s not included in your purchase and he will hunt you down…cashapp and Venmo are available.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Mikelle_E, thanks a lot for your feedback. We are glad you got a positive experience with the tour and it's nice to hear that our tour guide is so cool and knowledgeable. Concerning the tip, it is left to the discretion of the customer only. We will be glad to see you on our other tours.
star-3
You got what you paid for
Taylor_M
, Feb 2022
Nothing amazing about the tour. Basic. Learned a little. First Winery Homewood was great. The next was a tasting room. Nothing made the experience special. Also, didn’t get to stop at Golden Gate Bridge for the photo because no parking and group was running behind
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Dear Taylor, I am really sorry that the driver could not find the parking at the Bridge. it was a long weekend and the city was overcrowded. So were the wineries and the only place were we were able to make reservations was the tasting room on the Sonoma Square.
star-1
I rarely leave reviews...
Madeline_M
, Feb 2022
I rarely leave reviews and this is more for the guide. It had potential to be a good tour. First off, The guide was like 45 minutes late.. he came in the exit of the Hotel and instead of turning around to exit properly (there was plenty of room) he backed up into traffic. Before we even left the parking lot he talked to us for about 10 to 15 minutes about things he could’ve said while driving. We were supposed to have a 15 minute stop on the other side of the Golden Gate bridge but because he was late and talked for so long we had two minutes to take pictures. The first winery was great, informative but since we were so late, it was very rushed.. it was the only tasting included in the cost of the tour so we had to pay for the second stop which we pretty much just got a flight of wine with minimal information. Us and two other couples decided to get a $120 Uber back because people had dinner reservations they would be late for and we weren’t interested in making another stop that we had to pay for. The tour guide told us that he pre-paid for everything and we needed to pay him back using cash app or cash and insisted on adding 20% gratuity which he mentioned multiple times. Two women decided not to drink and he still said they owed him money. It was very uncomfortable. The other half of the group had him drive them back instead of going to the last stop. I don’t know if he was tired or what, but he seemed to be stumbling a little at the 2nd winery (another reason we decided to Uber) and we all saw him walk into a cart. I don’t know if there’s multiple tour guides, but all of the 1 star reviews sound like the same guide we had.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
DEAR MADELINE, HERE IS THE RESPONSE OF THE GUIDE: "Driver was 45 min late" Driver actually called you with pick-up time of about 11:55 and texted you later a pick up time of closer to 12:00. he then texted you again around that time enroute and said "2 minutes", to which you responded. He arrived a few minutes later. Our pick up times for that hotel are 11:50 to 12:00 depending on whether other guest picked up prior at other hotels are on time. That driver is never 45 minutes late. "Backed out into traffic" The driver has many years of experience driving tour buses in city traffic with a perfect driving record. Apologies if this maneuver alarmed you. "Driver talked for 10-15 minutes before leaving" Our drivers do take 3-4 minutes to be personable and introduce everyone to each other before the tour begins. And also to explain what will happen on the tour including the costs, such as tasting fees and lunch etc. They try to make this clear so there is no confusion later. Apparently there was confusion later anyway on this particular tour. "15 minute stop at Golden Gate Bridge" Rushed, only 2 minutes." We do not stop at the bridge for 15 minutes, you can refer to the website for this. Our tours are tightly scheduled, and on the day you went we were a full bus which always causes some delays. We then have to save time in other ways in order to be at the wineries on time for our appointments. Sorry for this. "Driver said he pre-paid everything." Correct. The driver guide paid for all your tasting fees at second winery in days in advance. That is REQUIRED by the winery in order to get you your reservation. He was then getting reimbursed that specific amount from the group. Reimbursements can be CC, cash, or cashapp or venmo, that is correct. We are sorry that this winery charges $20 even for people who do not do the tasting. (New policy) Also sorry you were nor impressed with their service. Perhaps we as a company will no longer use them for our tours. "Insisted on adding a 20% gratuity" Our standard gratuity is 20% of what you paid for your tour. Perhaps you misunderstood- this is NOT added to the tasting fees. But some customers do choose to pay the tasting fees and gratuity together to our driver guides to make things simpler. But they are not the same thing. "Weren't interested in making another stop we had to pay for" Driver made it clear the "other stop" was a lunch/food break. Most of our customers choose to buy lunch at the historic plaza in Sonoma, and that was the next stop. The driver made it clear that it was optional and everyone or some could return with him without going there, if that is what the group wished. AS THE OWNER OF THE COMPANY, I WAS VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS REVIEW. I HAD A SERIOUS CONVERSATION WITH MY STAFF AND I REPEATED THAT IT IS ABSOLUTELY INAPPROPRIATE TO MENTION GRATUITIES. AS FAR AS OTHER STATEMENTS ABOUT THE GUIDE BEING LATE, I CAN EXPLAIN THAT THE PICKUP FROM THE WHARF IS SCHEDULED NOT AT 1130 BUT BETWEEN 1145 AND NOON. ALSO, THE WINERIES REQUIRE ADVANCE RESERVATIONS AND PREPAYMENT. THE GUIDE DID PREPAY WITH HIS OWN MONEY AND ABSOLUTELY CORRECTLY ASKED YOU TO PAY HIM BACK. IT IS WRITTEN IN THE DESCRIPTION OF THE TOUR THAT ONE TASTING IS INCLUDED, THE OTHER ONE IS ABOUT $25 TO $30 EXTRA. THEY RAISED PRICES IN SONOMA. AGAIN I WANT TO APOLOGIZE FOR YOUR NEGATIVE EXPERIENCE AND I WILL DO MY BEST IT WILL NOT HAPPEN IN THE FUTURE.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
My tour got canceled. ...
Takako_F
, Feb 2022
My tour got canceled. He said the driver called in sick! I understand it but no back up driver for just in case like these happened?? No professional business. I was so disappointed
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Dear Takako, we apologize for canceling your tour. As soon as I found out about our driver being sick I immediately informed you, we offered you different days. Unfortunately, none of these days worked for you. We fully refunded you. We don't have backup drivers at this time of COVID.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Tour was great! Sonoma...
Jaclyn_H
, Jan 2022
Tour was great! Sonoma was beautiful and the wine was great! Wish we did the longer tour! Great day!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Perfect Sonoma Day Trip
Jaci_H
, Jan 2022
So fun! It’s a perfect taste of Sonoma, with a curated selection of wineries and a bonus stop in the super cute downtown Sonoma. Randy, our driver, also took extra time showing us a few landmarks in San Francisco on our drive. He’s a true local with a ton of knowledge about the city! I would highly recommend this to our friends!
star-1
Not great expiernce
Asikia_G
, Dec 2021
Wasnt what we had expected . Waste of money the first winery was great buy second one didn't show any appreciation to us at all and was super boring. Didn't have any wines I liked at all. Wasn't aware that we'd be going to small mom and pop wineries. Not a great expierence at all
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Unforgettable individual tour for wine country lovers
Birgit_K
, Dec 2021
Our guide Ulrich made the tour very special for us! Great driver, storyteller, wine enthusiast. Friendly, funny, knowledgeable! Thank you for an unforgettable Sonoma Valley experience and a wonderful day!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience. Our...
JESUS_G
, Nov 2021
Great experience. Our tour guide was excellent. Highly recommend. The testing at the Teo locations was very good. Small group was great.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Winter of Love 2021
Alton_H
, Nov 2021
Wine was amazing & the folks conducting it did an amazing job. Ulrich was really good as well. Overall it was a very nice experience & the views of the vineyards were great.
star-5
The guide was excellent....
Thomas_C
, Nov 2021
The guide was excellent. Very knowledgeable but also fun. The wine tastings were superb. Everyone should have fun and learn about wine.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Small Group Half Day Sonoma Wine Country Tour

star-4.5109

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-4.5107

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4.545

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-453

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-4.5164

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-5561

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

star-3.518

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$104.99

star-4.599

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00

star-450

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

Explore Similar Things to Do