Recent Searches
Clear

Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise

star-4.576 Reviews
|
Porto, Portugal
Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise

From $117.75

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon9 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Savor the best of Portuguese food and wine on this full-day tour of the Douro Valley. After getting picked up at your hotel by an informative local guide, you’ll head off to the village of Sabrosa to look at traditional wine production there. After a stop at the UNESCO heritage site of Pinhão you’ll break for lunch, comprised of typical regional foods. This tour also includes an optional river cruise (available for an extra 10€ per person) or a visit to Pinhão’s beautiful tiled train station. Your guide will drop you back off at your hotel.
  • A full-day food and wine tour of Douro Valley
  • Visit traditional food and wine outposts, including UNESCO heritage site Pinhão
  • Feast on a delicious lunch, full of typical Portuguese offerings
  • Sip on local wine and visit a winery
  • Learn about the region’s output from an informative local guide
  • Avoid the hassle of extra transit with free hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Choose from an optional river cruise or train station visit
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Lunch
Wine-tasting in 2 (two) wineries
Air-conditioned vehicle
River Cruise in Pinhão
WiFi on board
Personal expenses
Gratuities
Hotel pick up and drop-off
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Avenida dos Aliados , Av. dos Aliados, 4000 Porto, Portugal

- Next to the Porto City Hall. - Arrive 30 minutes before the activity starts. - Look for your guide with a sign in hand "MERIDIAN4PEOPLE".

Terminal de Cruzeiros do Porto de Leixões , Rua do Godinho, Portaria junto do monumento Senhor do Padrão, 4450-208 Matosinhos, Portugal
9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.- Next to the Porto City Hall. - Arrive 30 minutes before the activity starts. - Look for your guide with a sign in hand "MERIDIAN4PEOPLE".
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A confirmação será recebida no momento da reserva
  • É necessário um mínimo de 2 pessoas por reserva
  • As crianças devem estar acompanhadas por um adulto
  • Assentos para bebês estão disponíveis mediante pedido, se avisados no momento da reserva.
  • O cruzeiro no rio está sujeito a disponibilidade. Quando você é pego naquele dia, você pode decidir o que você quer fazer.
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Duration: Duration hours are reference / approximate times. The Tour is subject to local traffic, visiting times, etc;
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The announced wineries may change, depending on availability.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Meridian4People - Portugal
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The tour only allows 8 people maximum; however, the only negative is the vans are small and cramping 8 people into a small van can be challenging at times when you have to drive some distance." See review
  • "This is a beautiful area of Portugal and worth seeing." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
76 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews
star-5
Great trip worth the cost
beattieshirl
, Jun 2022
The views and our tour guide was a plus 10. The wineries were well presented, the vehicle was comfortable and once again our tour guide was excellent
star-5
Incredible experience
Patrick_O
, Jun 2022
The tour was well worth the money. Our Guide was helpful and knowledgable. Lunch was great and all wines tasted for the day were of great quality.
star-5
The beautiful landscape...
KimLyngby_J
, Jun 2022
The beautiful landscape of the valley was fantastic, and the energy of our guide, Luis, was amazing! What he could tell about the valley, and the country was fantastic to hear about. I can only reconnend a trip with Luis behind the wheel!
star-5
We enjoyed it all,...
Val_C
, Jun 2022
We enjoyed it all, particularly the views over the valley. Breathtaking. Our driver, Carlos, was terrific. We did the 8 person private tour.
star-5
A great day out and good value for money.
karen
, Jun 2022
I enjoyed the whole trip from start to finish, and it was a very long day. Luiz was a good driver and guide, and very nice company. The wine tasting was excellent. The lunch was unexpectedly very good, with huge amounts of food and wine. The cruise on the river wasn’t that great on a very crowded boat. The port tasting at Sandemans was a very nice way to end.
star-5
Incredible trip!
Kristof_M
, May 2022
This is one of the most beautiful regions I ‘ve ever seen. Unbelievable views, nice tastings. Our guide Joao couldn’t do this better.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A fun, full day of scenery, food and wine.
Tim_G
, May 2022
This a great tour! Our guide, Nuno, was genuinely concerned with making sure we were happy and well fed. He took back roads so we really got to see a lot of amazing scenery. The facilities for the tastings were first class. The lunch was very traditional and felt like someone’s grandmother was in the kitchen. And dishes just kept coming. The only negative was that the van had seen better days. A fun, full day. Great value for money.
star-3
Find a better way to see the Duoro Valley.
ivan_s
, May 2022
Driver added very little to the trip. Don’t consider him a guide. His driving was way too aggressive. We had to ask him several times to slow down. The sites were mostly good, however the guide at the first winery spoke very poor English. The lunch stop and boat were very nice.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Private tour is the way to go!
Tricia_L
, May 2022
Our driver , Noano was fantastic. He took great care of us and gave us lots of information about the wine region. Highly recommend the private tour!
star-5
Wonderful guide
Christy_L
, May 2022
Great tour with the best, absolute best guide, Diana, also the best driver in Portugal.Douro Valley is gorgeous.
star-5
Amazing day trip from Porto
Yuri_D
, Apr 2022
It was a great trip. Amazing views, great port tasting and lunch, lots to learn. And our guide Tiago was 6 stars out of 5! 🙂
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Our tour guide and driver...
Elizabeth_L
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide and driver Camila was absolutely amazing. Her energy and passion for the area made this an unforgettable experience!
star-4
We greatly enjoyed our...
Phil_G
, Mar 2022
We greatly enjoyed our Douro tour ….Carla was friendly and enthusiastic and picked us up right on time at our hotel ….no one else signed up for the tour so we had a private tour which was great……there is a lot of wine and port to be sampled on the tour so be prepared for that ……the traditional Portuguese lunch was tasty but huge so come hungry ……..the 1 hour boat tour was the perfect length …..our only complaint was the car smelled of cigarette smoke which was not a pleasant way to spend 8 hours
star-5
Wonderful Tour
YeeMeiLoretta_L
, Jan 2020
Good arrangement - time and car, everything! Our guide, Carla is very nice and considerate! The boat trip is wonderful with good views! The winery can tell us clear about Port wine! Very good tour! Worth it!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Customer , Thank you very much for taking time to review us, we truly appreciate it!! It's always a pleasure to provide wonderful experiences to those who visit us. Thanks again, and we hope that you return to Portugal in the near future. We will be happy to welcome you again! Thank you! Greetings, The team MERIDIAN4PEOPLE TOURS PORTUGAL
star-4
Beautiful Trip Through the Douro Region
Allison M
, Sep 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed the tour through this region. The vehicle was comfortable (although a bit tight for the amount of people due to a baby seat in the back). The guide we had (Carla) was very pleasant and looked after us very well. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous, food and wine delicious! We are so glad that week booked this tour!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Customer , Thank you very much for taking time to review us, we truly appreciate it!! It's always a pleasure to provide wonderful experiences to those who visit us. Thanks again, and we hope that you return to Portugal in the near future. We will be happy to welcome you again! Thank you! Greetings, The team MERIDIAN4PEOPLE TOURS PORTUGAL
star-4
Douro Valley Tour
Ilana F
, Sep 2019
The tour was a very good way to experience the Douro Valley in one day. Our guide Michaela was excellent. His English was perfect, he was very patient and he explained everything well. This is a beautiful area of Portugal and worth seeing. We were very fortunate that the other couples in our group were very nice. My only criticism was the lunch was a bit too long and too commercial.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Customer , Thank you very much for taking time to review us, we truly appreciate it!! It's always a pleasure to provide wonderful experiences to those who visit us. Thanks again, and we hope that you return to Portugal in the near future. We will be happy to welcome you again! Thank you! Greetings, The team MERIDIAN4PEOPLE TOURS PORTUGAL
star-4
Duoro Valley Premier Tour from porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise
Nicole_F
, Sep 2019
This trip was a huge success and a highlight of our vacation to Portugal. The river cruise, lunch, wine tasting and our tour guide Carla were great. The tour only allows 8 people maximum; however, the only negative is the vans are small and cramping 8 people into a small van can be challenging at times when you have to drive some distance. Everything else was great.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Customer , Thank you very much for taking time to review us, we truly appreciate it!! It's always a pleasure to provide wonderful experiences to those who visit us. Thanks again, and we hope that you return to Portugal in the near future. We will be happy to welcome you again! Thank you! Greetings, The team MERIDIAN4PEOPLE TOURS PORTUGAL
star-1
This tour was not as advertised. We are...
Fay C
, Oct 2018
This tour was not as advertised. We are experienced travelers who have booked through Viator before and been most satisfied. The tour description led us to believe we would learn about the Duoro River valley. Our driver, Carla, provided no information other than a few brief sentences, like there are 4 kinds of port - red, tawny, rose and white: those are grapes for green wine they look different than other grape vines and in my opinion the views between Pinhao and Regua are the best. She told us nothing about the river itself, no tidbits of interesting information. We were not expecting nor did we want a non-stop monologue but we were expecting information with some substance at various parts of the tour. The van was extremely dirty. You could see where windshield wipers had been used - the area cleared by the wipers was covered with bugs and the area outside the wipers' reach was so dirty you couldn't see through it. The side windows for our scenic tour were very dirty also. The air-conditioning in the van was not working properly. It wasn't too bad in the morning as we were driving to the Douro but, after the first wine tasting stop, the three of us in the back seat were sweating profusely. It is really miserable. Comments made by Carla made it clear that the company knew the van was not up to par, especially the air-conditioning. We told her that, if the company knew there was a problem, they should have told us when they picked us up and given us the opportunity to opt out - we would have - we came from Florida and part of our motivation was to get away from the heat! We thought the tour was going to be in English - and it was. But it was also in French as one of the three couples spoke only French. So we had to stand and listen to everything twice. Carla was a good driver. The wine tastings, which Carla was not around for, were fine - one OK and one outstanding. The boat ride was pleasant. But the overall experience was really spoiled by the dirty van, the HOT van, and the lack of interesting information about the Duoro Valley. We definitely did not feel we got our money's worth. Our standard practice is to tip very generously. We did not tip Carla and neither did the other two couples on the same tour. One of the other couples said they had been on previous Douro Valley tours and learned a lot - and felt there were many interesting things Carla could have told us. Thank you for listening. We very much enjoyed our Mallorca walking tour and Porto walking tour through Viator on our same trip.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
This was a full day tour and we...
Phillip E
, Oct 2017
This was a full day tour and we loved all of it. If you are in Porto then this trip up the Douro Valley is a must. As the tour was full our group of four had a car to ourselves with an excellent driver and guide. The visit to the Sandeman Bodega was informative, fun and very worth while. We bought a half bottle of vintage port. The scenery is beautiful and we enjoyed the boat trip as well. Just do it. Phillip
star-5
Even though the drive to the section...
Mary R
, Oct 2017
Even though the drive to the section of the takes some time 1-1/2 hours, it is worth it! Pinua is a quaint village and the short river cruise provides a nice break, plus the view from the water. The two winery stop were informative and picturesque. Our guide was a good driver and knowledgeable of the area. Nice size group 6

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise
Douro Valley Premium Tour from Porto with lunch, wine tasting & river cruise

star-4.574

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$117.75

star-52098

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$123.11

star-5356

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$181.98

star-4.5986

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.70

star-590

7 hours 35 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$139.16

star-4.520

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.57

star-527

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.70

star-4.543

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$305.09
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations