Recent Searches

Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise.

Badge of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise.
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more


Go wine tasting amid the vineyard-clad hills of the Douro Valley, a World Heritage–listed region famous for its port wine production. Feast on regional specialties with a traditional lunch in the scenic village of Pinhão and visit two wine estates for an introduction to award-winning local varietals. Upgrade your full-day tour from Porto with a sightseeing rabelo boat cruise on the Douro River. This small-group tour is limited to eight people for personalized attention from the guide.
  • Full-day Douro Valley tour from Porto with an expert guide
  • Enjoy a lunch of typical Douro cuisine at a renowned local restaurant
  • Visit two traditional wine estates in the heart of the valley for wine-tasting sessions
  • Learn about the history, culture and people of the UNESCO World Heritage-listed Douro region
  • Upgrade to include a Douro River rabelo boat tour with scenic valley views
  • Small-group tour with a maximum of eight people ensures a more personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Wine and port tastings
Hotel pickup and drop-off
River boat cruise (if option selected)
Food and drinks, unless specified

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Your centrally located Porto hotel

Departure Time

8:30 AM
Depart from Porto in the morning after pickup from your hotel and get comfortable aboard your minivan for the scenic drive inland.

Then continue on to Pinhão and admire the scenery with free time to explore the lovely village independently. Perhaps stroll to the Pinhão train station to view its blue-and-white tile murals depicting the scenic countryside and swathes of vineyards that make up the Douro landscape.

If you’ve upgraded your full-day tour to include a Douro River cruise, hop aboard a rabelo boat—a traditional cargo boat native to this region—for a leisurely ride. Meander up the Tua River tributary and pass by Quinta da Romaneira before returning back to Pinhão.

Either before or after your cruise (if you've upgraded), pop into one of the wineries on the agenda for the day before lunch. 

After a traditional lunch of typical Douro cuisine accompanied by wine at a renowned restaurant, your guide takes your small group to another family-run estate where you discover local winemaking and enjoy a tasting session of award-winning ports and wines.

Stop by the shop to make any purchases before departing the Douro Valley for the relaxing return drive to Porto, arriving at your hotel in the evening.
Stop At:  
Pinhao Railway Station
You will visit Pinhão train station and it's famous tile panels that portrait the landscapes and life in the Douro Valley. Your guide will happily explain to you the meaning and scenes portrait on the panels.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Casal de Loivos Viewpoint
Considered one of the most beautiful view points on the Douro, from here you can admire the river peacefully flowing while downhill you watch the village of Pinhão being embrace by the river that gave life to the village has a meeting point to board on the old times the barrels that carried the Port wine to it's aging place in Gaia.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
The Douro Valley
The Douro Valley is a magical place where man overcome nature to create an amazing landscape where hills are covered by vines that produce a wine recognized worldwide "the Port". His a wine region like no other in the world, the wine is produced in the hill sloops where the cooperation of men hard work and nature allowed the creation of this "reino maravilhoso" (marvelous kingdow) has the poet Miguel Torga described it.
Duration: 5 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Douro River
If you wish you can upgrade your tour with an optional 50m boat cruise on the Douro River that will allow you to admire the landscape from a different perspective. Going upstream from the village of Pinhão admire the river banks covered by vines and bordered by wine estates of some of the most know Port wine brands, before starting going back to Pinhão.
Duration: 50 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for infants
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY The Cooltours (Oporto)

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
How can I let you know where to pick me up?
A:We offer pick ups from most hotels in Porto. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
What do we need to wear?
A:Please wear comformatble clothes.
Jul 2019
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise.?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise..
What is the policy on sanitization during Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise.?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise..
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise.?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise..
What is the maximum group size during Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise.?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Douro Valley Small-Group Tour with Wine Tasting, Lunch and Optional Cruise..

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

  • "The road is quite winded so if you get car sick, I recommend taking some anti-nausea medicine potentially." See review
  • "This day trip is a must if you're in the Porto area." See review


1,751 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 1,751 reviews
Quality trip. Value for money.
, Sep 2021
This was a very comfortable and safe way to explore the riches of the Douro Valley. Hotel pick up, comfortable 8 passenger VW mini bus, great guide and driver - Pepe. Excellent value for money. What made it more special was that we visited small family run businesses for the wine tasting and port tasting. Friendly and generous hosts. Lunch was in a local restaurant in a small town above a Fire Station - but it was great. Thoroughly recommend this trip.
Great trip and great value for money
, Sep 2021
Great trip, Mrs. Isa, the guide was amazing. She was so nice and fun and did everything to make us have an extraordinary experience. Thank you Isa for the explanations and stories throughout the trip, the great mood that was throughout the trip and the exceptional service. This whole day has been amazing. Thank you so much
Awkward, boring and thoroughly disappointing
, Aug 2021
The entire trip was extremely unprofessional and unengaging. The guide did not appear knowledgeable in the field of winemaking at all. Her conversation was jarring and awkward, particularly when she was repeatedly and often interrupting the hosts at the wineries we visited. She discussed things that were unrelated to wine at inappropriate times - stopping the host at the first winery from speaking by discussing irrelevant things, and interrupting our conversations in the van to discuss the names of roads, etc. Both wineries were not in scenic settings. We were shocked to be given 3 glasses of wine to drink immediately at the first one, with no introduction whatsoever and the only explanation being about the names on the labels of the bottles. We were very disappointed to be sitting by the side of a busy road - it was not what we had expected for a Douro Valley trip and did not make for a peaceful, enjoyable or special experience. The second winery was also not picturesque as we have seen examples of from numerous Douro wineries, with a building site in the front garden. We also found it strange to be told to go to a cheese and meat restaurant for lunch and for the guide not to mention that we would be given cheese and meat plates at our next visit… We would also have expected a guide to offer to reserve a table for us at a restaurant, and others on our trip didn’t even manage to get into the restaurant they wanted as it was full. She also repeatedly mentioned how difficult it was to wear a covid mask which made us feel extremely uncomfortable to hear. All in all, we are disappointed that we spent a significant amount of money (and portion of our trip) on today’s tour. Positive - the seats on the bus were relatively comfortable.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Josh, First of all let me thank you for taking time to review your experience with us, as we only manage to improve by having feedback from our travelers. We are very sorry that you haven't enjoyed your experience with The Cooltours and our guide Isa. Regarding your feedback about Isa, i'm very disappointed by reading your review about her lack of knowledge and being awkward, as she's a very good guide and very knowledgeable as you can see by the numerous 5* reviews that she has on Tripadvisor. Also regarding wine knowledge I can assure to you that all our guides have intensive training and formations in all matters including wines with some of the best professionals in the business in Portugal, however our guides are not wine makers, but I can assure to you that their knowledge about wines is above average and Isa has even her brother that is himself one of the top wine makers in the Algarve region. On your feedback regarding the first visit in fact the service provided was not the one which was contracted and for that we have ceased our partnership with this wine producer. Your feedback regarding lunch was very taken into account by us, and we have included the lunch again in our tour, as we understand that during the month of August is very complicated to find a place to eat in Pinhão. A problem that we only manage to solve including the lunch again in our services, on a way that we can have partnerships with restaurants outside Pinhão, improving this way the service provided. For the meat and cheese restaurant you are completely right and Isa should have warned you about that fact, but for the restaurants reservation during the month of August in Pinhão is completely impossible to make reservations on any restaurant. We are indeed very sorry that you had a bad experience with us, and specially one that doesn't reflect at any time the kind of service provide by The Cooltours as it can be proved by the hundreds of 5* reviews that we have on TripAdvisor. I invite you if you ever come back to Portugal, to contact me directly so that we can show you the true service from The Cooltours that as earned so many positive reviews. Best regards
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
, Aug 2021
Violeta was awesome tour guide and felt like I made a friend on the tour. Learned so much about Portugal and the wines.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Douro Valley day trip review
, Aug 2021
This is very pleasant tour with a lot of scenery and wine tasting. Unforgettable experience and a day to relax! Isa, our tour guide, did an excellent job by driving us around, providing tons of information about the region and wine-making. She also provided recommendations for places to visit and to eat.
star-1 bad experience
, Aug 2021
The tour was really enjoyable, unfortunately the experience with was terrible. They sold a package including some services that at the end were not included (lunch) and we had to pay separately. They did not give us the possibility to add the lunch as optional as they declared (at the tour operator) it was. I still have a voucher that says that the lunch is included. Nobody from Viator ever cared to touch base with us to explain. All in all, the tour is real fun and I would recommend it, but I strongly recommend to avoid booking with Viator.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Frederic, First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to review your experience with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed the tour with the Cooltours, but that you have had a bad experience with the back office. In fact, there have been some issues with the fact that the lunch was not included and in the Vouchers from Viator was show as included. To avoid this kind of misleading and bad information, we have again included the lunch on our service. We are very sorry for this misunderstanding and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in one of our tours in Portugal to provide you again a good experience. Best regards
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Thoroughly recommend!
, Aug 2021
All round brilliant tour. Balanced mixture of beautiful vistas, tasting locally produced wines (with some nicely paired snacks) and topped off by our excellent guide (Alex). The price - which included pick-up, tastings and boat-tour - is well worth the cost. Just keep in mind lunch is not included - but picking up a bífana and cerveja and sitting on the riverside is not costly at all.
Visite Duro croisières
, Aug 2021
Very pleasant outing with magnificent landscapes, spoiled by the fact that the meal was not paid for when we had taken the cruise option. Be vigilant when making your reservation.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Great time in the Douro!
, Aug 2021
Violeta, the tour guide was exceptional! The wine tour was very pleasant, and she is very passionate about her country and her job! And she took us to a lunch spot that was really good! The best local food we’ve had in 10 days in Portugal!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Fabulous experience!
, Aug 2021
Right away João had all in our group feeling like good friends, and a good time was had by all. You can’t pass up the inside scoop you get on this tour. The locations chosen, the tastings, sights, food and opportunity to learn from and ask questions of the experts just couldn’t be beat.
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do