Recent Searches
Clear

One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour

star-4.5596 Reviews
|
New Orleans, United States
29

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons

Overview

Discover the historic crypts and monuments at New Orleans’ Saint Louis Cemetery #1 on a guided walking tour. While guests aren't allowed inside the cemetery at this time, you'll still hear stories about the city’s most colorful characters and luminaries from outside the gates and have options for photo shoots. Pay your respects to Marie Laveau, known as New Orleans’ ‘Voodoo Queen,’ see the tombs of the city’s greatest families and visit sections devoted to Louisiana’s different Christian denominations. Learn about New Orleans’ history and culture as you explore the city’s oldest cemetery.
  • Guided walking tour outside the gates of New Orleans' oldest cemetery
  • See tombs of the city's most famous citizens
  • Hear stories about Louisiana culture and heritage
  • Step back in time with a history tour
  • Small-group tour ensures a personal experience
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Professional guide
Gratuities
Food and drinks

Departure Point

710 St Louis St, New Orleans, LA 70130, USA

Return Details

400 Basin St, New Orleans, LA 70112, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT MEET AT THE CEMETERY! YOU MUST CHECK IN 15 MIN. PRIOR TO TOUR TIME AT 710 ST. LOUIS ST.
  • Adult pricing applies to all travelers except children 5 and under, who are free.
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved (approximately one mile).
  • Due to uneven surfaces, this tour is not recommended for those with walking disabilities.
  • Please be sure to wear comfortable walking shoes & drink plenty of water, regardless of the temperature.
  • Please arrive 15 minutes early to check in with your guide. If you are late, you may join only in the first 10 minutes of the tour, during the walk down St. Louis St. You may reschedule up to 12 hours in advance of departure time with no rebooking fee.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • If you miss your tour, a rescheduling fee of $2.50/pp will apply for same day (if we are able to accommodate you). You must call to reschedule.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • During COVID-19 pandemic, all travelers are required to properly wear a mask & pods will social distance 6 ft.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY French Quarter New Orleans Tours LLC

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "I recommend this tour to anyone who has an hour or so to spare." See review
  • "With all that said, definitely worth the time and money!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
596 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 596 reviews
star-4
Good information for a reasonable price
Olivia_H
, Jun 2021
Great amount of history and interesting tid bits of information. It was unfortunate that the cemetery was closed to majority of the public. I feel they could have been more upfront before the tour but I appreciated our tour guide explaining the situation before we got started. Even without the cemetery our tour guide kept the group very engaged.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Unfortunately, the Archdiocese has closed the cemetery, due to the pandemic. It is in the description, when you book your tour, as well as the email confirmation. A lot of people are missing this fact, so your guide reiterated, before the tour. We want everyone to fully understand they may take the modified tour or receive a full refund. We appreciate your support during this pandemic and hope to see you in the future, when the cemetery reopens. Thank you for your review.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour
David_F
, Jun 2021
Casey was terrific. We learned a lot about the French Quarter, why the above ground gravesites were used. Even some rumors. St. Louis #1 was great to see and learning the history of it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again in the near future! We appreciate your business!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun time
sharon_D
, May 2021
Casey was great. Very knowledgeable and personable. Would definitely recommend. Good history lesson and funny stories interjected
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for your review & for touring with us! We appreciate your business & hope to see you again soon.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Would recommend to any NOLA first timer
Ashleyjimmietn
, May 2021
Our tour guide was great he supplied pictures and talked about alot of interesting facts.. Only dissapointment was we could not go into the cemetary.. but over all a great experience!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for touring with us & for your review! We appreciate you & hope to see you again soon.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Well worth the time
Robert_H
, May 2021
Our guide was funny and well spoken. He had aides and pictures to make up for the places we couldn't go because of covid.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Cemetery experience
Linda_E
, May 2021
Good, informative tour. Rating is lower because of inability to go into the cemetery, which I realize was not your fault The tour guide was very good.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
We appreciate your support during this pandemic and hope to see you in the future, when the cemetery reopens. Thank you for your review!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Well worth the time and $
Jessica_L
, Apr 2021
They were easy to communicate with and starting our day on a tour was a great way to see and understand more about the city layout and history. Fun tidbits, and our guide was very personable, and knowledgeable! I would imagine the tour is even better when the cemetery is open, but they did a great job of showing pictures of the interior.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
We appreciate your support during this pandemic and hope to see you in the future, when the cemetery reopens. Thank you for your 5-star review!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Meh, no access
SCS
, Mar 2021
The tour offering is not true to the write up. There is no admittance into the cemetery, we were allowed to stand outside and see pictures on our guide's phone. I went back to re-read the tour offering and confirmed with others on the tour, we all thought we would be able to go inside. I understand it may be closed due to COVID-19, but that should have been stated in the summary of what is included. The guide was knowledgeable, but my first impression was not a good one. There was no formal introduction and we meet in front of an empty for rent space. The whole package left me feeling like I lost two hours I couldn't get back.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Unfortunately, the Archdiocese has closed the cemetery, due to the pandemic. This is a one hour tour, did you go with our company? It is in the description, when you book your tour. A lot of people are missing this fact, so your guide reiterated, before the tour. We want everyone to fully understand they may take the modified tour or receive a full refund. We appreciate your support during this pandemic and hope to see you in the future, when the cemetery reopens. Thank you for your review.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
History tour, not cemetery tour
Nichol_B
, Mar 2021
I didn't realize we weren't going inside the cemetery, otherwise it would have been better rating. I understand pandemic restrictions but it's not like the occupants are at risk....
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Unfortunately, the Archdiocese has closed the cemetery, due to the pandemic. It is in the description, when you book your tour. A lot of people are missing this fact, so your guide reiterated, before the tour. We want everyone to fully understand they may take the modified tour or receive a full refund. We appreciate your support during this pandemic and hope to see you in the future, when the cemetery reopens. Thank you for your review.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Guide
Deepti_S
, Mar 2021
The tour guide was wonderful. Showed humor and filled with very interesting anecdotes.. It was a wonderful tour about rich new orleans history and culture
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you, so much, for your review! We appreciate your business! Please visit us again soon!
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do