Recent Searches
Clear

Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City

star-4.5246 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Ciudad de México, Mexico
Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City

From $50.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Discover the architectural and cultural delights of Taxco and Cuernavaca on an enriching full-day excursion from Mexico City. Accompanied by a professional guide, explore Taxco, a unique colonial town renowned for its silverworks, and gaze at the majestic 16th-century Santa Prisca Church. Explore an authentic pre-Hispanic mine and discover the oldest mining history of Taxco.
  • Full-day sightseeing tour to Cuernavaca and Taxco from Mexico City
  • Explore an authentic pre-Hispanic mine
  • Browse artisan silver markets and see the grand Santa Prisca Church in Taxco
  • Learn about the rich cultural heritage of the area from your professional guide
Saved to wishlist!
Bilingual guide
Round transfer from meeting point
Ticket to Prehispanic Mine (if option selected)
Food and drinks

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Pick up is only included if private option selected
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Note: Please be aware that this tour involves a considerate amount of walking on irregular ground
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Amigo Tours Mexico
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Make sure to take the little taxi to the top for complete wonderment" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
246 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 246 reviews
star-5
Very good.
Tongyu_Z
, Aug 2022
Our guide is very friendly and he is clearly very passionate about his job. The vehicle was comfortable and AC is good. It was a bilingual group and the guide made sure everything was explained in both Spanish and English, which is brilliant. However, there are only Spanish guides in the mine, it was beautiful but unfortunately we didn’t understand anything.
star-4
Loed Taxco and could have...
Beverly_B
, Jul 2022
Loed Taxco and could have stayed longer. The mine was fun too. Cuernavaca should be replaced with something else .
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Dear Beverly_B, thanks a lot for sharing tyour comments with us, we will absolutely consider them. We hope to see you soon once again. Mariana, Amigo tours
star-5
Great trip
Donna_V
, May 2022
We’ll organized trip with a knowledgeable and friendly guide. Enough free time in Taxco y to enjoy this beautiful city.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A full and fabulous day!
Mike_T
, May 2022
They pack a lot into a day......Interesting sights, experienced and interesting guide, and timing well laid out to let you get the most in on one day. Both stops give an insight to living in smaller 'authentic' Mexican towns, and while both are pretty, I much preferred Taxco. The vehicle is a 4 row Toyota Hi-Ace van, sturdy and suitable for this use, and not too crowded with up to 12 guests.......but also quite efficient......confused why the driver was so hesitant to use the AC, saying it would be too costly?.........More of a note to the Operator, as it did not ruin my fabulous day!
star-5
Great day trip
Kenji_S
, May 2022
Taxco city is beautiful, and the tour was great. Also I am satisfied by the guide Alexsandro. Many of guests are spanish speakers, but he explains to rest of us in English 50% (except in the mine where another guide speak spanish only). We did not go to Cuernavaca, but not an issue for me.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much let us know your comments, and encouraging us to continue providing extraordinary experiences. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-4
Nice but long day
Ana_V
, Mar 2022
Tour is well organized, you have enough of free time in Taxco, which is beutiful and cannot be missed. The bigger downside is that we paid for an English speaking guide and our guide was speaking Spanish 90% of the time, I lost interest after reminding him several times that he has several non-spanish speakers in the group...
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience, we love to know that you enjoyed it to the fullest. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-4
Taxco is great
Jcostatica96
, Mar 2022
Taxco was so cute! Too much time wasted at the other town not necessary. waste 1hr plus at a church not necessary! The guide was not a guide literately no direction of where to eat at the first stop people were starving due to the early start yet he kept talking about a church. Totally ignored most were not interested. In Taxco only time we saw him was at the tourist trap at the silver store this tour could be a great one if you remove the tour guide and get another one and remove the first stop not needed. Also very rude with people basically scolded some. This tour needs another guide and it would be a good tour. I wish I knew his name can’t remember. The driver was also awful literately the most awful ride EVER no sense of people in the back feel everything. Now I know why this tour doesn’t have more stars is not b/c Taxco is not worth it is b/c the way it is done.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Amig@ Thank you for your comments and observations. They help us to keep improving. We look forward to serving you again soon. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Amazing trip to Taxco
David_C
, Oct 2021
Fabio was an amazing tour guide! Very knowledgeable. The tour was a smaller group and at a pretty relaxing pace so you can see the sights, stop for a drink and do shopping. Really enjoyed it! Highly recommend this one.
star-3
I wish we had more time...
William_H
, Sep 2021
I wish we had more time in both cities. 30 minutes in Cuernavaca was a joke. Granted, it was raining but more time would make a difference. Same thing with Taxco. A gorgeous city that's worth exploring for more than an hour and a half. Alexa, the tour guide was very nice though. On this tour you will spend a lot more time on the bus than the tour itself.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for your comment. We strive hard every day to take you to live extraordinary experiences. We are sorry for the short time you spent in the cities, unfortunately, these cities are quite far from Mexico City and we have organized the time to be able to see the highlights of these beautiful cities. We look forward to serving you on your next trip. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Beautiful Taxco
Toni_P
, Aug 2021
Taxco is an amazing city and I would recommend everyone to see it. We took a taxi to Christ statue, which gives you a beautiful view over the mountains. We stopped at a jeweler's place who explained why silver is important for the city. Good opportunity to buy jewellery, if you are interested. Stop in Cuernavaca was short, but the church gives you a story about early colonization period.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Amig@ It has been a pleasure to read from you, you infected us with the good experience you had, it has been a pleasure to attend you. Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-4
Grat place
Roy_A
, Apr 2021
Great tour, enjoyed the trip except for the fact that the church at Taxco was not open. The tour company told us that the church was closed due to the Easter celebrations but the locals told us that the church has been closed for a while for renovations. The tour company was not honest.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Dear Amig@ Thank you very much for your comments, it is valuable for us to know what you think. We share with you the information shared by the local tourism secretary, the local people can always share their point of view. It is also enriching to listen to the locals, they always have something new to tell us. Dulce, Amigo Tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Amazing silver in taxco
Katrina_K
, Mar 2020
Great day out would have liked a little more time in Cuernavaca and to arrived there a little later has the markets were just setting up as we left
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hello Katrina :) We appreciate your comment and take it into account to improve our services as we are committed to customer satisfaction. We hope you come back soon as we have many more experiences to offer. Regards, Amigo Group.
star-2
Not enough Cuernavaca, too much time in tourist traps
Maryjane_B
, Feb 2020
Guide didn’t speak English very clearly and railroaded us to a tourist-trap restaurant with very bad but expensive food in Taxco and a silver shop where proprietor kept pressing us to drink different types of alcohol. There was too much time spent in silver workshop - very little time spent on silversmithing and then too much pressure to buy. Wanted to see more of Cuernavaca, which was only alloted 40 minutes out of of an 11-hour trip billed as “Cuernavaca and Taxco.” Very disappointing overall compared with our other Viator experiences.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hello! We are sorry that your experience was not the best, we appreciate your comment and take it into account to improve the quality of our service since customer satisfaction is our priority. Regards, Amigo Group.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
A long way to go, but a nice experience
Willy_D
, Jan 2020
In Cuernavaca we visited the area around the cathedral. Unfortunately the Cortez palace was closed for renovation after an earthquake. Especially Taxco is a nice destination. Of cause visit to a silver shop and the Santa Prisca church. We had luck that we saw on the 18th of january the St Prisca procession. Very colorful. The way back was a nearly 4 hours busride. An absolute Negative point : The areas around both cities are so nice, the landscapes are beautiful, but there were no photo stops al all on the way to and back the 2 cities.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hello! We're glad to know you had a great time with us in Taxco and Cuernavaca. Unfortunately the earthquake affected many important buildings in Cuernavaca, however the Goverment is reparing this City. For this reason we visit other important sites in Cuernavaca. In the same way in all our experiences the guides provide "free time" to the customers take photo and buy any souvenir. We hope you come back soon. Regards, Amigo Group
star-5
Amazing trip
Miztlitzin
, Nov 2019
Amigo tours did a great job. The town it self is beautifull. The people is amazing and the food at “El Atrio” is a thing to write home. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hello, Thank you for your comments, it is great for us to know you had a wonderful time with us. We work every day to provide the best service to all our clients because we love what we do. We hope you to come back soon. Best regards, Amigo Group
star-5
Silver City
Erue
, Nov 2019
Fun and relaxing day trip exploring two unique cities! The views and experience in Taxco was my favorite! Make sure to take the little taxi to the top for complete wonderment
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hello, Thank you for your comments, it is great for us to know you had a wonderful time with us. We work every day to provide the best service to all our clients because we love what we do. We hope you to come back soon. Best regards, Amigo Group
star-4
Great
AnnelisMurga
, Oct 2019
The experience was great, the places, the explanation and the tour guide was amazing. There's just something that could've been better. First of all we were a group of 28 people and for just one guide we were too many to handle. I think that for the future it would be better if you could coordinate two tour guides or to reduce the amount of people you allow in the tour.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello, Thank you for your comments, it is great for us to know you had a wonderful time with us. We work every day to provide the best service to all our clients because we love what we do. We hope you to come back soon. Best regards, Amigo Group
star-2
Great location, substandard transport
BillinHouston
, Jul 2019
The bus was really a mess. It was a van that apparently had a recent history as a agricultural or industrial delivery van (Grease or dirt stains were all over the interior of the van, including the roof headliner). The van was missing safety features like seatbelts too. Amigio Tours/Viatour crammed people into the van too. 14 people crammed into a van. 2 passengers didnt have any space for their feet. 7 were crammed into a space no bigger than 5 feet long. Not comfortable for the 7 to 8 hours the tour group was on the bus.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for your comments; we are sorry you didn't have the best experience with us. We offer an apology. We would like to follow up on your case. Regards Amigo Group
star-5
That was amazing tour to silver...
Marian C
, Dec 2017
That was amazing tour to silver city... guide very helpful, just churches were closed due to earthquake... worth to go!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Well run tour with a great guide...
carlylee61
, Nov 2017
Well run tour with a great guide. Had an amazing day, well worth doing. It is a long day, but gave great perspective with distance and got to see some of Mexico on the drive. Loved Taxaco, amazing town we were all astounded when we say the buildings all on a mountain side. A lot,of steep hills to climb, but well worth it.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City
Taxco, Cuernavaca and Prehispanic Mine Day Trip from Mexico City

star-4.5244

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-3.53

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.00

star-428

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$53.00

star-413

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$41.80

star-4.591

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$84.00

star-4.53

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-42

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$131.00

star-4.5543

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-411

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.08
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations