Recent Searches

Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals

Mexico City, Mexico
Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals

From $40.44

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Visit Frida Kahlo’s house, the colonial-era neighborhood of Coyoacan, and Xochimilco’s floating gardens on a small-group tour in Mexico City that explores art, architecture, and history. You’ll get a fascinating glimpse into Kahlo’s life and work in “Casa Azul,” then take in the main sites in Coyoacan. Next, head to Xochimilco for an hour-long boat ride in a trajinera, following a series of flower-lined canals. The tour concludes with a trip through the UNAM campus, including a series of beloved murals by Diego Rivera, O’Gorman, and Siqueiros.
  • Full-day tour of Coyoacan, Xochimilco, and UNAM
  • See Frida Kahlo’s “Casa Azul”
  • Optional stop at Leon Trotsky’s house (own expense)
  • Boat ride through Xochimilco’s floating gardens
  • Tour of the UNAM campus, stadium, and murals
  • Includes pickup and drop-off at selected hotels
  • Entrance fees included
  • Tour is wheelchair accessible
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Frida Kahlo entrance fee is included if tour option "Frida Kahlo Include" Is selected
Food and drinks
Frida Kahlo entrance fee is excluded if tour option "Frida Kahlo not included" Is selected

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM
Your Hotel information is very important, without it we can not provide pickup time. We can pick up/drop off in any hotel or Airbnb located in Zona Rosa, Zocalo, Reforma, Roma, Condesa and Polanco área in Mexico City.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • The Frida Kahlo Museum is closed on the following dates: 01 January, 21 March, 01 May, 15 and 16 of September, 21 November and 25 December.
  • Your Hotel information is very important, without it we can not provide pickup time.
  • Due to the current pandemic, the ticket to Frida Kahlo may be subject to availability due to the low capacity allowed. In case this happens only the entrance fee ticket will be reimbursed.
  • Frida Kahlo Museum is close on Monday´s
  • Please be aware this tour has several options, with and without Frida Kahlo Museum, select the more convenient for you
  • In case of cancellation may occur no refund will apply for Frida Kahlo Tickets, we can only refund the tour part.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Encuentro T
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals?
    A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

    • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
    • Face masks required for guides in public areas
    • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
    See all safety measures taken by Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals.
    What is the policy on sanitization during Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals.
    What is the social distancing policy during Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips

    • "You could do this on your own, but believe me, between the metro, waiting on line, the light rail, and walking, it's worth it to go with Viator for something like this." See review
    • "Excellent excursion but a guide with more fluency in the English language would have even made the tour better." See review


    32 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews
    Pretty good tour lasts half the day
    , Jun 2022
    Xochilmilco was a lot of fun though the cost of food is not included in the cost of the tour you can purchase a meal on the boat for $12 includes tons of food. Beers and sodas are available on the boat for 30/40 pesos and you can purchase drinks on passing boats. Mariachis are also available 150 pesos per song. You can pay with US dollars as well. Frida Kahlos house was very nice there are clean bathrooms and coffee shop there. I would have liked the tour guide to go through with us but it's fine.
    No thanks
    , Jun 2022
    The tour says 6 hrs but it was 9 hrs because of traffic. Traffic is an issue everyday so they should let tourist know that most of the time will be spent in the car : we spent 4 hrs touring the places and 5 hrs in the shuttle. Our tour guide was unpleasant in nature. . She was grumpy, on her phone most of the time, and was not engaging. We could of done without the “guide” and had a better experience. I would not recommend.
    Unprofessional Travel Agency
    , May 2022
    The tour guide NEVER showed up at the hotel on Sunday morning ( May 29th.) I had paid to go to the Frida Khalo Casa Azul, Coyoacán, and Xochimilco. After paying in advance, the agency sent me an email on Saturday at 1:30 AM saying that there were not available tickets to see Casa Azul. On Saturday morning, I sent three messages stating that I would take the tour without going to the Frida Khalo museum. When I called the tour agency on Sunday at 9:15 a.m, I was told that they didn’t check emails or messages on the weekends. Basically, they ignored my payment and reservation. It is unprofessional group of people running a “tour agency” without having communicating skills. If the “agency” is going to cancel the tour, they should let the tourists know in advance, so other plans can be made. I could have booked a more reliable tour and avoided a headache.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Rodo, We are sorry that you had a bad experience, in the "Information travelers need from you" section we inform you that tickets to the Frida museum are subject to availability, we apologize for the misunderstanding and lack of communication on our part, the 100% refund on our side has been made. We will verify this situation so it won't happen again. Thank you for your comments, and sorry again for what happened.
    A great way to start you Mexico City visit with history and some fun included!
    , Apr 2022
    The tour was a small group with a very good driver and Ursula our guide was excellent. She handled the tour well with both Spanish and English. Although a shorter 6 hour tour it was in rushed with time for lunch on our own. We highly recommend this tour!
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Hello Kendall_J, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm very happy you had a great time with us, for sure I will share your comments with Ursula!! Thank you so much and hope to see you back soon!
    A good day but rushed experience.
    , Feb 2022
    It is a good opportunity to see parts of Mexico City. The boat ride is a fun experience and the Frida Khalo Museum inspiring. If you do visit the museum you miss out on seeing Coyoacan. However, the day is rushed following a whole morning of being take to craft markets and souvenir places. These are good places to pick up some gifts. The guide was knowledgeable and narrated the trip well.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Hi Darren_W, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments, I'm so happy you enjoyed this day with us! Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Hope to see you soon All best We hope to see you back soon All best
    Very disappointing. We saw half of the things mentioned in the tour description. Spent almost all day in a car
    , Feb 2022
    This tour was very disappointing. The guide picked us up at 8:30 and until 12:30 we have been in the van. We have only stopped at a tacky souvenir shop and in front of the 2 stadiums for 5 minutes to take a photo of them from outside. We didn't see the university nor the murals. The boat trip was nice, but the guide made us feel guilty at the end saying that the guy driving the boat doesn't get paid and pushed us for leaving him a tip. We barely saw coyacan and got immediately dragged to a churro place. When we finally got to Frida's house, we were expecting the guide to come with us to explain us about Frida's life and so on, but he waited in the van instead. The tour description was also saying that we were able to visit Trotski house if we wanted to (at our own expenses). I asked the tour guide about 3 times and they said it wasn't possible and he didn't know why it was mentioned in the tour description. I chose this tour appositely because of it. I wanted to see both Frida and Trotski houses and ended up spending a whole day in a van. I will have to go back tomorrow even if we had other plans for our last day in CDMX. We would like to get a refund as we saw half of the things mentioned in the tour description and basically spent all day in the van. Also, we chose this tour appositely because of the possibility to see Trotski house and the guide denied us the possibility to go saying they didn't know why it was mentioned in the description.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Hello Luca, thank you for your comments, verifying what happened, I want you to know the day of your tour there was a vaccination meeting point on the way to Xochimilco, due to this there was a lot of traffic (something that is out of our control), referring to the times in each place you can find them on our itinerary: University City 20 min panoramic view, Coyoacán 35 min, Azteca stadium panoramic view. Unfortunately, the Frida Kahlo museum does not allow our guides to give the visit. In the description, it is mentioned that if you wish on your own you can visit the Anahuacalli Museum (not Trotsky) unfortunately due to the logistics of that day there was not enough time for you to arrive on time to the other museum before it closes, since it is almost 1 hour away on foot, and the transfer was not included. We are sorry for the inconvenience and we appreciate your comments as they help us to improve and be better.
    A great day tour in Mexico City
    , Feb 2022
    Loved the boat ride on the Xochimilco and home of Frida Khalo. Our guide, Enrique, was knowledgeable and our driver, very patient considering the traffic.
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Hello Phil Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I'm really happy you had a great experience with us! For sure I will send your comments to Enrique! Hope to see you soon!
    A fun day in Mexico City
    , Jan 2022
    Loved the small group and our guide was excellent! We had a bilingual group and our guide Ursula was able to bring everyone in. A very fun and informative day ! Would highly recommend !
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Hi Linda, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I'm really happy you had a great day on this tour! For sure I will send your comments to Ursula! Hope to see you soon!
    Good tour but...
    , Nov 2021
    Interesting sites, however, the driver was texting while driving and the guide smelled of alcohol at 8:30 in the morning. He was not a great guide to say the least.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Hello Tracy:_D, thank you for leaving us your comments if you can remember the name of the driver it will very helpful so we can take action, I know it has been a while but I really appreciate it, However, I will inform the manager about this, because this kind of behavior is unacceptable, and your safety is very important to us! Thank you and I'm really sorry
    , Nov 2021
    Our tour guide, Carlos, was amazing. The driver was great. His knowledge and overall attitude. Great
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Hello Alvaro_G, I really appreciate your comments, its good to know you had a great experience Hope to see you soon All best!
    Tour advertised incorrectly
    , Oct 2021
    Guide & driver were kind, but tour is not advertised correctly and there was very little information or history shared. Also need more time spent outside van - morning felt wasted going to a souvenir market for almost an hour which was not advertised, and the little information about stops given to us was told to us from front of van when we could’ve just stepped outside and walked around. The morning time could’ve been spent more in coyoacan. The hour+ drive to the floating gardens was in complete silence, the guide had no history to share, points of interest, etc. Almost missed our stop at casa azul (self-guided) because tour guide had misinformation from company. Floating gardens was the highlight of this day trip but this part also didn’t feel like a tour - no history or background info was given to us. The driver did their best but this tour itinerary should be restructured and talking point materials should be supplied to guide in both English and Spanish. Lastly, the tour guide rarely had his face mask on inside the bus which is a real risk.
    I could have done without...
    , Oct 2021
    I could have done without the murals and gone straight to Xochilmo and then Casa Azul. There was a little confusion about entrance tickets to Casa Azul. Other than that, we had a great time.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Hello Samantha, thank you for your comments and sorry for the confusion in Frida Museum. I will ask the guide to explain the process on this part. Thank you! All best
    Do not recommend using
    , Sep 2021
    They kept taking us to all these places that were not listed as part of the tour and "what to expect." For example, we stopped at a couple stadiums for some reason. Most of our time was spent on the tour van which just made the day more tiring. The best parts of the trip were the random street food (found at the silver shop at yet another unnecessary stop) and xochimilco which felt way too quick. When we got to coyacan, the guide wouldn't let us stop where we wanted to and made us go to a churro place. We finally got annoyed and told him that we're going to a coffee shop with or without him. We opted out of the Frida Kahlo Museum.
    icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
    Dear Neema Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, your comments make us improve our service, I'm really sorry you didn´t enjoy your tour at the maximum. I will keep extra attention on your comments to verify with our operator it won´t happen again, unfortunately, due to pandemic our tour had to change due to some places are closed and we try to fill them with other stops. Besides this, I hope you enjoyed some parts of your tour! We hope to see you soon!
    Great experience, private tour.
    , Sep 2021
    We booked a private tour and it was the best we could have done. Our guide was don Rafa, she was amazing, trying not only to take us to the places included as part of the booked tour but as many others he could. He is ver kind and knowledgeable. Coordination was very good, he picked us up at the hotel but given that the street was closed due to some events, we managed to communicate with us and align on the best place. He gives you tips on what to do or not to do when you are on certain places like in Las Trajineras in Xochimilco. I will keep using this site to book my tour. Don Rafa, fully recommended.
    icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
    Hi Fernando, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your experience, we are very happy you had a great day with us! And for sure I will send your comments to Rafa. We hope to see you soon! Best!
    Mexico City Highlights
    , Mar 2020
    Excellent excursion but a guide with more fluency in the English language would have even made the tour better.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Poor tour.
    , Feb 2020
    This tour sounds great but it is not what it seems. You only see the outside of the stadium at UNAM and in the distance you glimpse the library. You are taken to a tacky souvenir shop for 45 minutes! The food served on the boat at Xochimilco is way overpriced and poor quality. The back seat of the van has no suspension and the seat slides sideways when you turn corners. The on route information is minimal. I would not recommend this tour.
    2 travelers found this review helpful
    Great overview of two top sights in CDMX
    , Jan 2020
    The two top tourist attractions outside of the area from the historic district out to Chapultepec Park are Coyoacán and Xochimilco; this tour combines both areas - the historic parts of Coyoacán, the Museo Frida Kahlo (avoiding the long lines to get in), and Xochimilco. You could do this on your own, but believe me, between the metro, waiting on line, the light rail, and walking, it's worth it to go with Viator for something like this. In addition, you get to meet interesting people - and riding on a trajinera with a group of people is a lot more fun than just with your traveling companion. On a side note, I've done this tour before, but this time brought someone else who had never been. After a confusing incident at the pickup location (we were told to get on a bus after showing the Viator confirmation) but unfortunately it was for another tour company - there were others on this bus going to numerous places and it left us all on the street near Bellas Artes but off the beaten path waiting for this other tour company to group people going to wherever they were supposed to go. Our Viator pickup arrived and, although we were 15 minutes early, we were not there; they waited; they contacted us, and picked us up at our unplanned location - which wasn't easy knowing CDMX morning traffic. We didn't miss a thing, and the rest of the people on the van didn't hate us for being the last, late ones. Thank you to the Viator/Encounter team, our guide Melissa (who is excellent) and our driver for making what could have been a let down into a wonderful day.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Dear jglsongs, Your comments and experiences are very important to us. As you say, the tour is better when you share it with a group of people. We are very happy to choose us for your tour in Frida and Xochimilco. Mexico is your home! BR
    Frida Kahlo and other adventures
    , Jan 2020
    Mario was great. Very informative and kind man. The insight and history was great. Would do the tour again!!
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Dear Nmalanizjr, Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your tour. We will be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico! Have a great day!
    Bad tour guide for an otherwise great tour
    , Dec 2019
    It can't be denied that these sites are interesting and important unfortunately we got stuck with a terrible tour guide and it ruined half the experience. We were told to be at the hotel of our lobby at 8:30am but the guide didn't show up until 9am. At that point people were restless and had gone off to find coffee which made him have to wait 7 whole minutes for us to gather and he glared and scolded us that entire time. The unhappiness continued when he informed us that he had not secured the tickets to Frida Kahlo's house until 2 pm and because of that, in order to hit all the attractions we would need to SKIP LUNCH. This is a 7 hour tour for 14 people; you can't just ask that they don't eat (or they should have given us some warning to pack a lunch). The ridiculousness continue when he refused to help us find a bathroom two hours into the tour. He acted like this request was unreasonable and said we should have "planned" to not use the bathroom for longer! His explanations were cursory and in some cases inaccurate and when someone in the group would correct him he would get annoyed (he told us, for example, that Frida's father was Austrian - he was of German background). At the UNAM murals he only showed us two and then rushed us out (I think there are 8 total, including one that was *right across* from the large one in the library, and he didn't know about or care to explain). We had to wait another 35 minutes to get to Xochimilco to use the bathroom. Once we got to Coyoacan, we managed to convince him that we needed a snack (it was 1:10pm), he tried to convince us to go to the 7/11 and was VERY upset that we decided to go to a Taqueria instead (no one wanted stuff from 7/11). We bought him lunch thinking we could improve his mood but he acted annoyed again, that people needed to use the restroom (the nerve of humans who need to pee!) and rushed us to the Blue House. Thankfully he didn't enter the House with us so we had a reprieve but let us go with a warning to use the restroom before we left because he would not be stopping. On the way back we inquired whether he could make two stops so that some people could stay at the crafts market and the answer not surprisingly was "no" Our 7 hour tour ended 20 min early as our "very busy" tour guide rushed us through every site and we were dropped off at the hotel with the clear sense that we didn't get our money's worth. Mario's poor English we could have accepted but lack of knowledge = unacceptable
    icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
    Dear 49deniset, I really sorry because of your bad experience. We can´t allow situations like this. Please let me know your name or booking reference, I will contact the operator and try to give you a 50% refund of your trip. We will contact you within the following days. We kind regards
    This was a perfect combo tour when...
    , Feb 2018
    This was a perfect combo tour when we didn't have the whole day for a longer tour of these places. Victor was an excellent, experienced tour guy who spoke fluent English, who knew tons about Mexican history and culture etc. Skipping the line at the Kahlo museum was important, even so it was very crowded on a Sunday afternoon. The floating gardens at Xochimilco are lovely and relaxing, not to be missed. Another time I would take more time on my own with Kahlo museum and walking around Coyoacan, which was brief because of our 1 pm museum tickets. Note this says full-day tour, but we were picked up at 9 and finished up by 2 pm would have been more like 3 but we skipped lunch after the museum.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals
    Frida Kahlo Museum, Coyoacan, Xochimilco and UNAM Murals


    6 hours

    Free Cancellation



    10 hours

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours

    Free Cancellation



    2 hours

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours

    Free Cancellation



    6 hours

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours

    Free Cancellation

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations