Recent Searches
Clear

Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level)

star-3.5
|
Makawao, United States
10

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

If you want to combine sightseeing with something more active than the usual bus tours, book this guided bike tour down Maui's dormant volcano, Haleakala. Starting very early in the morning for the best sunrise views (and to beat the heat) pedal downhill, riding along switchbacks, through Haleakala Ranch and past Kula. Continue through the towns of Makawao and Paia, and finally finish up oceanside at Paia Bay Beach Park. Includes hotel pickup and drop-off.
  • Combine sightseeing with an energetic activity by biking down Haleakala
  • Includes hassle-free hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Set out early to see the volcano bathed in its pre-dawn colors
  • Get insights into the geology, flora, and fauna of the park from your guide
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Snacks (with a no-host meal stop)
Local guide
Use of helmet and chrome cruiser bike
Gratuities
Haleakala Park Tour
886 Haliimaile Rd, Makawao, HI 96768, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for beginner bike riders or pregnant women
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or refund
  • Maximum 13 per booking allowed
  • Weight restrictions apply; maximum weight is 280 lbs
  • Minimum height required is 5 feet
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mountain Riders LLC

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level)?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level).
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level)?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level).
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level)?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level).
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level)?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level).
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level)?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour with Mountain Riders (6,500' to Sea-Level).

Traveler Photos

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
22 Reviews
]

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-3 of 22 reviews
star-4
No sunrise
Travel-buddy
, Apr 2021
Great time and awesome staff! Only bummer was we were led to believe we were going to see the sunrise “above the clouds” on top of the mountain, but apparently tours aren’t allowed up anymore( we were told during the tour this has been the case for the past two years, but no one mentioned that till half way through the tour).. they take you up almost to the top ( not above the clouds)and on the other side of the mountain... you did not see the sun at all at best maybe a slight(very slight) pink hue. That part was Disappointing and misleading.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
We have a Haleakala Sunrise tour for $250 which is a great option for those who have never visited Haleakala before. We also have our "predawn tour" (the one you choose) for $120 a less expensive and great option for those who have visited Haleakala before. If you have a chance again try our sunrise tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
NOT THE ADVENTURE THAT WE SUPPOSED!
Andrea_Zizza
, Jan 2021
We went on this experience on January 2, 2021 in time to enjoy the sunrise. They didn't bring us to the top of the HALEAKALA volcano and we didn't watch the amazing sunrise that we supposed to do. It was my last day in Maui so I was very upset leaving the island without haven't seen and without discovered that amazing view. We paid $128.00 per person and in my opinion, was too much. I don't know why they didn't start the bike ride from the top but I think that they have to be more clear in the description of the experience. I also thought to have the opportunity to stop to take pictures or videos or a little break whenever I wanted and it was not even possible because the "shuttle" followed us for all the bike ride long without giving "liberty" to the participants. The guides were very nice and friendly but I think they need to change somenthing to make this experience more unforgettable. Right now I would lie if I will suggest this to other people.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Looks like you booked the pre-dawn tour. The sunrise tour goes to the summit. It is a little more expensive however you see the sunrise at the summit. God willing of course
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
We actually got upgraded to the full...
Lyle W
, Apr 2018
We actually got upgraded to the full 10,000 ft sunrise summit tour because not enough people signed up for the 6500 ft tour and the start of the trip was fantastic 2:45AM pickup at our west Maui resort. The sunrise view from the summit was amazing and breathtaking. Our only reservations were once the ride started downhill. The bikes were in poor to fair condition. Since they are built to brake, mostly, and to travel downhill, mostly, they are pretty specialized. One of our bikes had marginal condition brakes as they did not grab smoothly. It was hard to sometimes ride these up inclines as they are single-speed. This obstacle was not a huge problem and we lived with it. The real turn-off was the request for gratuities. The guides outright demanded that we tip them 25 per person in our party. We did not carry that much money and did not tip them that much, but would not have tipped them that much anyways. This request for gratuities dropped our rating from five to three stars.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Product code: 9133P4

Explore Similar Things to Do