Recent Searches
Clear

Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui

|
Haiku-Pauwela, United States
Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Use of bicycle
Air-conditioned vehicle
Entrance into Haleakala National Park
Gratuities
810 Haiku Rd , 810 Haiku Rd, Haiku, HI 96708, USA

Find us in the historic Haiku Marketplace ***PLEASE NOTE THAT NO HOTEL PICK UP OFFERED Meet at 810 Haiku Rd, Haiku, HI 96708

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Minimum Height is 4'10"
  • Minimum Age is 12 years old
  • Recent biking experience required
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 96 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bike Maui AND Haleakala EcoTours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
451 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 451 reviews
star-5
Rory was great ! Amazing...
Philip_B
, Aug 2022
Rory was great ! Amazing time strat to finish ! Well worth it. , the sunset and bike ride were a must do on Maui !
star-5
Must do!
DBDBJ2
, Aug 2022
An experience only the experience can speak to. Definitely worth it. Pictures and words are unable to express adequately what the eyes see, what your spirit speaks to you about nature proclaims. There is a God!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The experience of a lifetime!
Jeffrey_P
, Jul 2022
Watching the sunrise from Haleakala is a truly powerful experience. Our tour guide (Eddie Buddy!) was hilarious and wonderful. He shared impressive cultural stories and funny jokes to enliven our experience up to the crater. He also provided us with the necessary safety guidance to make it back home in one piece. The bike ride down from the mountain was absolutely exhilarating and scenic. This excursion is a must if you're ever visiting Maui. Just make sure you book during the dry season as the rainy season can be rather disappointing and treacherous. If Eddie Buddy is your guide, then you're in for a real treat as well!
star-5
A Must Do In Maui
Janice_B
, Jul 2022
We happened to be lucky enough to have a perfect sunrise! It was a religious experience. I have never seen anything like it in my life. To be above the clouds as the day begins is really something else. Honestly I was nervous about doing the bike ride. If you can ride a bike, you can do this excursion! I rode the brakes all the way down, but the views were amazing and it was a ton of fun! The company does a fantastic job from start to finish. Definitely put this on your to do list, but do it on a day when you have nothing else planned as you will be exhausted after getting up at 1:30 in the morning. Bring a snack and water for the bike ride.
star-5
Great time
Billy_H
, Jul 2022
Cory was our trip leader and he was excellent. This was a great ride. The customer service was really good and the equipment worked, fit properly and the bikes had no issues.
star-1
Be Careful
cplusm2015
, Jul 2022
I was extremely excited for this tour but incredibly disappointed. We woke up at 2:00 AM to drive to the meet-up location. It was raining. We loaded into the vans in the rain and drove 90+ minutes through the rain up the volcano. At the top of the volcano, there was an incredibly dense fog, whipping wind and rain, and a sunrise that was 0% visible because of the rain clouds. We loaded back up into the vans to drive out of the National Park boundary before starting the 90 minute bike ride down the mountain through the rain. I contacted Bike Maui and Viator requesting a refund, credit, and/or rain check. Each group said they were unable to give a refund, passing responsibility off to the other group. On the day of the tour, Bike Maui did not offer any guests the option for a rain check, despite that specifically being in their cancellation policy. The one moderately positive part of the day was our van driver, Eddie, who told good stories on the drive up the volcano. Be careful before spending this huge amount of money when you can simply drive up in your rental car and pay the $30 park entrance fee.
star-5
An adventurous and...
Meredith_W
, Jul 2022
An adventurous and memorable experience! I appreciated the tour guides emphasis on the ecological history of Haleakala and Hawaii on the ride up the mountain. The safety demo felt thorough and the guide observe the riders as we go down the mountain to make sure we are doing ok and following the rules of the road. The views are fantastic! The sunrise through the mountain clouds felt like an honor. If you are staying in Lahaina please know it is an hour drive to the pick up so you need to leave at 2am. Worth the price!!
star-5
You have to experience this adventure!
Joey_F
, Jul 2022
This is an amazing experience, and while it seems crazy to get up at 1 in the morning to drive to the meeting point at 3am, seeing the sun rise out of the ocean, and make all the clouds glow as if they are burning embers, was almost a spiritual experience, and I would highly recommend that everyone do it, at least once in their lives. Our tour guide, Eddie Buddy, was fantastic! He shared cool stories about Hawaii, and interesting facts about Hawaii. The ride down is exhilarating, and safety is the number 1 concern. Pro tip: Due this adventure the first morning you wake up, after your first night. You will be jet-lagged, because Hawaii is 3 hours earlier than Pacific Standard. So while you are meeting your tour guides at 3am, it will feel like 5am (if you’re from California), and it won’t be as painful! This was a worthwhile, amazing experience!
star-5
Bucket List activity
Brian_T
, Jul 2022
The 2 am drive from Lahaina was rough but the sunrise was amazing. Had a blast coming Haleakala and those views! Follow the rules and use the brakes, you build up some speed
star-5
Shaka
Jason_C
, Jul 2022
We had a great experience with our guide. He was very knowledgeable about our tour and and gave as an awesome time, also was very funny and friendly.
star-5
Best self guided tour
Victor_C
, Jul 2022
Bill was an amazing guide on the way up. He was knowledgeable, funny, and very concerned about our safety. All the views were amazing, you can stop anytime, you were on your own time. I highly recommend the self guided tour.
star-5
Best excursion on Maui....
Allison_M
, Jul 2022
Best excursion on Maui. Bike trip was the best. Do self guided so you can go at your own pace. Favorite thing my kids did.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A MUST DO
Anne_B
, Jul 2022
Do this, do this, do this!! We spent two weeks in Hawaii and this was by far our favorite thing we did. The sunrise was absolutely breathtaking and the bike ride was so much fun. You have to be up early but it's so worth that 3am check-in. Conditions vary at the top (weather, am I right?) and we were super lucky with mild winds and limit cloud/rain. I hope you do this excursion and get lucky too!
star-1
Wrong start time - missed tour
Eve_P
, Jul 2022
We missed the trip, as the tour ticket and confirmation showed a start time of 4:00 am, when in actuality check-in time was 3 am. The tour operator did a great job texting to remind everyone to sign waivers, but did not make sure to confirm start time. We were halfway to Haiku when we received the call, but were not going to make it in time. We are bitterly disappointed to have missed this.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Unfortunately the problem arises because Viator does not allow us to obtain guests emails. We do and did email updates to the tour time on multiple occasions, but when using the Viator based email that are provided when guests book through Viator, the messages get sent to the Viator messaging portal and not the actual guests email. We do apologize that you missed your tour, we have asked Viator to change their policy so that we can properly contact our guests.
star-5
Incredible sunrise
Rita_O
, Jul 2022
There are no words for how beautiful the experience is to watch the sunrise from on top of the volcano! Our guide Eddie, was knowledgeable and funny. He kept us safe and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously! The bike ride down was so fun. The biggest challenge was not going too fast. I would definitely recommend this adventure!!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience!
Jennifer_L
, Jun 2022
Great experience! Seeing the sun rise over the crater is a breath- taking experience. Jackets and pants were provided to go over your clothes, but layers are recommended. As we biked down, we kept gradually taking off layers. Biking down was a little nerve racking for me (50 year old mom who hasn’t biked in a long time) but everyone else seemed more than comfortable. I appreciated the extra sturdy brakes as we descended and just went a little slower to feel comfortable. I enjoyed doing the biking as self guided, not being restricted by a large group. Our guide on the way up was informative, helpful and funny. We loved this experience and would highly recommend it!
star-5
Fantastic.
sharon_k
, Jun 2022
Loved the trip!!! Guide was wonderful on the way up. And we were self guided on the way down. Loved it.
star-4
Great to experience the...
Michael_R
, Jun 2022
Great to experience the sunrise from the top of the volcano and biking down at your choice of guided or self-guided is perfect flexibility. Wish the Kula Lodge would not have been closed for a private event, would have been the icing on the cake. But great place for breakfast next to the bike shop when you return. Only negative was a bit too much tour guide speaking before we actually could get the bikes and go. Some history is good, but other buses in the tour were held up by ours as the self guided group had to go first.
star-5
Just do it! Once in a lifetime experience!
Abby_P
, Jun 2022
This was such an amazing experience! I was so nervous about this but as soon as we got going on the bikes I felt safe and at ease. So if you are unsure about this, just go for it and do it! You won't regret it!! The bikes were legit and the staff so nice and helpful and made sure you were taken care of. The sunrise was breaking taking.
star-5
The bus driver”Eddie...
Kerry_S
, Jun 2022
The bus driver”Eddie buddy “ was great, the ride down and the sunrise were both beautiful! The tour company staff was excellent I would recommend this experience to all my friends and family!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui
Haleakala Sunrise Best Self-Guided Bike Tour with Bike Maui

star-5451

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$258.29

star-582

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$212.35

star-4.5139

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$269.78

star-556

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$350.00

star-4.521

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$160.80

star-4.5182

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$248.96

star-59

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$503.00

star-5212

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.20

star-432

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$235.33
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations