Recent Searches

Maui Downhill Self-paced Bike Tour

star-3.516 Reviews
Paia, United States
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon2 to 4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


The massive gray cone of the Haleakala volcano looms over the Hawaiian island of Maui. This tour brings you to the mountain’s peak to cycle down its slopes. The tour is self-guided, so you’ll take the 26-mile trip at your own pace. Along the way, you’ll pass Haleakala Ranch, Kula, and Makawao, and finish at the tour office in Paia.
  • Cycle 26-miles down the slopes of Haleakala volcano on Maui
  • Go at your own pace, stopping at highlights along the way
  • Windbreaker, helmet, and bike included
  • Snacks and bottled water provided
Saved to wishlist!
Use of Sportswear windbreaker jacket and gloves
Use of helmet and Worksman Downhill chrome cruiser bike
Pre-Qualification Guidelines for Bike ride
Backpack or you can bring your own
Rain suite if needed
Beverages available for purchase
Free parking for MMC guests
Assistance for any reason is just minutes away

Departure Point

381 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA

Departure Time

8:15 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age is 12 years old
  • Maximum weight approx. 240lbs.
  • Minimum height 4′ 10″
  • Not recommended for anyone with respiratory conditions, shortness of breath that require an inhaler or doctors care within last six months
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for anyone with prosthetic device not successfully used in bicycle riding within last thirty days
  • Not recommended for anyone with blood related disorders i.e diabetes, clotting medications, rare blood type, carrier of blood borne transmittable disease
  • Not recommended for anyone with any form of ataxia/vertigo within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone with loss of consciousness or fainting within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone with head trauma within last year or doctors care within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone taking mood altering or stabilizing prescribed medications
  • Not recommended for anyone taking OTC medications with warnings of drowsiness
  • Not recommended for anyone who has used recreational drugs legal and or illegal within last 48 hours
  • Not recommended for anyone who has ingested alcohol within last 8 hours
  • Not recommended for anyone who has had broken bones within last six months
  • Not recommended for anyone who has had spinal injury within last year
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Maui Mountain Cruisers

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos


16 Reviews
of surveyed travelers recommend this
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews
Great scenery
, Jun 2021
The view was great. The bikes and helmets were a bit old and worn. My breaks squeaked all the way down. I would pay a little extra to have better bikes and gear.
Coast down a volcano!
, Jun 2021
Thrilling experience. Enjoyable ride to the top, good equipment, optional rain gear available. Highly recommend!
Do your Research Before Choosing this Company
, Jun 2021
We have had many tours/experiences with Viator and every single one of them has been fantastic. But.... this experience was not one I would every do again or recommend. The guide was brash and did not think twice about throwing out curse words throughout the conversation. I am not a prude and can curse myself, but would never do it in front of a customer. The van that took us up to the drop off point was dirty, smelled bad, and the air conditioning vents were completely gone. The bikes were rusty, my husbands back wheel rubbed the entire time, they really were not safe to ride. We did not ask the guide for any help with bike adjustments, but I observed him telling another guest, "If it doesn't squeak it ain't worth it" then was unable to move her seat to the proper height for her. Overall the level of service and products that this company provides is substandard. We have experienced much more professionalism with other companies.
Great ride.
, May 2021
Lots of fun. Great views. Definitely something you should do. The ride was easy, but remember a light jacket for the first part of the ride.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for your great review and we hope you had a fabulous Maui vacation. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Do the ride, choose a different company
, Apr 2021
The views were amazing and we had a ton of fun! We were not impressed at all with the company itself. Dirty, old equipment, not in good shape. Loose handlebars, super squeaky brakes. Choose a different company and one that includes entry into the park first.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Mahalo for your review and we're so sorry that you were disappointed. I hope you had a fun Maui vacation!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Great experience
, Apr 2021
The experience is unique and exciting. Road and nature - beautiful! Bikes could be better. Overall a very good experience! 2 adults and 3 kids (not very young 18,16 and 14)!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Mahalo for your review and we hope that you did have a fun Maui vacation!
Worth the experience
, Mar 2021
The biking experience was really fun and exciting. I am glad I did it and got over the nervousness. The bike itself was not something I would recommend, seats were ripped and bikes are a little on the older side. Backpack and helmet were provided as advertised. Regardless it is worth the experience, and the money. The other companies are double the price with just a better bike but same experience. Plus stopping at the little towns is relaxing.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Aloha, I'm glad you had a relaxing time. We have a bunch of new seats and tires on its way. We have had so many delays with orders and shipping during this trying time. Overall, we thank you for the review and I hope you had a beautiful Maui vacation!
Lovely no frills bike tour
, Mar 2021
Jon was very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and was a lovely guide! The ride was about 2 hours and we were able to stop on the way at a farmer’s market and a little town.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you and I'm glad you had fun!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Kinda dirty but REALLY fun
, Mar 2021
Very memorable experience! The van & helmets were pretty dirty & one of our bikes kept breaking BUT the ride was amazing with the views!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Mahalo for your review and we hope you had a fun Maui vacation!
Unprofessional and unsanitary
, Jan 2021
This company has been awful to deal with. We booked the Gravity Assisted Bicycle Adventure at 8pm the night before the adventure. Got up early the next day and drove to the address listed which when we arrived there were no signs. We thought we were at the wrong place, there was a massage parlor and some other business in parking lot. When someone told us it was down an unmarked road we drove to find a old trailer, a pitbull tied up to a tree, a few cars up on blocks, and when the operator came out of the trailer, we asked to see the bikes and equipment we'd be using for the trip, he was a little reluctant but opened the back of a truck where we saw bikes with torn seats, helmets on the floor of the dirty trailer, it just looked unsafe and definitely not sanitary. Viator lied and told us they had a waitlist of people for that day they had to turn away.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do