Recent Searches
Clear

Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe Cultural and Turtle Tour

star-4.521 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Kihei, United States
13
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Journey back in time with an expert local guide during this traditional Hawaiian outrigger canoe tour. Learn about Polynesian culture as you cruise through top attractions and scenic tropical landscapes. Get up close to local marine life as you make your way through the waters between Wailea Beach and Maui.
  • Experience a traditional Hawaiian Outrigger Canoe Tour as you learn the culture, art and sport of canoe paddling.
  • Paddle through stunning tropical landscapes
  • Learn about Polynesian culture from your expert guide
  • Enjoy the pristine waters off Wailea point as you take in the magnificent coral-sea garden with an abundance of sea life.
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Outrigger canoe excursion
Canoeing equipment
Local taxes
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Kihei, HI 96753, USA

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Children 5 and younger are not recommended
  • You must be able to paddle a minimum of a half mile
  • Check-in is 20 minutes prior to the booked tour start time
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Hawaiian Ocean Sports

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
21 Reviews
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-6 of 21 reviews
star-5
Great experience!
Dwight_M
, Jun 2021
Great time out on the water to learn a little bit of history of the Hawaiian people and also see some turtles. Also nice to do an active excursion and paddle on an outrigger. The team was professional and great communication with directions to the start point.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun experience.
Sheyla_V
, Jun 2021
It was an amazing experience, so fun and the guide was so nice. We saw turtles, my kids were really happy and we loved it.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
No turtles
AMM
, Apr 2021
Because of traffic we were 10 minutes late, but they still took us out for a canoe experience., got very windy and disappointed we didn’t see any turtles.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Aloha Aniluz, If you're going to submit a review positive or negative, please present accurate information. You were 45 minutes late for 10am scheduled departure. Tradewinds typically increase as the day progresses on Maui. That is why we recommend 8am, 9am and 10am departures for all tours. As Tradewinds increase, the turtles are more difficult to see. For safety reasons, we discontinued the tour and issued you a refund as request. As always, our primary commitment is safety and positive experience. Mahalo, Kevin Piilani Hoke
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A HIDDEN GEM
ken_a
, Mar 2021
Warm waters, friendly staff, turtles and sunny day--a combination for a great day and tour, thanks Kevin for the experience. Will be coming back soon
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Aloha Ken, Mahalo for the thoughtful review! Most of all....mahalo to Akua for blessing us with a wonderful day on the water and meeting another friend! A hui hou...until we meet again, never goodbye! Kevin Piilani Hoke
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great historical perspective on...
Peter M
, Dec 2017
Great historical perspective on Hawaiian culture. Kevin was amazing. We need more like him. The best. The cost was a tad high and the length a tad short. Make the trip 90mins as a minimum for the cost. Otherwise it was exceptional!!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Aloha Peter and mahalo for the TripAdvisor review & thoughtful comments! We certainly fit a lot into the 90 minute tour! Please feel free to come back another time for a complimentary tour for more time on the water! 8086332800...I’ll hook you up brother!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
The Outrigger Canoe ride was...
Ann C
, Jul 2017
The Outrigger Canoe ride was fantastic! Kevin was a great guide! Would love to do it again and maybe a longer session!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Aloha Ann, My apology for the late response....I just discovered this review. I have too many accounts on TA. I am grateful for you and time spent in providing this review! Please come back and see us again! Malama pono!
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do