Recent Searches
Clear

Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Paia, United States
Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Suitable for all levels, this half-day Maui bike tour is all downhill, leaving you with less than a mile to pedal on your own. Enjoy stunning views, with highlights including a panoramic cattle ranch, and the picturesque towns of Kula and Makawao. Small-group tours include a chase van to block traffic down paved roadways.
  • Guided, small-group half-day bike tour of Maui, with downhill roads and lunch
  • Ride comfortably on a top-quality, hand-crafted and American-made bicycle
  • Safety first: tours include your choice of bicycle helmet, with full face options
  • Soft drinks are included, plus a vehicle transfer to the starting point
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Coffee and/or Tea
Snacks
Soda/Pop
We provide you with everything you could possibly need to do this excursion. All you need to do is show up with clothes on and please wear close toed shoes.
We will have jackets, pants and gloves for you to use if you would like to borrow some for the excursion.
Helmets - You can choose the style of helmet you wish to use. You can use a full face helmet or you can use a traditional bicycle helmet. We are the only bicycle tour business that offers both styles.
Bicycle - We provide you with the safest bicycle possible for this excursion.
Air-conditioned vehicle
Large groups - we take a Maximum of 8 riders
Freezing Cold Temperatures are excluded.
142 Hana Hwy , 142 Hana Hwy, Paia, HI 96779, USA

This is the Public Parking in Paia located behind Dolly’s Restaurant. You are welcome to leave your car here for the day for a small fee. Look for a white van with shiny bikes on top with our Easy Riders logo. Please don't expect us to arrive at exactly 9am, we operate on Island time.

9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • All riders must be at least 12 years old and at least 4’10.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Not recommended for anyone under 4'10 in height or over 300lbs.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Maui Easy Riders
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You go at your own pace, there is no such thing as keeping up with the pack." See review
  • "They've got snacks and waters covered, plus great helmets and jackets." See review
  • "This tour featured much more comfortable touring bikes with big cushy seats and good brakes." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
192 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 192 reviews
star-5
Fantastic bike tour
Maria_B
, Aug 2022
It was an amazing bike ride but the guide Charlotte and Collin were fantastic! They went above and beyond to make sure everyone was safe and had a good time. It has been the best experience and I highly recommend it!
star-5
Go for it.
Arleen_T
, Aug 2022
Guides we very professional and awesome people. Had an incredible time. They made us feel at ease and made the entire adventure fun and safe.
star-5
Everything about this...
Chris_B
, Jul 2022
Everything about this experience was great from the start to the end. The 2 guides were very professional, Is knowledgeable, and a lot of fun. The trip up was fun the views were breathtaking, Is the ride down the mountain was fun, exhilarating, And just a great time. I would really recommend doing this tour if you're interested in excitement and fun. If you love breathtaking views this is your experience.
star-5
Exhilarating Experience
brendaarmstead
, Jul 2022
The tour guides were wonderful. This is a small group tour which was great from a safety standpoint and personal attention standpoint. The description of this tour in terms of exclusions and inclusions was accurate so we knew exactly what to expect. Coasting downhill with all the turns and views was fantastic. We would do it again in a heart beat and have already recommended it to others.
star-5
Above and beyond
Jennifer_H
, Jul 2022
Awesome Guided Bike Tour! We felt cared for and most importantly, safe during the ride down. Worth every penny!!! The guys were so funny, informative, and they got us to do awesome photo shots. Definitely recommend this tour to everyone.
star-5
Never say never.
Charles_M
, Jun 2022
It was wet wild and wonderful. Great guides. We were in and out of the clouds with a real sense of otherworldliness .
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing
Jeannie_I
, Jun 2022
Amazing, smooth downhill bike ride! Billy and John were really cool and funny. They stopped at all the cool spots and bought us donuts and banana bread. I highly recommend this trip.
star-5
Great family adventure
Wendy_P
, Jun 2022
Very fun and safe experience. Our tour guides were great! They gave us a history of the area and made sure we were safe and comfortable. Their van protected us from cars passing while going down the mountain. The views were awesome and they stopped to help us pose for some fun pics! I had been worried about the length of the trip but it really was no problem. The bikes were in good shape and seats comfortable. Going in a small group was nice so the guides really could keep an eye on the traffic for us.
star-5
Biking can be a Blast!
RENESAM_B
, Jun 2022
Haleakala downhill bike tour is a must! We had a fantastic time riding with Kyle & Collin, they were safety minded, as well as being very entertaining. I would definitely do it again & highly recommend it to anyone who gets the chance to make this bucketlist memory!
star-5
Lots of info from tour...
Daniel_M
, May 2022
Lots of info from tour guides, everyone able to travel at their own pace. Very safe and bathroom break halfway up and down. Was a great way to spend 4 hours on Maui!
star-5
On the way up to the top...
Ronald_D
, May 2022
On the way up to the top in the van I was having a heart attack. I found out I'm not the first person to feel that way.....once we started down I felt much better! I liked having the van follow us down the road...made me feel much more comfortable. I was riding a new bike that hadn't been named yet....I think her name should be Sally! I would definitely do this tour again! We had a blast!
star-5
Kyle and John were great,...
Barbara_K
, May 2022
Kyle and John were great, they didn’t just drop us off at the top like other bike companies, they stayed with us the whole time.
star-5
Very Cool
Adrienne_M
, Apr 2022
John and Kyle were excellent. My kids and husband had a blast going super fast, I on the other hand was so slow. John stayed behind me with the truck the whole time. Would definitely recommend for families with teens.
star-5
The exhilarating bike ride down Haleakala
Christine_C
, Apr 2022
The guide did a great job of not only keeping us safe on the road, but also helping us take some funny and scenic pictures…Hanging out with the chameleons was a fun surprise.
star-5
Good experience!
David_J
, Apr 2022
The ride was awesome and the guides were very professional and attentive. Having the van fallow was and added safety. The bikes and helmets were in very good shape.
star-3
Great ride, guides… not so much
Tim_E
, Apr 2022
Guide was rude. Spent significant time making fun of other guests- referred to a customer as “Shrek” because his head would not fit in helmet. WAs also insulting to my son for preferring to ride the ladies bike- which was smaller and easier to maneuver. Total jerk. Also had snide comments about the resort we were staying at. The ride itself was great. Get new guides who are not bitter at the world.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
WOW! Talk about rude, your review is the epitome of the new age Karen response. Allow me to retort… You talk about my guide being rude, take a look at yourself. Cue the worlds smallest violin…Instead of addressing your really sad and repressed feelings with the guides or with myself, the owner, you decide to bash my business online because your sense of humor is lame. First off..Shrek didn’t call me crying, nor did he leave a bad review because of a light hearted joke, a joke that lasted 2 seconds. Stop going all Will Smith on us! A joke that was made on a tour that you were not even a part of is included in your review, a tour that took place weeks before your tour. You are just grasping for something to be upset about. I have had dozens of guests refer to the their own heads as Shrek Sized over the years when fitting helmets, we got that joke from our clients with big heads. The joke wasn’t even about you or your son, or anyone you were with. You’re just looking for something to complain about. There are always gonna be people like you that are not happy unless they have something to be mad about. As for your son riding a girls frame bike and you not being able to take a joke about that. This is just another fine example of you not being able to understand dry humor and sarcasm. I bet you are hoot to kick it with. Not that it matters now, but I personally ride the girls frames bikes quite often, as do all of the guides. I even have a guide that is 6’8 and he rides a girls frame bike. We make fun of each other about, not because we are mean or insulting, but because we something you do not…a good sense of humor. Sounds like you spent a significant amount of time on our tour focusing on being butt-hurt and judging the guide, instead of relaxing and trying to enjoy yourself. Hopefully next time you can focus on having a good time and taking in some tour guide humor. If you keep spending your life looking for the negative in people that is all you are ever going to find, quit being so uptight and live a little. You must be very thankful for the Cancel Culture movement. Maybe Disney World would be a better fit for you, you can go to Magic Mountain and hold Mickeys hand while everyone tells you exactly what you want to hear. Everyone can ride the same ride, with the same sized everything, and then you can hear the same narrated speech that is unoriginal which will hopefully bring out that loving smile of yours. Send me a postcard! We provide a top notch service, there is a lot of sarcasm and jokes that we use to lighten the mood and to make light of awkward situations. Obviously we missed on the chance to address you personally because you hid your emotions, that would have been fun. Fact is that you’re only concerned about your perception of the conversations that you were not involved in. If you had a problem with the way someone was treating you or talking to your son, maybe you should try manning up and saying something instead of repressing your feelings and then going online to bash the business that provided a 5 Star Service. If you had told my guides how you felt they would have apologized profusely and sympathized with you. But now you get no sympathy whatsoever, and you deserve none. As for the joke that you call snide about the resort you were staying at. That resort is the best resort in all Hawaii, we have mad respect for that resort and for the guests who stay there, minus yourself. When anyone ever says they are staying there we reserve that response for that particular hotel, again this shows you inability to decipher humor from what you call “snide”. You are the first person to ever be offended by this joke and we have been using it for over a decade. Who do you think the problem is? Us or you? People love that joke, ya know why? Because it is funny. It is not malicious, snide yes, funny snide tho. You are being malicious and snide, but not funny snide. All in all, I must say…great job, sir. You have successfully bashed my business and lowered my rating all because your sense of humor is non existent. I think you should get back in the office as soon as possible and fill out those TPS Reports. Get a new attitude, stop calling people names like rude, and referring to people as bitter at the world. Have you ever heard of reflection or projection, or therapy? You might want to look into those, you’re pretty good at describing yourself. We are polite, fun and very safe when we conduct tours. I stand by my guide, he has worked for me for 12 years and this is first time any Karen has ever had anything negative to say about him. Get over yourself! One last thing to anyone reading this response: If you are reading this and my response upsets or offends I would ask that you please do not book our tour. There are plenty of bike companies out there with guides that are just starting out, with no real experience who are programmed to keep it dry, simple and focus solely on getting you up and down the mountain. Please DO book our tour if you are intelligent, understand sarcasm, like to have a good time and wish to be provided with a 5 Star experience that is original and not a cookie cutter experience with the herd. Sincerely, Billy Campbell Maui Easy Riders 808.344.9489 billy@mauieasyriders.com
star-5
Taking pictures, visiting...
Nicholas_B
, Mar 2022
Taking pictures, visiting the little town, and seeing all of the amazing views. Billy and John were great tour guides!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Bike Ride Downhill
Kim_B
, Mar 2022
This was an awesome adventure!! We questioned the price, but it is well worth it! We felt very safe with the bikes and helmets offered. Great experience!
star-5
Best bike tour ever!!!
Reese_B
, Mar 2022
Billy was the best guide!!! Absolutely book this tour; it’s much safer to have a smaller group that navigates the traffic!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A highlight of our trip to Maui !
Catherine_S
, Mar 2022
We so appreciated the little touches and generosity of this tour! So often, we have felt a little bit gouged by tours and the cost of so many things on Maui. Not on this tour that was very fun and safe. Thank you Billy, John, and Gene . You made this a very special day. We went to Hula Bistro and Ocean Distillery afterward and they were special too. I love this part of the island!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe
Easy Riders Haleakala Downhill Bike Tour: Voted Best Bike Tour in the Universe

star-5192

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$250.00

star-5451

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$258.29

star-582

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$212.35

star-4.5182

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$248.96

star-556

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$350.00

star-4.521

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$160.80

star-5278

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$260.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations