Recent Searches
Clear

Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour

star-3.5301 Reviews
|
Los Angeles, United States
Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 15 minutes to 2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 8 more

Overview

Go sightseeing in Los Angeles at your own pace with a hop-on hop-off tour by double-decker bus. From the glamour of Hollywood to the beaches of the Pacific coast, you can choose where to explore in depth by hopping off the bus. Select either a 1-day or 2-day ticket that covers both the Hollywood Loop and the Beach Loop with onboard commentary along the way.
  • Ideal for first-time visitors
  • Explore Los Angeles with ease by hop-on hop-off bus
  • Listen to audio commentary onboard in 9 languages
  • Covers Hollywood attractions, and Santa Monica and Venice Beach
Saved to wishlist!
Hop-on hop-off bus tour
Recorded commentary
Guided walking tour through the famous TCL Chinese Theatres
Celebrity Homes & Lifestyle Tour (With Deluxe only)
2 Routes - Hollywood Loop and Beach Loop
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.
See itinerary

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wheelchair accessible, please call ahead for arrangements
  • Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.
  • Redeem vouchers at the start of the tour at 6763 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles CA 90028 or at any Big Bus Stop
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • OPERATED BY Big Bus Tours - USA
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
How often does a bus arrive at each stop during the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour?
A:A bus arrives approximately every 45 minutes.
Mar 2021
Q:
Do I have to go to a central location to redeem my ticket for the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour?
A:You can simply show a printed or electronic version of your ticket at any of the stops to board the bus.
Mar 2021
Q:
How will I know which stop(s) to use during the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour?
A:Our live guides and pre-recorded commentary will communicate upcoming stops. You can also download our free App for more information on routes and times, and what to see and do at each stop location.
Mar 2021
Q:
How long is one full circuit of the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour?
A:A full round trip takes approximately 2 hours if you do not get off on any stops.
Mar 2021
Q:
Is the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour wheelchair accessible?
A:Yes, our Los Angeles fleet is wheelchair accessible on the lower level.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring a pet with me on the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour?
A:No pets are allowed onboard the bus, except ADA service animals.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring food or drink with me on the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour?
A:No food or alcohol is permitted onboard the bus. Non-alcoholic drinks in screw-top bottles are permitted.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring luggage on the Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Tour?
A:No, luggage is not permitted onboard the bus at this time.
Mar 2021
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Overall we found it quite an interesting tour but expensive for what you get, would probably choose cheaper public transport next time for main sights visited." See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
301 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 301 reviews
star-3
Not so great if not from US
Rebecca_E
, May 2022
A good overview of LA if you are not there for long. However, there was limited consideration for those who are not from the US, sales team were unable to give me a map and as wifi was limited around LA we were unable to see when buses were due at the stops and what was at each stop until we had arrived.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Rebecca, I am sorry to hear you feel our services aren't good for international travelers. Our route, bus stops, and the live tracking of our vehicles is all in our Big Bus Tours app. Sorry if that wasn't communicated to you. Please feel free to reach out to me at JamieW@bigbustours.com so I can try and make your experience with us better
star-5
Big Bus LA
Tim_H
, May 2022
Great overview of Los Angeles. You should book at the beginning of your trip like we did. Then you can select a Vance you want to go and visit that you saw along the route. Also, I’d recommend downloading a app it will tell you when the bus is approaching the station so you can plan your trip accordingly.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed experience with us! Please be sure to look for Big Bus in the next city you visit
star-3
Music please
Rita_N
, Apr 2022
Interesting ride but always repeating the same stories. If there is nothing to say it is better to put some music. Some stories were told at least 10 times…
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Rita, Thank you for the feedback, we are currently working on revamping our audio commentary in hopes to make it more fun, interactive and up to date. Please reach out to me at jamiew@bigbustours.com the next time you are in Los Angeles so you can hear new stories.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Overall Great Experience But...
Patience_M
, Apr 2022
It was great and got to learn a lot about the story of the major cities such as L.A., Hollywood, Melrose, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and the most popular buildings and museums. The drivers have to be more careful though, especially when they're driving near those trees with long branches. I took one of them right to my face, thank God I had sunglasses on, it would have hit my eyes really badly. I would recommend it to anyone who's visiting and want to have a high overview of these cities.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for the 4 star review and valuable feedback. We hope to see you next time you are in the City of Angels
star-4
Excellent experience, just cut it short
Christian_C
, Mar 2022
Excellent way to get to the Santa Monica Pier from Hollywood and learn the area on the way. Too bad they force you to cut your time short to catch the final bus back. Why can't they run the buses just 2 hours more?
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Christian, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour, and appreciate your feedback. We are currently working towards extending our hours of operation. We hope to see you the next time you are on Los Angeles!
star-1
Scam Bud Service!!!!!
Clark_G
, Mar 2022
One of the worst travel/leisure experiences in years. The place to meet the bus was not listed on Hollywood ON Off site. We waited at address listed for 50 minutes, left. Called Hollywood office next day and they admitted website is bad at not telling people where to go or where the stops are, but they could not issue refunds. We asked for refund on website and even though we never got on bus they refused any kind of refund!’!! Calling BBB and other entities tomorrow. Scam
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Clark, we at Big Bus Tours strive to provide the best guest experience and I deeply apologize that we failed you.. Our website does have a timetable, a list of stops with addresses, and pictures of each stop in hopes our guests have an easy time finding a stop (Los Angeles Hollywood Loop | LA Tour Route | Big Bus Tours) I apologize that this was not the case. I would appreciate it if you would reach out to me directly at jamiew@bigbustours.com so I can better understand where you purchased your tickets from, what stop you were waiting at, and what made our site difficult to navigate. This will allow us to look into these issues and ensure that every team member does their part to fulfill our commitment to a great guest experience. I hope to hear from you soon.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Terrible experience
Shaunda_L
, Feb 2022
This was a terrible purchase. The site is difficult to navigate and both the stops and frequency are difficult to find. Difficulty in finding where to pick up the bus and no contact in customer service. I do not recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
We at Big Bus Tours strive to provide the best guest experience and I deeply apologize this was not the case for you. It sounds like you were not able to experience our tour because you could not find where our buses picked up? Our phone number is listed on google, I apologize that it was not easy to find. I would appreciate it if you would reach out to me directly at jamiew@bigbustours.com so I can better understand the specifics of your situation and where you purchased your tickets from. This will allow us to look into these issues and ensure that every team member does their part to fulfill our commitment to a great guest experience. I hope to hear from you soon.
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Family Vacation in California
Rachel_R
, Nov 2021
Loved the whole experience! My grandchildren loved seeing the Hollywood Sign, taking pictures on the Walk of Fame with their favorite artists and movie stars. The Santa Monica pier was amazing! Watching the sunset against the mountains and ocean was so magnificent. It was one of the most extraordinary experience we ever had! Great tour!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the tour and your family vacation in California. We hope you come back and visit us soon!
star-1
Disappointed
Lori_C
, Sep 2021
Customer service is horrible. Didn’t end up taking this bus because I couldn’t get anyone to tell me where I could catch the bus. I was told to wait in front of the Dolby Theatre by their customer service and did so for over 30 minutes only to learn the bus does NOT stop there. Still not sure if I’m getting a refund even though was told I would. Texting customer service through the app I got disconnected 3 times conveniently during discussions regarding refund. Do NOT purchase tickets through app!! Buy in person whatever tour you use!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi Lori, I am so sorry to hear you were unable to get on a bus and for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Our Hollywood Loop does pick up in front of the Dolby theater (our stop 2) every 45 minutes from 10am-4pm. Feel free to reach out to me directly at jamiew@bigbustours.com if you have any other feedback that will allow us to improve the overall customer experience.
star-1
Bad
Rovilyn_C
, Aug 2021
Didn’t like it I wish they will stop for 15 min so we can take picture, didn’t expect it that way waiting is bad.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Rovilyn, I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy the tour. As a hop on hop off business, we allow our guests the opportunity to hop on and off any of our designated stops, which allows them to take as much time as they would like at any given location, and then get back on the next bus when they are ready to continue on the tour. I apologize if you were given the impression that the bus would wait at each stop. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at jamiew@bigbustours.com if you have any other feedback that will allow us to improve the overall customer experience.
star-4
A very nice big box store
Stan_Z
, Jul 2021
Very nice experience on this big bus. We do it in all the big cities it’s a easy way to get around and then to get a quick tour for a relatively inexpensive price. Automated trip guide was quite good and interesting. Not as long the route as most cities but definitely was about an hour and a half round-trip with numerousLocations of interest to get off at.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Stan, thank you for being a repeat Big Bus Tours customer. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Los Angeles and we look forward to seeing you in the next city!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Don’t waste your time.
Ruth_M
, Jul 2021
Not a live tour just pre recorded. Narration did not match up with the sights due to traffic. Recording would stop mid sentence and jump to next attraction. Have always liked big bus tour. Will not use again.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Ruth, thank you for choosing Big Bus Tours Los Angeles and for being a returning Big Bus Tours rider. I deeply apologize that your experience with us was sub-par and hope that you will give us another chance to make it up to you. Please reach out to us at infoLA@bigbustours.com so we can further discuss your experience.
star-5
Homes of the stars
Gary_E
, Jun 2021
Driver had a great sense of humor and was very knowledgeable. Great historical perspective of Los Angeles.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your positive review. We do feel we offer the best way to see a bit of the celebrity lifestyle
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Better view...
Carmelita_B
, Apr 2021
After driving around in a rental car I quickly became depressed with the homelessness and filthy roadways, so we decided to purchase a tour to get a better view of LA. The flexibility of the hop on hop off option was just what my family needed. So whenever we got tired of walking, we got on the bus. The on-site representative (Jamie...I believe) was very helpful. I would recommend updating the recorded tour to reflect the building structure updates and try to include new artist/ actors information for the younger generation.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi Carm, I am glad you enjoyed your tour and thanks for your input. Also, we all think Jamie is kind of great ourselves!!
star-1
Boring, little facts, misaligned, not recommended
Joshua_M
, Mar 2021
We we t got the last tour of the day, I’ve been on many Big Bus tours all over the US, they are always awesome, except this one. It was boring, not because of the city, the guy didn’t give headphones, I had to seek them out, the ear jack didn't work 1/3 of the time, they messed up the channel for their non live tour that was always misaligned with the actual building it was talking about by about 3 min so you couldn’t see what they were talking about. It was a prerecorded tour. They didn’t seem to care at all. The facts were outdated and gave very little interesting facts as it was. I do not recommend this tour at all.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi Joshua, first off thank you for using Big Bus in the many cities in which you travel and thank you for trying Big Bus here in Los Angeles. We do strive to always supply a great guest experience and as difficult as it is to hear, it is very important to know when we do miss the mark. I would appreciate it if you would reach out to us at InfoLA @bigbustours.com so we can better understand the specifics of your situation (day you traveled, where you got on the vehicle, etc..). This will allow us to look into these issues and ensure that every team member does their part to fulfill our commitment to a great guest experience.
star-2
Disappointed and a waste of our time and money
graziella_p
, Oct 2019
We were disappointed by this tour . The buses ran every 30 minutes and were not scheduled to accommodate the transfer between the red and blue loop . At the transfer point there were 3 beach loop buses idle while no Hollywood tour bus available. We were not able to get off and visit any stops because of the time constraints since the last bus back to the beach was at 3 pm .
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
LA bus tour
Suzie54321
, Sep 2019
Many of the stops for this bus tour were not clearly signposted so difficult to find, waiting times for buses were sometimes long, more interesting information about popular landmarks could be improved and later times for last buses would be better. Overall we found it quite an interesting tour but expensive for what you get, would probably choose cheaper public transport next time for main sights visited.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Hit or miss
Brent_F
, Aug 2019
The route is stock standard for all companies. Audio is provided through head phones, with personal narration or recorded option (provided in several languages). The narration was disappointing with several guides. Rudd was a breath of fresh air though as he gave clock number directions with sights, insightful guidance and was really cheerful (thanks Rudd). Sound quality on the provided headset was 3/10 Wear sunscreen and a hat in the top of the bus and be ready for heat stroke if seated on the bottom deck. Air conditioning is not adequate, contributing to nausea (one child vomited). I’d recommend spending a few more bucks and going with a higher rated company.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Las Vegas per Bus
Ulrich_T
, Aug 2019
Interessant und aufschlussreich. Alle Busbegleiter waren freundlich und informierten über viele Details.
star-2
Déçu du circuit et des horaires !
Nelly_AJAX
, Aug 2019
Nous avons du prendre un bus tour concurrent pour rentrer à notre hotel à Venice. Le dernier bus étant à 15h!,!,! Aussi cher pour une tranche horaire de 1O à 15h en été ! . C est n'importe quoi. Si nous avions été mieux conseillé par votre site nous aurions choisi l autre prestaire, 3 circuits + shuttles vers hôtels.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour
Big Bus Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Open-Top Tour

star-3.5300

75 to 120 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$46.79

star-3.5850

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-4.5868

40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.00

star-4.5817

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-5141

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.00

star-5403

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations