Recent Searches

Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond

star-4.562 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Kyoto, Japan
 Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond

From $120.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 5 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Get an insiders' eye perspective on Kyoto on this walking tour that combines a food tour with anthropological insight. Wander through the city's streets and understand the nighttime entertainment scene, from geiko (geisha) to hostesses. Afterward, sample regional specialties accompanied by included drinks at standing bars/restaurants.
  • Get insight into the nighttime economies of Kyoto, from traditional geisha to modern-day hostesses
  • Sample regional specialties at locals' bars/restaurants
  • Get an even deeper insight into the city's culture from your guide
  • Includes two alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverages
Saved to wishlist!
Two Alcoholic or Non-Alcoholic Beverages (one in each restaurant)
Alcoholic Beverages
Drinks beyond the two included. Additional drinks can be purchased directly from the restaurants if you wish.
Gion-Shijo Station , Kawabatacho, Higashiyama Ward, Kyoto, 605-0076, Japan

Departure Point: Exit 5 (at street level) of Gion Shijo Station. This is the NW corner of the intersection, which is on the river side. There is a statue of a geisha here too.

6:30 PM
Kyoto-Kawaramachi Station , Japan, 〒600-8001 Kyoto, Shimogyo Ward, Otabichō, 河原町西入真町52
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 4 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The minimum drinking age in Japan is 20 years old.
  • Tours limited to 6, but groups up to 8 are welcome in cases where the entire group is the same reservation.
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Vegetarians happily accommodated.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Gratuities are uncommon in Japan, however if you really enjoyed your time and want to show your guide how much you appreciate them, they’ll be extremely happy!
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Pinpoint Traveler, Inc
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond.
What is the policy on sanitization during Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


62 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews
Worth it!
, Mar 2022
Mardi was a great guide! She is a native English speaker and was able to answer all of our questions and much more! The food was great. We tried lots of things we never would have known to order on our own.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Rachel_J, thanks for taking the time to leave us this flattering review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the evening.
Really engaging and informative tour with some great food!
, Dec 2020
Wonderful Night time tour through the streets of Kyoto that was equal parts informative and funny. So many great historical, cultural, religious and political insights accompanied with some excellent food stops! Definitely worth booking, particularly if it is your first time in Kyoto like it was ours
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Ben, you two were such great fun, and to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much makes me even happier! We do strive for that perfect balance of information, cultural exploration, and deliciously different food and drink (without being too crazy!). Thanks for your review, and the glowing recommendation!
, Mar 2020
Our guide was very good with lots of information on areas.However we had this tour canceled because the company said they could not get produce ? So it was booked and canceled in one day .We agreed to go the next night and we were sent an email to say we would both be given an extra drink .Very awkward as we in a group of other travelers.Our poor guide had not been communicated with this by company and at the end when we asked for it he rang the company who ssid yes if we went back to other dinner venue Disappointed and feel we should be given a credit from company .Not a nice way to end the night.We also felt for the price there should have been more food. Not our guides fault at all .We would have to question the company cancellation in the first place as we find it hard to believe Gion area had run out of food ! Still waiting to hear bout our drink refund .Disappointing
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
We are all sorry to hear your experience did not go as well as hoped. We are constantly looking at ways to improve, so with that in mind, I would like to address each point you raised. First of all, on the plus side, I am happy to hear that you felt the guide to be a very good one, with lots of information. As for the problems, we asked you if you could switch your tour to one day later than your originally requested day. This had nothing to do with "produce". I believe you were told we did not have a supplier in place which, admittedly, was a confusing word for our admin staff to use with you. There was no shortage of food in Gion; this was all simply a miscommunication. Looking back, the person you spoke to should have more clearly and simply stated that we did not have a guide for you. We have since had a discussion with that person about this incident. (The guide that was scheduled was not feeling well, and in these times, erring on the side of caution seemed best.) Incidentally, it should be noted that you reserved your tour with us mere hours before it was to begin, which is why it was hard to find someone else. We did try our best though. At any rate, you graciously accepted the revised departure date (which was for the following day), and we told you we'd buy you each a drink in appreciation. The offer was for an extra drink during the tour, not, as you later requested while on tour, a private extension of the tour during which you would be taken to a new bar for a drink. I am sorry if you felt it would have been awkward to enjoy that second drink at one of the venues while on the tour proper, but in our experience, there is plenty of time at each venue to have two drinks, and in fact it is not unusual for our guests to order an additional drink on their own while at a given stop. As for giving you a credit, the guide does not recall having a discussion with you about that. If you wanted a credit for the value of the drink, you were welcome to contact us about that. You did not purchase the tour through our website, and we cannot give partial credits via the supplier you used, but if that topic came up during the end of night discussion and phone call, we would have most certainly authorized the guide to just give you the equivalent amount in cash. Finally, we've had a word with the guide about there not being enough food served. It is unusual for us to hear this, but it is a completely fair criticism on your part. You should not leave a food tour feeling there wasn't enough food. The guide should have asked if everyone had enough food, and then ordered more if the answer wasn't a solid yes. We generally get excellent reviews for this tour, and I am being completely genuine when I speak of the sadness we feel due to the way your extra drink was handled (or, not handled). It gives me some solace to know that you enjoyed the tour for the most part, but believe me when I say we are deeply sorry for the part that went awry.
What a fantastic experience
, Jan 2020
What a fantastic experience! We did the walking tour on New Year's Eve and it set us up for the best New Year's Eve celebration ever. Our guide showed us some of the hidden treasures of Gion, and introduced us to the more quirky area within Gion, where the izakaya's are cheaper and more local's attend. Had we not gone on the tour, we would have never known about this particular area, which ended up being a highlight of our holiday and the cause of some very sore heads the next day!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi Judith, What a fantastic story -- at least until the hangover part! We're so happy we were able to be part of your New Year's Eve, and even better, such a memorable event of your trip. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it.
Great small group tour
, Dec 2019
I really enjoyed the night foodie tour. It was a great way to see the city and some temples and try food at restaurants I’d never ventured to on my own. The food was delicious and the temple tour was cool too. I felt like I learned so much more about Japan than I expected to on this tour. Mardi, our tour guide, was lovely. She has such a knowledge of the country and area and her Japanese is so impressive! She also gave me tips on other night illuminations I should visit while in Kyoto. I would highly recommend this tour! Ask for Mardi!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Kim, Thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear that it was a such a nice night for you. Learning, exploring, and eating are treated with equal care on our night out, and I'm glad this combination was pleasing to you. Mardi will the thrilled to hear the kind praise you have given her!
, Nov 2019
Thoroughly underwhelmed with this tour and the tour guide. The food and locations we stopped were very good, but the guide’s style was a little abrasive and we were very anxious for the tour to end. It was a strange experience to have a guide who led with sarcasm and disparaging remarks about a lot of what she showed us, including a few odd comments about us being midwesterners. This was especially strange considering she was from Texas. Save your money. It’s definitely better spent elsewhere.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Dear Travel Volumes, Unfortunately, I think this was the case of a connection just not being made. Mardi has thrilled hundreds of guests with her style (which, I would venture to say is more observational humor than sarcasm or disparaging remarks), and she has a warm heart. This does not mean that what you say is irrelevant by any means. She should have been more perceptive and considerate. As for her joke about potato salad and Midwesterners, the joke is that Japanese like potato salad quite a bit, and are a little tickled by the idea of serving it to Westerners. Obviously, she did not handle that nuance very well. Please rest assured that Mardi and I have chatted about being more conscientious and how to more astutely handle situations. We appreciate you having chosen us in Kyoto, and apologize for the disappointment.
Fun & worthwhile
, Oct 2019
Andres was a thoughtful and erudite host. He gave us meaningful context on Kyoto history, and showed us some fun local color, vibes, and food. Recommended!
A trip in to the night life
, Oct 2019
A warm and intermittently wet evening took nothing away from the interesting tour Maddy took us on through the back streets of historical Tokyo. It is amazing what is hidden in these seemingly innocuous little streets right next to the front line commercial area. Maddy was a knowledgeable and fun person to have as the guide. We were also able to try some new food we would not normally have selected. Highly recommended if you are in Kyoto.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi! Thanks for the flattering review of our Kyoto night tour! Mardi's got all kinds of knowledge about the history and culture up her sleeve, and she's got a great pulse on good food too :) We appreciate you taking the time to write this resounding endorsement!
Small group and deljghtful and knowledgeable guide
, Oct 2019
Mardi is a charming and intelligent guide who showed the six in our group passageways off the beaten track and gave the right amount of historical detail and cultural insights about the more usual locations. The two restaurants contrasted each other and the variety of small plates which we shared were different than the standard dishes one would generally order. Overall a terrific treat.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
We strive to provide a nice balance of history, culture, and of course yummy food, all with six guests or less. This keeps our group nimble and friendly, and we are thoroughly smitten with your flattering recognition of all this! Thank you so much for the kind words, and for taking the time to write them. Mardi, myself, and the rest of the team, hope to see you again in Kyoto, or one of the other cities we operate in here in Japan.
Food, history walk, drinks and food
, Jul 2019
It was an exiting food experience. We got to try different kind of food and some japaneese sweets. The tour startede with a nice walk in the festival aera with Kyoto history. We also got information about what we could experience in both Kyoto and Osaka. Mardi was our guide and did a great job. The time frame was good. We think it was a bit expencive compared to the prices in the bars/taverns. Thank you Mardi!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Hi etenga, Thanks for the nice and descriptive review! Glad to hear you enjoyed both the historical/cultural elements and the food as well. May your future travels be equally rewarding!
Excellent introduction to Japanese food
, Jul 2019
Our tour guide Mardi took us around a heap of back streets and alleyways that we would have got totally lost in. She had good knowledge of the area and the history and was able to explain the different types of foods to us and order food that would suit our tastes.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Hi Carole, Thank you for the nice review! I'm glad to hear that Mardi was a good navigator for you guys, both inside and outside of the restaurants we love to take our guests to.
A Must in Kyoto!
, Apr 2019
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this tour! Between the expertise of our tour guide Niko, the food, and the atmosphere-this was the highlight of my trip to Kyoto.
My worst nightmare
, Apr 2019
This was my worst nightmare. Operators give the wrong cell phone number of the guide twice. Wrong direction. I spent 2 hours walking to look for the guide and call and wrong contact numbers. I was lost and freezing and starving in the cold until I got a taxi I contact the company owner but he argued that I called him right before the tour, but I had been trying to call the guide's phone number which he provided for hours prior to my arrival to the airport a day ahead and that cellphone number just didn't work, which Kevin later on admitted that it was a wrong number. Kevin speaks perfect English, there is no reason why he could not communicate to me a correct working phone number of the tour guide. I am not mad because I miss out on the tour, I am mad about the poor communication and that wrong phone numbers were provided twice and when I couldn't get the 2nd wrong guide's phone number to work, I called Kevin again when I was walking in the cold because the address of the first restaurant address on GPS is pointing me to a garbage dumpster in the dark, I tried to call Kevin again and he will not picked up the phone. And I can't reach the tour guide because I had a wrong non working cell phone number I would have taken full responsibility for my delay in my arrival if I can at least talk to the tour guide with a correct working phone number
Charming night on the town
Carlos P
, Jan 2019
An in depth and knowledgeable tour interspersed with a sumptuous array of culinary treats, our guide made a decided effort to both modernise ancient folk tales and delicately address modern cultural trends to appeal to our four-part band. She also ensured that the food appealed to our dietary and preferred needs whilst still urging us to attempt new and sometimes obscure meals which was exciting and great fun. Sadly we have forgotten her name, as we could not recommend her enough. But in her five years in Kyoto she has adopted a wealth of knowledge. On a nippy winter’s night, seeing her fluffy grey sleeves, beany adorning brown hair and a tentative smile weaving through the crowds was a reassuring and captivating experience. Would thoroughly recommend to any strangers to Kyoto looking for a light, but informed taster of what the city’s culture and food has to offer.
Fun and informative, and yummy
, Dec 2018
Great insight to the local culture, and a good short history lesson of some of the more popular parts of Kyoto. Also loved the various restaurants we stopped in, truly felt like a local.
Walking through the Gion
, Jun 2018
This was a wonderful walking tour through the Gion area. Kevin provided a great narration of the area.
If you're planning a trip to Kyoto...
Rory D
, Jun 2018
If you're planning a trip to Kyoto, you should absolutely do this tour. It's worth every yen. You will get to sample a wide variety of delicious and interesting cuisine, and just as importantly, you learn a lot about the culture and history of the city, and things that outsiders don't necessarily know about, like shot bars vs. girl bars. Kevin is knowledgable and funny. He also does a tour in Osaka that is equally fantastic.He wants you to try new foods, but he was always willing to accommodate people if they had any dietary restrictions or preferences. I really appreciate his help as I try to push myself to be more adventurous. I can't recommend the tour highly enough.
The guide was hard to find because...
jamie s
, Jun 2018
The guide was hard to find because she didn't have a sign. My mom and I looked around for a group of people and/or a guide holding a sign saying something in regards to the tour. She was sweet however very reserved and quiet. My mom and I could barely hear what she was saying and it was only the 2 of us. It was pretty disappointing. We only had 2 nights in Kyoto and had really looked forward to this.
This was such a fun tour. Kevin our...
Brooke T
, Jun 2018
This was such a fun tour. Kevin our tour guide provided us with info on the nightlife in Kyoto while we strolled through the Gion area. After the brief fun history lesson we hit some local eats. Great food at authentic, non touristy bars and cafes. Lots of fun. Very informative. Highly recommend.
Best and awesome. A very good guide...
, Apr 2018
Best and awesome. A very good guide on real local hangouts and food. My personal advice, please turn on your adventure mode if you are not asian. You will love the food in the places he brings you to.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond
Nighttime All-Inclusive Local Eats and Streets, Gion and Beyond


3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations