Recent Searches
Clear

The Isle of Skye & Eilean Donan Castle from Inverness

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Highland Council, United Kingdom
The Isle of Skye & Eilean Donan Castle from Inverness
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon12 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Take a break from the city on a full-day trip through the Isle of Skye with convenient round-trip transport from central Inverness. In addition to navigating, your guide offers commentary about the area’s top landmarks, including Eilean Donan Castle, Portree, and the Old Man of Storr. Bring your camera: This trip offers endless panoramic views of Scotland’s natural landscape.
  • Round-trip transport from Inverness to Skye
  • Go with a guide: Avoid the hassle of driving
  • Learn about Skye’s history and landmarks
  • Enjoy sweeping views of the natural landscape
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Food and drinks
Attraction Tickets
Gratuities
Bus Station, Farraline Park, Inverness , Inverness IV1 1LT, UK

Stance 6, Inverness Bus Station

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Timberbush Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you are an outdoors person, this trip is definitely for you." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
396 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 396 reviews
star-4
Beautiful scenery
Tonya_R
, Jun 2022
It was a long day but we had fun. The scenery was gorgeous and our driver entertained us with stories and information.
star-5
Must see
Weston_S
, Jun 2022
Luke was a great guide. He was funny and informative. Skye is amazing, breathtaking scenery. It’s a long day but it is worth it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you had such a good time on the Isle of Skye and Eilean Donan Castle - there is some brilliant scenery up there. I hope it was made even better by having Luke as your funny and informative guide. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon. All the best, David
star-5
Amazing guides
Rita_S
, Jun 2022
The guides Gillean and Vlad were really welcoming and nice, always ready to help us, suggesting places to see and to go during breaks. Gillean knows how to cativate a person with her explanations. Everything was well organized. We were just sorry that we couldn't see Invermoriston, for some reason and that we weren't able to snitch the Strome Castle through the vegetation.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you had such a nice time on tour with Gillian and Vlad and they were super nice, welcoming and full of suggestions. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-5
Enjoyable trip
Tina_S
, Jun 2022
Guide was knowledgeable and engaging. Even though the stops were quick there was plenty of time for photos and exploring. The bus was a bit cramped but not entirely uncomfortable.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour and that your guide was knowledgeable and engaging. Some of the stops are a wee bit quicker, just to ensure we keep on time and reach the attraction on time as well. Thank you for your feedback about the coach as well, I'm sorry to hear you found it a wee bit cramped but I'm glad it didn't spoil your time. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-4
Nice tour. Needed more...
John_H
, Jun 2022
Nice tour. Needed more time in Portree. I would have rather been late returning to Inverness in order to have had more time to eat and explore Portree. Or suggest that travelers bring a box lunch so the don’t have to stand in queue in a restaurant.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear that you found the tour nice. We do need to be careful with the timings on our tour as we need to make sure it remains comfortable for both you and the drivers. We do actually recommend bringing a packed lunch on our website as places can get busier, especially now going into summer. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
The tour guide was excellent.but...suggest less coffee/pee breaks..more sights. All disappointed in lunch 😒
Catherine_L
, Jun 2022
I found i was disappointed in the community/town we stopped in for lunch. If this company KNOWS that very few lunch options r open in this community...then another community should be chosen ....it got silly racing from the 4 suggested...and only open places to get a "lunch" ..and then having only cake and bag of potato chips as a choice
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm really glad you found the driver-guide excellent, but I'm afraid in order to keep the tour comfortable for you, and give the drivers their required breaks, we have to have a certain amount of stops. We also always recommend to bring along a packed lunch on tour as we cannot guarantee how busy the food places will be at our stops or, like you've said, they have no food left. All the best, David
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Worth the money
Rebecca_S
, Jun 2022
Great experience and wonderful guide. We were able to check off a lot our bucket list places on this one trip.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear you were able to tick some places off your bucket list - that's a brilliant tour with some great scenery on it! Hopefully we will see you again soon to tick off some more places. All the best, David
star-3
Do a Mini Bus Instead
Christy_C
, Jun 2022
Tour is on a big bus and while it was fine there were plenty of stops other busses could do that we couldn't due to parking and roads (hairy coos). Big buses really shouldn't go to Skye. Do yourself a favor and only book a mini bus tour at most.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for leaving your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the tour should've been operated on a smaller bus. At the moment, we are approaching peak season which means we do have to use our larger buses for the really popular tours like this one. However, in quieter times, we do usually use a smaller coach so maybe this would be more suited for you going forward. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
star-4
Pleasant trip to the Isle of Skye
Radha_S
, Jun 2022
I had a pleasant experience on the Isle of Skye and Eilean Donan Castle from Inverness tour. Our tour guide Malcolm shared interesting historical information about the spots we visited, and Luke was great too! Malcolm was very accommodating and gave us every possible opportunity to click pictures of the stunning views throughout the 12-hour tour. I only wish the trip included the climb to the Old Man of Storr, rather than only a glimpse from afar. But overall, I would recommend this tour for those who don't mind a long, day trip to the Isle of Skye.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad that you had a nice time on the 1 day Isle of Skye tour from Inverness. It's fab that Malcolm and Luke were great, and that Malcolm made sure you had plenty of opportunities to get some great pictures - make sure you share them with us, we'd love to see! Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
star-5
Incredible trip! Our...
Julie_S
, Jun 2022
Incredible trip! Our guide Alex was fantastically informative & couldn't do enough for us. He made it even more special as he was raised on the Isle of Skye :-)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, Julie. Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear you had an incredible time on the 1 day Isle of Skye and Eilean Donan tour. It's always fab being able to hear from a local and hear all their stories, so even better when one is your driver-guide! Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
star-3
The ride was nice and we...
Francisco_R
, Jun 2022
The ride was nice and we got to see much of the beautiful landscapes. The bus stops at many viewpoints for people to get down and take pictures. Overall, the activity was nice because the landscapes are nice and the bus takes you there. But don't expect to get any information from the driver/guide. First of all, there's no guide, it's just the driver. The driver isn't a tourist guide, and he just says "we arrived at ... and will stop here for ... minutes". So there aren't any explanations about what to see, the history, etc. Each stop also feels a bit rushed. Depending on the stop, they give you somewhere between 5 and 15 minutes to get down and take pictures. This means that you have to get off the bus, find out where to go (the driver doesn't specify where are the viewponts so people just start walking randomly towards one side), take some pictures, and come back. Sometimes this is a bit rushed, specially if you don't know what to expect at each location, and specially with so many people posing and taking pictures at the same time. In our case, there were two buses fully booked, both stopping in the same places. In summary, you can do the same trip by yourself if you just rent a car and drive it around. That said, I would still recommend booking the activity because the ride is quite long (12 hours), even though it fell below my expectations.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the ride and were able to see plenty of beautiful landscapes! I'm sorry that you felt like the driver-guide didn't offer much information as this isn't what we normally would expect. They are usually full of commentary and stories about where you are heading and the things you can see. I'm also sorry to hear you felt rushed on tour, we wouldn't want this to happen but we do need to ensure we reach everywhere on time and don't arrive back late. We do think it's a great alternative if you don't want to drive and don't want to have to deal with the stress of planning a journey. I do hope you were still able to enjoy your time on tour. All the best, David
star-4
Surprise hairy coo
Kelly_S
, May 2022
Stopping for the hairy coo and breathtaking Scotland views was great and unexpected. The Scottish music and historical facts and tidbits were interesting too. Malcolm and driver Alex were great.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, Kelly. Thank you for your review! A surprise hairy coo is the best kind, I'm glad and jealous you got to see them! It's great that Malcolm and Alex were great on tour and that the tour was full of Scottish music and historical facts. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! Best wishes, David
star-5
Stunning scenery, Gaelic speaking guide
Katherine_D
, May 2022
The best thing about this tour was being able to soak in the scenery of this beautiful place for an entire day! Our tour guides, Kyle and Luke, had plenty of information, background stories, music and jokes to share. Kyle is an experienced driver (which really helped since I’m prone to travel sickness) and had extensive knowledge of the history and language of places we visited. We especially liked hearing him speak Gaelic and explaining what the names of places meant. We made plenty of stops to breathe in the fresh air, walk around and take pictures.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Skye is really beautiful, so I'm glad you enjoyed it with Kyle and Luke! It's great to hear that Kyle was a great driver which helped with your travel sickness and that they were full of knowledge about where you're visiting! You'll have to start Gaelic lessons so you can learn what even more Scottish place names mean. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon as well to show you even more of Scotland! Best wishes, David
star-4
Great!
Amy_M
, May 2022
Great tour guide!! Very informative and educational. Great tour if you like getting out a lot to take photos outside of the bus although after a long day can be tiring. Was not aware the price included the bus and to the castle but not actually to get in the castle itself.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Amy. Thank you for your review! We do keep the prices of the optional extras out of the main price of our tour to keep it fair for those who may not want to take part in those activities. I'm really glad to hear that you had a great driver-guide and that they were really informative and educations. I hope you got some brilliant photos and hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! Best wishes, David
star-5
Nice
Harsh_K
, May 2022
Very good trip. Saw lots of nice places along the route. Our guide and driver Ryan was excellent . Luke. With him also very good
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you had a great time on tour with Ryan and Luke and were able to see plenty of lovely places. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon to show you even more of Scotland! Best wishes, David
star-5
Very good day trip.
Marco_T
, May 2022
Great experience, great guide and very good organization. Enjoyed it very much and I'd definitely recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, Marco. Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you found the experience, the driver-guide, and our company to all be great, and that you would recommend us! Hopefully we will see you again some day. All the best, David
star-5
Wet but Worth It!
Larry_K
, May 2022
Marita, our tour guide, was super nice and funny. She made the experience extremely pleasant even though the weather didn't cooperate to give us the best views. The weather did allow us to see some amazing waterfalls, as the rain was rather consistent all day. Even with the rain is was a beautiful experience and one I would recommend to anyone!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that you weren't so lucky with the weather on your tour, but I always think when it's rainy it just adds to that authentic Scottish experience. I'm glad that you found Marita to be a super nice and funny driver-guide and that she made sure you still had a great day despite the weather. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon! Best wishes, David
star-5
Photography opportunities
Lyric_K
, May 2022
I loved the photo opportunities, just make sure you bring something to wipe the lens with to dry off the rain when you get back to the bus.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Bringing something to wipe a camera lens is great advice, we all know what the Scottish weather can be like! Best wishes, David
star-5
Touch the Skye
lucia_b
, May 2022
Everything was great. The waterfall and the Old Man of Store are astounding! Our guide Marita was super
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Lucia. Skye is beautiful, I'm so glad you enjoyed it on tour with Marita as your driver-guide. I hope you got some brilliant photos of the impressive landmarks there and hopefully we will see you on another tour soon to show you even more of Scotland. Best wishes, David
star-5
High in the Skye and in my ratings!
Nicole_B
, May 2022
Ryan my tour guide had loads of funny stories, retains alot of historical knowledge. The bus was comfy and the places are amazing. Excellent value! Amazing day out. Recommend this tour highly.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Nicole. Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that Ryan had plenty of funny stories and historical knowledge as well. The comfort of our passengers is super important to us, so it's brilliant that you felt the coach was comfy. We really do try and provide a tour that is great value for money, so thank you for that. Hopefully we will see you on another soon! Best wishes, David

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
The Isle of Skye & Eilean Donan Castle from Inverness
Likely to Sell Out
The Isle of Skye & Eilean Donan Castle from Inverness

star-5396

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.19

star-5290

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.19

star-5631

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$106.16

star-552

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.70

star-56

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$144.88

star-4.554

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.20

star-4.5352

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.93

star-4.531

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.67
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations