Recent Searches
Clear

Houston's Official Hop on tour

|
Houston, United States
Houston's Official Hop on tour
48

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 20 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

See the historical highlights and cultural delights of Houston on this 75-minute loop, hop-on sightseeing tour.  Enjoy unobstructed views and listen to fascinating audio commentary as you cruise past important landmarks like the historic City Hall and Houston Zoo. See popular attractions like Market Square, Downtown Aquarium and the Museum of Fine Arts Houston, hopping off to explore further whenever an attraction captures your attention. Rejoin the tour at a time to suit your schedule at any conveniently located stops along the route.
  • Hop-on sightseeing tour of Houston
  • Enjoy great views of Houston from the open-top, double-decker bus
  • See the historic downtown, Market Square Park, Hermann Park, Chase Tower and more
  • Hop off the bus to visit the lively Museum District, Theater District or Houston Heritage Society
  • Take the family to see a variety of critters at the Houston Zoo or Downtown Aquarium
  • Learn about Houston’s history and sights from live commentary by an onboard guide
Saved to wishlist!
Second day FREE
Professional guide
Map and orientation
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
Climb aboard a distinctive double-decker bus at the cowboy-themed Houston City Tours Visitor Center.  Pop in your headphones and listen to informative onboard commentary as you cruise through the vibrant Texan city, passing iconic landmarks like the Chase Tower and the Convention Center. 

Disembark the bus whenever you wish to explore an attraction further. Hop off near Market Square Park to sample a cosmopolitan variety of food in the historical 19th-century square; or, ascend to the vertiginous observation deck of the JP Morgan Chase Tower to enjoy sweeping vistas from Texas’ highest building. 

Stop at City Hall to admire the tranquil park and historical structures that surround it, or absorb the electric atmosphere of the theater district as you explore the thriving 17-block area. Cross Hermann Park to visit Houston Zoo and the erudite Houston Museum of Natural Science and the Museum of Fine Arts. 

Buses depart from each of the six stops every 75 minutes and run between 10am and 4pm. Please see the Itinerary section below for a full list of stops serviced.
Itinerary
Duration: 
1 hour 20 minutes
Operating Schedule:
  Departure from Visitors Center at 10:00am - 11:30am - or 1:00pm 7 Days a week. The tour bus makes stops and passengers have the option to hop off for a few minutes explore and take pictures & hop on back to continue with your tour experience.
1302 Dallas St
Visitor Center located behind Four Seasons Hotel at Convention Center area.
George R. Brown Convention Center
Corner of Walker and Avenida Houston in front of Convention Center.
Minute Maid Park
Outside Main building ( former Union station )
Market Street
Corner of Travis street and Congress Street at Market Square.
Downtown Aquarium
Main access at Aquarium Fountain
Theater District
1100 Bagby street ay Heritage Society building
Midtown
Bagby park at Midtown ( Grey street & Bagby street )
Points of interest passed by on this route
Sam Houston Park
 
Discovery Green
 
George R. Brown Convention Center
 
Minute Maid Park
 
Downtown Historic District Market Square
 
Downtown Aquarium
 
MATCH - Midtown Arts & Theater Center Houston
 
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • OPERATED BY Houston City Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Houston's Official Hop on tour?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Houston's Official Hop on tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Houston's Official Hop on tour?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Houston's Official Hop on tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

3.0
star-3
93 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 93 reviews
star-2
Not worth the money
Timothy_U
, Jul 2021
Not too impressed. Not much knowledge from guide, and recorded tour for the most part - 2 five minute stops. Not worth the money.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A must do if you are in Houston
Rodrigo
, Jul 2021
We got rain! But still it was at the very end of the City Tour. They tour guide was very kind and all the staff at Dallas St. office very, very kind.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A Must Take Tour!
Wanda_B
, Jun 2021
Ryan was an outstanding Tour Guide! He was very knowledgeable and friendly! I took many photos and can truly say "I Love Houston!" It was an excellent tour and experience!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great quick(75m)overview
Tricia_D
, Jun 2021
Our tour guide was great, it was the perfect amount of time-great overview of the city history. Didn’t really hop off much, but that did not take away from the tour in my opinion.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Not true hop on and off
Natasha_S
, May 2021
The site stated hop off and hop On. We did not stop once just to take at least one photo. The history explained was great. They did both in English as well as in Spanish so that was awesome. But I would’ve like to take at least one photo.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you so much for the opportunity to serve you, a soonest everything reopen , we will start with a hop off option again. Was great serving you!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Pricey
Sassy
, Apr 2021
Good tour. Guide was informative and personable. Felt tour could be longer for price. Enjoyed the letting group off bus
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you so much for your message, was great to see that you had lots of fun! We look forward to serve you again. We are now, offering the second day free.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Not worth the money
Julie_J
, Apr 2021
I have traveled quite a bit and taken several Hop-On Hop-Off tours. This is the first time I have ever been on one that didn't have an option to sit on the lower level. It wasn't horribly hot outside, but when it starts getting hotter, that is going to be one miserable tour. This is also the first time I've been on one that doesn't run all day. I knew it wouldn't be leaving from the HQ after 1pm, but I thought there would be busses running to the other destinations to pick people up. Therefore, our tour was just a hop-on-only experience, yet I still had to pay full price. If people can't do the full Hop-On Hop-Off experience, then it should be offered at a lower price. I'm used to receiving disposable ear buds to make it easier to hear the tour. This tour was only done over speaker, which made it difficult to hear since we were all sitting on top and had surrounding wind and car noises. I normally love these tours, but this one honestly sucked.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you so much for your message, yes we do offer hop off option . In this case you reserved on the last loop of the day. For this we offer the second day for free . Due covid situation We only offer morning tour options at 10:am - 11:30am and 1:00pm and you where informed in advance at time of booking. We hope to get the opportinity to serve you again. Safety and health is our number one priority.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing
Daiuna_L
, Mar 2021
Everything. I loved everything especially the graffiti art work , I loved learning about the history & about all the things this city has to offer.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing 🤩
PATRICIA_A
, Mar 2021
My Family had Amazing experience 🤩🤩🤩... we feel very comfortable.. we re warmly welcome .was a very interesting tour...Now i know much more about Houston .thanks again and i recommend houston s oficial Hop on Hop of tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
RIP off
Sharon_A
, Dec 2020
Terrible! Complete rip off. Paid for tour that didn’t happen. When tried to contact operator was ignored then sent an email late at night saying a tour was running on a different day. No help to someone on holiday. Do yourselves a favour and don’t waste your money. Wish I had read other reviews as this is a regular occurrence. No refund either.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Unfortunately due Covid 19 restrictions some schedules had to been modified. We apologize or the inconvenience, safety is our number one priority.
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful

Explore Similar Things to Do