Recent Searches
Clear

Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

star-4.537 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

From $34.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Experience the buzzing capital of Guatemala on this 3-hour afternoon sightseeing tour of Guatemala City, including hotel pick-up. Get your bearings in Central America’s biggest city, as you follow your guide around landmarks like the Avenue of the Americas, Constitution Plaza and the Metropolitan Cathedral. Learn more about the city’s rich history and heritage as you admire the murals and mosaics of the Bank of Guatemala, browse for handicrafts at the bustling Central Market.
  • 3-hour sightseeing tour of Guatemala City
  • Learn about the city’s history and culture from your local guide
  • Visit Constitution Plaza to see Metropolitan Cathedral and the National Palace of Culture
  • Drive along the Avenue of the Americas
  • Shop for art and handicrafts at the Central Market
  • Round-trip hotel transport included
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Local guide
Transport by air-conditioned coach, van or minivan
Gratuities
Food and drinks

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum of 2 passengers (adults) is required for the tour to run. If the minimum size is not reached, the tour is subject to cancellation and all tickets are refunded or rescheduled.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Depending on your pick up place the order of the itineray may change.
  • Please contact us if you need a guide in any other language. French, German and Italian in private services, subject to additional costs and guide availability.
  • For groups of 10 persons or more, please contact Gray Line Guatemala to arrange.
  • It is recommended that you bring walking shoes, hat, sunglasses, and a camera.
  • To find pictures of our experiences, search us on Instagram as @graylinetoursgt
  • Most travelers can participate
  • If you are lodging in Zone 1, our only pick-up point is at the Hotel Panamerican.
  • If you are lodging in an airbnb please move to the nearest hotel lobby and please let us know of its name.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Gray Line Guatemala
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
37 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews
star-5
Great time!!!
Janice_W
, May 2022
Winston Cuk was our guide on this trip and was excellent. He is very knowledgeable and explains everything and answers all your questions. I highly recommend Winston Cuk and hope that I will have the opportunity to go on another trip with him.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Janice Thank you for having booked with us, your opinion is really important for us.
star-5
Great way to spend our last day in Guatemala
Dixie_G
, Apr 2022
We had an afternoon flight back to the U.S., but we had the morning free. Luckily there was this option to book a quick tour of Guatemala City. We had already toured around Antigua and Tikal, so this was our last day to get a dose of Guatemalan history and culture. We were greeted by Adolfo at our hotel. We were fortunate to have him as a guide in Antigua, so it was really nice to see him again. He toured us around the main tourist sites of Guatemala City, including a new development in the town of Cayala. Cayala is a modern development of shopping and residential. It felt more like Southern California meets Europe. It didn't feel like Guatemala anymore, but it was interesting to visit nonetheless. The tour was a mix of driving around the city with time spent walking around as well. Adolfo even bought us a quick snack by Palacio Nacional. Our tour was completed in 3 hours - with just enough time to get a coffee before heading to the airport. If you have limited time, this is a great option!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Dixie Thank you for having booked with us, your comments are so important for us, hope to have you in Guatemala again.
star-5
Great city tour
Kyle_W
, Apr 2022
Winston was an excellent guide and very knowledgeable. There is a lot to see and learn and this trip has got it covered.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Kyle Thank you for having booked with us, your comments are really important for us!!
star-1
Avoid
Kimberly_C
, Apr 2021
I had booked a tour for 10am. Unfortunately, I took a turn for the worst health wise the night before the tour. I suffered from a horrible headache, coughing and high fever. I was worried of exposure to Covid. I had to cancel less than 24 hours before. I didn’t ask for my money back only if I could reschedule for next month. It was agreed since I paid 100 US dollars. When I went to reschedule they asked to charge me twice at 200 for a 3 hour tour. I asked for no money back only to compromise and reschedule. I would look for a company with better service. This seems suspicious.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Dear Kimberly The cancellation policy said that you can cancel and recevied a refund 24 hours before the start time of the tour in this case you cancel 45 minutes before your tour, the driver and the guide was 10 minutes from your hotel, we access to a discount and we did not received any notice from you since Monday until today by this via that makes us look like we want to charge you the full amount without having had more communication, We are really sorry for your anger but the policies are very clear regarding cancellations.
star-5
Enjoying the Sights in Guatemala City
SueAnne_S
, Mar 2021
I really enjoyed being with my guide, who was cheerful and friendly. The tour was a fun and educational one, and I learned many new things about the city. We had an enjoyable stop in a cafe and bakery, a beautiful stop for a panoramic view, and a stroll down a lively pedestrian street.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Dear Sue Thank you having booked with us and for takes the time to leave your comments!!
star-5
Great Tour
Brian_R
, Jul 2019
I booked the tour only a few days before my trip to Guatemala City. The booking was easy through Viator and communication regarding the logistics through What's App seamless. I received updates on the arrival of the driver to my hotel and an overview of the tour. What I specifically enjoyed was the wealth of information my guide gave as well as the willingness to answer my questions about the tour and about culture in Guatemala City, in general. The tour isn't long, which I greatly enjoyed, because it gave me an overview of sights to re-visit on my own. Highly recommend. Note: If you are a solo traveler like me, and the tour doesn't have more than one person booked, they will ask (not assume) if you'd like to pay for another ticket because of a minimum of two persons are needed. In my case, I had a private tour so I paid for two tickets when all was said and done. I didn't mind because for $64 total, I had a private car, a private guide, and personalized attention.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
A good overview of Guatemala City...
Angeline A
, Jul 2018
A good overview of Guatemala City. Pleasant, helpful guides.
star-4
I enjoyed the chance to feel safe...
MichaelC_T
, Apr 2018
I enjoyed the chance to feel safe walking around the historic section of the city. The Avenue of the Americas and Plaza of Berlin were good bus destinations... only thing I would have changed was there should have been an opportunity to have a drink in the restaurant where Che Guevara and Fidel Castro met to plan revolutions... especially since there were mariachis playing when we walked in. Liked the Cathedral we were blessed to hear a children's choir singing there and the market.
star-4
Good trip with knowledgable guide. Tour...
Douglas C H
, Feb 2018
Good trip with knowledgable guide. Tour was from 2-6pm and traffic took up alot of the time.
star-5
Juan Pablo was our tour guide and he...
christina_p
, Feb 2018
Juan Pablo was our tour guide and he was very knowledgeable kind and spoke excellent English. He gave us recommendations on places to eat and let us take our time on our tour. Never felt rushed. The highlight was the central market filled with fruits herbs and souvenirs. Definitely recommend !
star-5
It all depends on your guide. Juan...
Lisa B
, Jan 2018
It all depends on your guide. Juan Pablo was the best. A fountain of information.
star-3
I think the trip could be improved...
PLK_W
, Jan 2018
I think the trip could be improved with a couple of stops on the Avenue de Americas. We drove past and could not really appreciate the monuments. The tour ended after 3 hours when it mentioned 4 hours on the itinerary. The walk around the market was enjoyable...local craft and produce looked fantastic.
star-4
The tour guide was great and van was...
Brett C
, Oct 2017
The tour guide was great and van was brand new. The only difficulty was that we were with a Spanish speaking couple so everything was said in both english and Spanish back and forth the whole time. The content on the tour was a little dry. I can’t say I got too excited about much in Guatemala City.
star-4
The driving and walking tour was...
Teresa F
, Aug 2017
The driving and walking tour was approx. 2.5 hours, not 4. Juan Pablo provided insights into the history of Guatemala as a whole and the main plaza, markets and statues in Guatemala City. It was a good overview. Next time, I'll have to make time to eat at the El Portal restaurant.
star-5
We enjoyed a delightful afternoon...
Laurie D
, Jul 2017
We enjoyed a delightful afternoon touring around Guatemala City with Juan Pablo. His knowledge of the city and his enthusiasm was boundless. He was engaging and very informative. We went to see a part of the Berlin Wall that was a gift to the city, as well as visiting two historic churches all while getting a history of the city.We also to a local food/flower market which was quite beautiful and then ended our tour at an artisans market where we were able to shop and browse around for over a half hour. We were picked up at our hotel on time, driven in a very clean, air conditioned van. If you have the time, this is a great way to get both an overview of the history of the city and a chance to get to a few hidden gems that you would not find on your own. Book this, you won't be disappointed .
star-2
We were looking forward to this FOUR...
Stephen K
, Jun 2017
We were looking forward to this FOUR HOUR TOUR, which, in fact, only lasted less than TWO HOURS! Our tour guide, Winston, was very nice, but lacked a bit of the "up graded" history, such as "Christopher Columbus discovering the Americas"-that has been proven wrong a few years ago. Not worth our $
star-5
Amazing tour with a very...
Jacquelyn L
, Jun 2017
Amazing tour with a very knowledgable guide! My mom and I learned so much from our guide. It's always great to do a tour with someone who takes pride in their city. Highly recommend this tour!
star-5
we enjoy the city of Guatemala...
Emiliano B
, Apr 2017
we enjoy the city of Guatemala , thanks to Willy for all the patience of answering all the questions
star-1
While Guatemala is a stunningly...
peter s
, Oct 2016
While Guatemala is a stunningly beautiful country with a rich Mayan cultural tradition and amazing architectural sites the capital Guatemala City is unremarkable. Before the organized tour I took the local bus into downtown - a sprawling network of shabby little streets. Apart from the historic square in Sixth Avenue with its neglected looking cathedral and presidential palace, there is really little in the way of architecture, parks or fine squares so typical of Spanish speaking nations. So while the tour guide was very pleasant if you have more than just a few hours between flights to fill, you may as well just get the local green busses to downtown - as most hotels are a few miles out from the centre.
star-5
I had an excellent time with my...
IRA_R
, Sep 2016
I had an excellent time with my guide, who told me so much about the history and the culture of Guatemala. I was able to choose in which language the tour was, either of the languages were very easy to understand and we had a lot of fun. I would absolutely recommend it!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour
Guatemala City Afternoon Sightseeing Tour

star-4.537

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$34.00

star-54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.80

star-4.57

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$38.00

star-590

3 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-00

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.00

star-511

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$92.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations