Recent Searches
Clear

Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara

star-4.562 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Guadalajara, Mexico
Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 to 9 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Get away from the hustle and bustle of the city of Guadalajara and spend a day in its surroundings on this private tour. During the course of the day, visit a tequila factory for a guided tour, explore Lake Chapala on foot and by boat, and visit the magical town of Ajijic. Learn about the vibrant culture of the area from your guide, and feel free to customize the day to suit your group's interests.
  • Enjoy several tastings of tequila at a local distillery
  • Visit Mexico’s largest lake, Chapala, with a guide
  • This is an animal-friendly tour if you’d like to bring your pet
  • A private excursion ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Alcoholic Beverages
Air-conditioned vehicle
Tastings
Tickets
Brunch
C. Aurelio Aceves 225 , C. Aurelio Aceves 225, Vallarta Poniente, 44110 Guadalajara, Jal., Mexico

Outside the Fiesta America Hotel which is in the location, for reference also, opposite the hotel is a Starbucks and a Burger King.

11:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY JUAN PABLO GALLO VALENCIA
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
62 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews
star-5
Amazing tour operator by Juan
Mervyn_L
, Jun 2022
I signed up for the tour the day before. Everything went smoothly from pick up to drop off. The tour was exactly as written in the description - rancho, tequila distillery, seafood lunch, boat ride on Lake Chapala, Ajijic and Chapala. Am not going to go into the details of the place. But what I want to mention is the tour operator - Juan Pablo. He’s well organized, yet flexible, knowledgeable and gives a special touch with the tour that includes some alcohol and non alcohol refreshments. Best part is his dog that followed us to the tour. Two thumbs up.
star-3
Basic “tour”
Victoria_P
, May 2022
It felt more like a shuttle service than an actual tour. Our group was only two people (me plus one other person) which wasn’t bad because it felt like a private tour but I felt bad for the other person since she didn’t speak Spanish and the guide only spoke Spanish. The tour only lasted 6 hours which was unfortunate. We didn’t spend that much time in any of the towns 40 min in Ajijic to explore and only an hour in Chapala Too much time was wasted at the restaurant
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Could have been better
Agustin_C
, May 2022
We were not offered a restaurant of our choice. Seafood was restaurant picked by our guide. Kickback?
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great Tour
James_C
, May 2022
Tour guide was professional, cordial, and fluent. Great opportunity to tour Aijijic, the Lake, and lake Chapala. Much better than I expected. Would recommend
star-5
Taste of Jalisco in a day!
Nancy_B
, Apr 2022
We had a fun time! Our tour guide Javier was great- he provided water, soft drinks and tequila to get the fun started! Also, even with minor delays departing from some of the 5 stops (due to people being late back to meeting spot) he stayed positive, patient and informative! I’d recommend this tour to anyone with one day in Guadalajara. Get to know your tour mates for an even better experience!
star-5
Fun economical trip with handsome guide.
GLENDA_H
, Apr 2022
The most memorable part of the trip was the tour guide Javier. He was accommodating, informative, and personable. I requested an English language tour. Even though Javier had only been learning English within the last 2 months, his willing to learn more in attempting to command the language was impressive. I would definitely tour with him again.
star-1
Horrible way to spend a day and your money.
AnnaP
, Mar 2022
There was no tour guide. We paid for English Speaking guide. There was no word in English. Was very young driver who did not explain at all and could not understand English. Very dirty paid bathrooms, mediocre service in the restaurant, 10 minutes on a very old and dirty bathtub. Terrible, we ask for a refund.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Unfortunately I wasn't there, my co host guide which btw he's 27, didn't know you need to be old to be a tour guide, he told me you tow were complaining the hole day, even at places where we don't set the timing to enter, this is a quality tour at a good price if you want to be treating at some special or as a queen/king, better spend a lot more than a $35 pp tour for a 9 hours tour you cheap, and yes I decided to give you back your 70 dlls even though you write this horrible review, but guess what, I don't need either your money or your 5 star review, I'm still on the top experiences at the app and will continue to, you on the other hand, will continur to be a terrible person who thinks is better that the rest
star-5
Amazing Tour
Yvonne_E
, Mar 2022
We had an amazing guide for our tour (Javier). The ride was smooth and very nice. The guide helped us feel comfortable and treated us very kind. He provided enough time to do sight seeing at the different spots. I would highly recommend this tour. All the places we event are magical.
star-5
Relaxing Tour
Michael_H
, Mar 2022
I highly recommend the tour to experience one of the beautiful places in Mexico, Lake Chapala. We first visited a tequila distillery and sampled tequilas while learning about the famous drink. We learned a lot. Then we enjoyed a scenic drive to Lake Chapala. It was so much fun there having a delicious lunch looking out at Mexico's largest lake. Then we went on a boat ride around the lake. Scenery was superb. Our guide was very informed and friendly, so we felt comfortable throughout the tour. I hope to do this tour agin in the future because it was so much fun!
star-3
Expect alot of "free time"
Rheall_R
, Feb 2022
Over all the lake and cities were nice, but I think the only "tour" portion of the trip was at the tequila factory. Overall I feel this experience was more of a shuttle service. The guide was very nice and his dog was super cute but upon arrival he got everyone checked in and we were off. First stop was OK, we were warned that we may not get access to the Fernando estate and that was the case unless we wanted ti wait till 40 more people showed up (the estate made this condition) but we weren't really willing to wait. Next stop tequila which was nice to learn and taste, but I felt rushed, but I wasn't going to get souvenirs so I guess it was fine. The next was supposed to be lunch but we were informed it was to early so we would change it up and go to Aijic next, ok no problem. Upon arrival our guide pulled to the main square told us where to meet him in an hour and how to get there and sent us off. No information really on the city, what there was to explore except the church was behind the square and the main road we were to take to the meeting spot has shops but they are more expensive then our last stop... So he went off with his dog and we went off to the church and back down the 1 street we were told to walk down, after 25 min were were already at our meeting spot. So we decide to go grab a drink at a restaurant on the water since we still had over 30 min, however 5 min in our guide called and asked if we were lost... No aren't we supposed to meet in 30 min, he then informed us everyone was waiting for us. Opps sorry we were trying to occupy our time but I guess that was it. Ok now off to lunch, the location was touristy as expected but no information was given why that place over the 10 places we passed on the way in. The lunch was okay, but the guide seemed more interested in his own eating and dog then the rest of us. I think the other travelers were more helpful in navigating the Spanish menu. I get it 1 the food is not included so really it's not his responsibility but this is his tour and he brought us here. Also I get it we are in Mexico we should be able to navigate ourselves, but we said were vegetarian and he said but it's a seafood restaurant... he did at least tell the staff, but no real help it what our options may be. Lunch went on there was a mistake in the food and luckily one of the other travelers was able to assist. When it was time to pay he disappeared, which again is fine the food wasn't included but it was like he ran off again with with his. He met us at the pier for the boat tour and that was nice, although I expect some facts about the lake, anything size, animals, crazy stories anything but no. We asked a couple random questions which he did answer but it was uneventful. Now on to our last stop since we changed things up and did Aijic before lunch. Upon arrival at Chapla city again we were dropped told our meeting spot and and 1.5hours to do as we wished with no information on the city other then where the clean restrooms were. Then at exactly the meet up time he reappears and were off. Overall I would say when it sats in the description there will be free time to explore, there is more of that and if you like having freedom on your tours and know what you want to see then this is for you, to me it seemed more like a chauffeur service. Again this isn't what I expected but I can see how some would very much enjoy this style of tour, just not my taste
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
If you do no other tour in Guadalajara do this one!
Nick_S
, Feb 2022
If you are only in Guadalajara for a short time and wish to gain an enjoyable and comprehensive feel for the area then this is the tour for you. Not only was it amazing value, the guides (Carlos and Maria) were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. They even went out of their way to take me back to my own hotel when we arrived back in the City. There was a lot crammed into one day but that did not detract from the experience. The ice cold refreshments, including Tequila made up for it! I would certainly use Viator again the next time I visit.
star-5
Wonderfull
Jose_Q
, Feb 2022
All was great nice service and the food was delicious the guide very profesional my wife and I we have very good experience
star-4
Lake Chapala Tour
Vernon_S
, Jan 2022
This is an outstanding tour. We stopped at the grave site of Mexican Singing legend Vincente Hernandez. Toured his store. Stopped at the Calera tequilla distillery for a quick taste test. Then on to Lake Chapala for lunch...the restaurant was nice but the food ... not so good. Do not recommend this restaurant for food. The view was nice. We then boarded a small pontoon boat for a quick tour up the coast. Very nice. Then headed into Ajijic for a small walk about. The murals and art work were phenomenal. We then headed to Puebla Chapala for another mini walking tour...such a beautiful town on the water. Highly recommend this trip but, our guide, Javier, did not speak English. We were fortunate to have a bilingual couple with us to translate his directions.
star-5
Great day at a very reasonable price.
Rafael_C
, Dec 2021
Our driver "Paco" was very pleasant and helpful. He explained where we were going and what to expect. Spend a great day in Chapala.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
The boat ride on lake...
Angelica_M
, Nov 2021
The boat ride on lake Chapala was wonderful and the taquilla factory and tasting was delightful as well.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you for your visit
star-5
Best tour I've ever done...
J_F
, Sep 2021
Best tour I've ever done by far. Edgar is unbelievable guide, like travelling with a friend. Relaxed tour, Edgar is an expert in everything in the tour, highly recommended
star-4
Excelente
Reynaldo_C
, Apr 2022
Excelente tour, muy ameno y el guia muy amable. Elbrecorrido es bueno y placebteri definitivamente deben de ir
star-5
Fantastica
Juan_P
, Mar 2022
Pues el conocer el rancho los tres potrillos fue una experiencia maravillosa el lago de chápala lugar fantástico y ajijic lugar tranquilo
star-5
Excelente servicio
Gabriela_M
, Sep 2021
Una súper atención por parte del guía Edgar, muy conocedor de la historia, nos llevó a cada uno de los lugares con tiempo sin prisas, todo muy explicado. Súper recomendado !’!!
star-5
Les encantara.
JuanIsmael_R
, Jul 2021
Ha sido una experiencia grata, estar en este tour. La atencion ha sido extremada, siempre acompañado de buen animo y una sonrisa. GRACIAS Edgar!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara
Tour to Lake Chapala, MAGIC TOWN of Ajijic from Guadalajara

star-4.562

8 to 9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$38.66

star-4.556

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.00 $41.61

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.00

star-424

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.00

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.34

star-31

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.06

star-00

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$48.97
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations