Recent Searches
Clear

Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh

star-4.5288 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Edinburgh's underground network of vaults, which dates from the 1700s, is one of the most fascinating parts of the city to explore. To truly understand these former slum dwellings, and their dark histories, you need to explore them in the company of a guide who can provide all of the necessary context, background information and spooky stories.
  • Guided tours of Edinburgh's underground network of vaults
  • Go underground and explore one of Edinburgh's most fascinating locations
  • Learn all about the history of the vaults from your guide
  • Hear stories of the unfortunate inhabitants of the vaults
Saved to wishlist!
Admission Ticket

Departure Point

300 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PH, UK

Tours starts from the Tourist Information Police Box outside of the Bank of Scotland. It is on the opposite side of the road to Deacon Brodies Tavern. Please be there at least 5 minutes before the tour time.

Return Details

45 Niddry St, Edinburgh EH1 1LG, UK
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Vaults are accessed via a 2ft stair with further average size stairs inside the vaults.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Not suitable for children under 12 years of age
  • Children under 16 years of age must be accompanied by a Parent or Guardian
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Auld Reekie Tours Ltd
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
288 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 288 reviews
star-2
Not value for money
Juliette_G
, Oct 2021
We were disappointed that the tour consisted of the guide only telling stories about the vaults, for the price, we were expecting more, like actors hired to scare visitors along the way. The guide was very nice and good at telling the stories though. Would recommend if the experience was half the price.
star-5
Dark times
Martin_G
, Sep 2021
Really had a fun time ..Great guide ...know ones followed me back from the other side yet ..Will recommend to any visitor to the city
star-5
Very good would recommend
Nick_Liverpool
, Sep 2021
Excellent tour....Fraser was a great guide his dry sense of humour had everyone enjoying themselves and fantastic insight and historical knowledge. Top banana!
star-5
Spooky Times!
Jeremy_M
, Sep 2021
The guy was a real hoot and a half. The price matched up perfectly with the total your time. I wish there could have been more vaults to see.
star-3
Okay
Helen_P
, Aug 2021
We were disappointed as thought it was a haunted ghost tour with actors dressed up etc however the guide was knowledgeable and engaging
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re sorry that it did not live up to your expectations. We try to keep our ghost tours more grounded and have the history, stories and the atmospheric location speak for themselves without using actors in full costume and makeup.
star-5
Theatre in the Vaults
Andrew_T
, Jul 2021
A well presented, theatrical and clear presentation, given with enthusiasm and creating an appropriate atmisphere. Well done to Sophie, it was fund.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour and Sophie’s presentation of the history and stories. We will pass along your kind words to her.
star-5
Excellent time spent
Rosie_B
, Jun 2021
Tour guide friendly and pleasant. Enjoyed the experience and will be looking to do an overnight visit. Would recommend
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your recommendation. We're really glad you enjoyed your tour.
star-3
Not impressed
Nikki_B
, Jun 2021
Would like to have seen a little more than just 4 vaults was under the impression that it was an underground tour, but it was all over ground, very informative tour but just a bit disappointed with the vaults
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry you were disappointed with the number of vaults you visited but glad you felt that you were well informed with those that you did see. We do try and visit as many of the vaults below Edinburgh's South Bridge as we can within the tours duration and most customers are happy with the amount but we understand many people would like to see more of this fascinating location.
star-4
Interesting and disturbing
Morag_C
, May 2021
Lively informative tour well paced and interesting. Sophie was engaging and knowledgable with a good balance of history and folklore to maintain intrigue throughout the tour
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and will pass along your kind words to Sophie.
star-5
Transition
Thomas_S
, Dec 2020
Me and my partner went in and I was pretty sceptical about everything paranormal, but now I’m a firm believer

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh
Haunted Vaults walking tour in Edinburgh

star-4.5288

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$19.58

star-4.5175

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.17

star-4.5718

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$19.58

star-5124

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$27.97

star-518

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$21.24

star-4.579

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.17

star-4.572

1 hour 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$19.58

star-4.5649

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.72

Explore Similar Things to Do