Recent Searches
Clear

Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba

|
Cartagena, Colombia
Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Be amazed by nature's unpredictability on this Totumo Volcano and Galerazamba day trip. The impressive Galerazamba salt flats give a pink hue to the nearby sea between December and April. Enjoy magnificent views of the pink sea from a lookout point and learn more about the local area at the Ethnoindustrial Museum.
  • Entrance to the volcano is included
  • Travel in a comfortable, air-conditioned vehicle
  • This is an easy way to visit the volcano and the surrounding area
  • See some of the most impressive sights in northern Colombia
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Entrance to the volcano of totumo
Bilingual Assistant (English)
visit to Galerazamba
massage, photo and mud removal
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
We pick up at any hotel in the areas of: castillogrande 08: 00- 08:30 laguito 08: 00- 08:30 bigmouth 08: 00-08: 15 Gethsemane 8: 15- 08:45 Center 08: 30- 09:00  San Diego 08:30 - 09:00 Stonecutter 09: 00-09: 15 , Marbella 09: 00-09: 15  Crespo, 09: 00- 09:15 North Zone 09: 00- 09:15
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Ecoturismo Los pinos
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "don’t put your shoes in anyone’s bag offering because they will expect a tip after, either wear your shoes up and the guy who takes the pictures will bring them down or leave them with your things -Bring a towel!" See review
  • "COP5,000.00 as per tour operator each additional services provided so bring extra cash and enjoy!" See review
  • "This is not for an individual who is disabled or unsteady gate." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
114 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 114 reviews
star-5
Best mud bath experience ever
Angelica_C
, Jun 2022
I recommend this tour specifically. We had a safe place to our our belongings while in the volcano, plus we had showers to use after our rinse off in the lake. Don’t expect the 4 star private showers but it was a lot better than I was expecting. Another note, my skin was smooth for days after the mud bath. I couldn’t stop taking about it to friends
star-4
Cool Mud!
Shawn
, Jun 2022
Once in a Lifetime Experience! It was a cool and different experience. There were a lot of us in a small mud pool. The men were there to massage you. The mud was warm. The people were nice. The camera guy took nice pictures and videos. Getting down the steps once out the volcano was a task. It was so slippery. You must hold on tight. Then you have to go wash off in the lake. The ladies are there to assist you with that. The begging for tips part was ridiculous. It was understood that we should tip them. However, they were standing there begging for tips like vultures. It was rude. We were a large group so I’m sure they made a lot of money, but come on, we don’t have to be stalked to tip. We were going to do it regardless.. Now as far as the company was concerned, they were two hours late picking me up from my hotel. No explanation! Then we were packed inside a small van. The van broke down along the way. We experienced like four different vehicles in a small amount of time. The extra workers that needed rides along the way was unprofessional. It all worked out, but that was an experience in itself.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your comment, we will do our best to improve.
star-5
Pretty cool
Angelique_T
, Jun 2022
Our tour guides name was Virginia she was a sweetheart! The experience was very cool. The mud volcano allows you to float completely effortlessly and you get a massage with the mud from the locals. Then they give you shoes and help you over to the lake so they can rinse you and clean you off. Only thing is they are very aggressive asking for tips on your way out but otherwise super cool experience
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you :)
star-4
Must have experience
Tahaira_C
, May 2022
Could have done with just the volcano and not going to Galerazamba. Just like everyone else said…it wasn’t pink. And I went in April when it should have been but guess it’s been an off season. The volcano on the other hand was a must experience. The steps definitely need to be better because they are super steep. The volcanic experience is different but nice. We were scared we would drown but you Literally just float. Was nice…when you don’t think about the other thousands of people who’ve been in that same mud. But after a while they started packing in way too much people so we got out. The walk down was scary. Then the floor to walk to the river was soooo hot. This lady gave me some slippers to walk in. Then when we got to the river someone washed us off. They are very…invasive. No boundaries when washing you off so speak up if you feel uncomfortable. BE MINDFUL…all these people doing services want a TIP! Even the one who loaned me the slippers who claimed it was free. Down to the guy who held our phones and took pictures. And they will hound you for it too at the end. It was a bit overbearing in the end. There is a small space to leave your belongings when you go to the volcano. The showers in the back weren’t good at all but guess it did it’s just. Have a lot of wasp so be careful back there. Toilet wasn’t the cleanest. But overall good tour and the Bus have AC!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-3
Interesting experience
Elizabeth_O
, Apr 2022
The lodotherapy was an interesting experience. You get a short massage from men that are in the mud with you & then walk down to a lake where some women remove the mud. Not the time to be shy because the ladies get in there to remove the mud. There is a guy you can optionally have him take care of your shoes… TIP HIM! The walk to the river is crazy hot & will burn your feet of that guy doesn’t have your shoes ready for you. The pink sea wasn’t pink but learning the history was nice.. heard from some locals that it hasn’t been pink in a couple years. Only reason for my 3 stars is the van! They pack you tight into a passenger van so if you are tall prepare to be completely uncomfortable the entire ride. The AC was also not strong enough for everyone in the van so Aldo prepare to be crazy hot!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-3
Get ready for a high...
Naomi_B
, Apr 2022
Get ready for a high climb and for people to beg for tips. It was a beautiful experience with an amazing view. A little unsanitary though.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Must do when visiting
Giulia_G
, Mar 2022
This is a great trip to do. Thank you to luisa for taking care of us and translating for us. I had an amazing time, i will be booking again in the future
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Gracias!
star-3
Not the day we expected
Fiona_B
, Feb 2022
Although the mud volcano was great, the day felt terribly unorganised and not what was described when booked. The tour guide was almost an hour late picking us up and neither her nor the driver seemed to know where anyones hotels were In Getsemani. When we got to the Volcano we weren’t given any timings and they didn’t seem prepared for how long the queue would be. My partner and I queued in the sun a long time to get in. And yelled at by our guide for being late. The Galerazamba sea was a 5 minute just to look at and nowhere mentioned we’d go to a museum. Drop off wasn’t organised either.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Read review
Katronia_R
, Feb 2022
Luisa is a top-notch operator by far! If you have read other reviews, you know that you can end up getting hassled but the people on the mountain. However, Louisa keeps that at a minimum. She works for the customer and works with the people of the attraction which actually works in your favor... Trust me. Now to the overall experience, the mud is surreal! I had the toughest time maneuvering through it but there are people who will help you with that. LISTEN ALL GERMAPHOBES AND PAINFULLY SHY PEOPLE do not do this tour! Mud is scraped from your body for the next person and there are people watching you the entire time because of the way they line you up. If you can get over that you are good lol. The people who give massages are so good... Take the pampering sis lol. Also don't wear anything new, use an old bathing suit and toss it afterwards. To the bath, okay as sensual and pampering as being bathed sounds this ain't it! Imagine washing your dog in a lake ... Okay now you are the dog. No difference. As far as the rest goes it was okay. And I do believe in the powers of the mud. My eczema darn near melted away. They sell the clay, don't be like me and not buy it because it works!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Good for the price
Rosalyn_B
, Feb 2022
The only issue I had with the trip was they picked me up almost an hour later than they said which seems to be typical. We did everything described and the seas wasn't real pink but they can't control that. I will say it was overall worth the price although it seems half my group had tickets that includer lunch and half did not.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-4
Fun morning trip.
Lexie_K
, Feb 2022
The volcano was really fun. It’s definitely a one of a kind experience. Our tour guide Alejandra was great. She warned us about be hounded for tips which was nice to know ahead of time.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-5
My friends and I enjoyed...
TiffanyAnderson
, Jan 2022
My friends and I enjoyed the tour. We could have skipped the Visit to Galerazamba because the pink sea wasn’t actually pink in January. The museum, however was informative. The mud bath had a our skin feeling amazing. My only complaint would be how you are consistently harassed for tips even though our tour guide informed us the massage and wash off was included with our tour. Even if you planned on tipping like us you are harassed until you provide a tip. The works all wait for you outside of the hut waiting for a tip. It is extremely annoying. Above all I would still recommend this trip.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-3
I'm not a fan
Melissa_C
, Jan 2022
Masks were not only NOT required but forbidden when going up the volcano. The second part of the tour when we went to visit the Galerazamba village was a bit boring and should have been done before the volcano, in my opinion. Even though the tour guide, Luisa, said the price already included the massage and rinse-off, if you accept those services, get ready to be harassed and yelled at if you don't give a tip (I didn't have any change). Just say "no" to everything, including them asking your name; it's only so they can scream it across the parking lot to remind you of the tip. Even the photographer whom he tour guide suggested expected a tip as soon as he handed the phone back to you. Also, the volcano does not have a floor; you're simply floating. While you cannot drown, it's best to manage your floating abilities beforehand. Positive things: Luisa was nice; the bus was air conditioned and they picked me up right in front of the hotel i gave them.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
MUD BUTT READY 😂
Krystal_B
, Jan 2022
I had an amazing time at the mud bath!! It’s something worth doing for a new experience. Floating in mud why not lol! There is a place for you to wash off in the lagoon. A few of the ladies help you but you can definitely wash off there and without tipping. Because they will tip your head off lol. There was a guy that had a small shop near the lagoon that sold the best empanadas hands down in all of Cartagena in my opinion. The empanadas are soooooo good, make sure to try it! Wear something sturdy as the steps up the volcano can be very slippery. The tour went great but started completely late (at least 1 hour late) and still had to pick up more people. With covid this annoyed me as there was so many people by the time we arrived. Many people also didn’t wear their mask on the transport which was also annoying. But overall great experience. The pink sea wasn’t so pink during this time (December 2021) but it was great to learn about the history and visit the museum. Check out my Instagram for more footage @browntattedk
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-4
New experience
Makiko_K
, Jan 2022
It was totally worth trip to make, such an experience. The guide Luisa is very helpful and attentive. Only thing I wanted to ask was to have curtains in the bus to prevent strong sun on the way to/ from volcano 🌋 . Thank you!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-5
Bucket list trip
bryan_j
, Dec 2021
This trip was definitely worth it. Our shuttle texted us 10 min ahead of time and arrived right at 8am. Riding through the city and outter city limits was a good way to site see as well. The experience is one of a kind. You literally float at the top of the volcano nothing like floating in water. We stayed in until we decided to get out. Then walked down to the river where the ladies bathe us. Tipping was pretty simple. We left our money with the tour guide and so once we finished and washed up we tipped the mud massagers and bathers.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-5
Amazing and fun
Lina_V
, Nov 2021
My husband and I were on our honeymoon and decided to try something different than the islands. We had a blast. Our tour guide was Luisa, the driver was Sergio and there was another girl, they were all amazing & very kind. We drove to Galerazamba but the sea wasn’t pink because it’s not the time of the year to be pink. We also met some other amazing tourist and got to spend time in the mud. My skin and hair felt so good after that. Our tour guide was very kind to let us know not to feel obligated to tip the people at the volcano, but we still gave them a tip because they were helpful. I would 100% recommend this mud craziness to everyone 👍
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-3
New experience
minelly_r
, Nov 2021
The most memorable part of the trip would be the lodotherapy. It was a new experience which for me was a lot of fun. I would omit the Galerazamba visit. I think it was a waste of time because then you are rushed in the lodotherapy which is the highlight of the trip. They should include Galerazamba when they know the salt is pink. I feel it was too rushed.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Felt like we was in another world.
Jah_L
, Nov 2021
Wonderful tour with a nice little ride out of cartegena to see some local sites while enjoying the beautiful views of the pink ocean along wit the refreshing feeling of the volcano mud jus was a total diff experience jus be advised that there are alot of poor people in that area so don't be flustered jus take your time and relax you don't have to tip everyone also just who you actually want to tip
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
star-5
Two Thumbs Up!!!
Ryane_M
, Oct 2021
I enjoyed this tour very, very much!!! Our guide took great care of us and we had a photographer assigned to us at the volcano. He did a great job and was very trustworthy with our phones. We were provided with a locker and a place to shower and change after we washed off in the river. (The shower was just a small trickle of water, but hey, what do you expect?!) I was not turned off at all by all the people wanting to help us for a tip. They are just trying their very BEST to make a living for themselves. I was very happy to allow them to help me with a massage, carrying my stuff, washing off etc. And I was sure to tip them generously. If we have enough money to travel the world, we have enough money to share with the precious people who just want to offer their services to us in return for a bit of money to live! Sadly the sea was not pink when we went there (October) but it was a lovely stop anyway. The whole experience was so unique and special and I will treasure the experience forever!! Thanks for the wonderful tour and for sharing your beautiful country with us!!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for giving your opinion. We will work very hard to improve :)
3 travelers found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba
Lodotherapy in the Totumo Volcano with Visit to Galerazamba

star-4114

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$36.00

star-4.5291

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.00

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.94

star-4134

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-00

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.88

star-520

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-56

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-51

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations