Recent Searches
Clear

Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca

|
Cartagena de Indias, Colombia
Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore the pristine beaches of the Rosario and Barú islands during this day trip from Cartagena. Travel off the coast of Colombia via speedboat to the Corales del Rosario National Park. Swim and snorkel in the azure waters, relax on the soft sand beaches, and take in the picturesque natural surroundings. National park fees, lunch, and round-trip transportation from Cartagena hotels are provided.
  • Visit Isla Grande, Cholon, and Playa Blanca
  • Go snorkeling on coral reefs (snorkeling equipment included)
  • Eat lunch beachside and relax in a hammock
  • Round-trip transportation from Cartagena
Saved to wishlist!
Local taxes
National Park fees
Local guide
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Lunch
Snacks
Food and drinks, unless specified
Tips (optional)
LOS PEGASOS , Cl. 24, Cartagena de Indias, Provincia de Cartagena, Bolívar, Colombia

We will be at Pegasos statue is a pair of Horses Next to the Cartagena`s Boarding Dock La Bodeguita, a team member will be there waiting for you, please be the at 8:00 am we are leaving at 8:30 am.

This activity will end right where it started.
Enjoy convenient pickup at your hotel in central Cartagena in the early morning, then travel to the coastal town of Barú in a comfortable tour vehicle.

Upon arrival, transfer to a speedboat bound for the Rosario Islands, where you spend an hour snorkeling around the coral reefs. Refuel with some water and local fruits before continuing to Cholon to party in the water. Beachside massages are available; you're welcome to visit the local bars for drinks (own expense). 

Next stop is lunch at Playa Blanca. Following a hearty meal, spend the afternoon swinging in the hammocks, lounging on the beach, or sipping tropical drinks from the bar. 

You're dropped off back at your Cartagena hotel at the end of the day.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Muelle de los Pegasos
We meet all the travelers at this place.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Isla Grande
In this island you will do snorkel for about 45 minutes, we gonna give you the mask and oxigen tube (fins are not inclued) and the guide will tell you some recomendations for the experience. After that we will give you a bottle water to idratation
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Islas de Rosario
Here there is a private island and will be one of the most beautiful stop, here you will spend more time swimming, relaxing, eat delicious camaron cocktail and there is a bar in case you want to drink some. Remember you can use all social zone of this place free.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Cholón (Islas del Rosario)
Cholon is the party island and here you will enjoy a mini party in the water with music, drinks (alcholics drinks are not included) and people from anothers boats that arrive theres
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Isla Baru
Playa Blanca in Barú will be the last island. In this island you will eat the lunch and after gonna spend the rest of the day in the beach, relaxing and swimming
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Dress code is smart casual
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • A short distance of walking is involved
  • Each traveler is allowed a maximum of 1 suitcase and 1 carry-on bag. Oversized or excessive luggage (e.g. surfboards, golf clubs or bikes) may have certain restrictions, please inquire with the operator prior to travel to confirm if your excess luggage is acceptable
  • A minimum of 1 people per booking is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY BackpackersCtg
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "People on the beaches will be bugging you A LOT, so be careful." See review
  • "If you are not comfortable on speed boats and possibly getting a little wet, this island hopping tour may not be for you." See review
  • "This isn’t a luxury trip (no running water where you stop for lunch), but it’s tons of fun." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
513 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 513 reviews
star-5
Great way to see the islands
Mindy_R
, Aug 2022
Wonderful experience. Our tour was led by Alex. We visited Islas del Rosario national park for snorkeling; la Cocotela for sunbathing; Cholon for partying and Baru/Playa Blanca for lunch. It was a mostly rainy day, but Alex and the crew kept the energy high and helped us all have fun.
star-5
Bring sunblock!
Edna_R
, Jul 2022
Our tour guy Alex was great. Swam like a fish. Very knowledgeable and we met some great people. Bring booze if you want to enjoy. Beaches were great experiences and prices were reasonable. Bring cash as there is surcharge for cards. I was confused about lunch. Thought it was included but for VIP paid extra to upgrade. It ended up being only credit towards food which every one on tour had despite friends saying they didn’t pay VIP. So not sure about what VIP portion I paid for.
star-4
Good trip but lost time because we had to drop people off that weren’t park of our group.
m77rmpcd4k
, Jun 2022
Had a great experience visiting the islands. Wish we stayed at Baru and Playa Blanca longer and stayed at Cholon less. Chopin was dirty because people littered the water. Franklin and the team were really good host. One downfall was that our tour was combined with another group. We lost 1.5 hours from our original trip because we had to drop off people onto other locations and pick them up on our way back. This took away from the time we paid for, which was a big disappointment. We should get a partial refund for the time lost.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great service
Jessica_R
, May 2022
The tour guys were fun. Picked us us and dropped us off on time, food was great and drinks were awesome
star-2
Go with another company!!
Sonya_R
, May 2022
The snorkeling is horrible, nothing to see. I doubt the snorkeling gear is properly cleaned, bring your own. First two islands suck. Just charter a boat to Playa Blanca Baru and skip others. Second island is really just everyone standing around in everyone else's piss. Last island they pull you on boat due to no dock and some people were injured. Boat ride back was scarily bumpy; felt dangerous. Would not advise this company.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Sonya thanks for your review we are always open to recieve and get better.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Honest New Yorker review 2022.
GODFREY_H
, Apr 2022
Interesting trip. First stop was at Isla grande and stopped at La Cocotera where you had a choice to stay on the beach or snorkle. We stayed on the beach and it was absolutely gorgeous with a small bar. It was very relaxing and private. Just 2 vendors walked buy to sell things and that was it. You have the option to purchase food and alcohol here. Nobody bothered you. I'd say we were here about 2 hrs at this beach with no snorkel (your option). 2nd stop was to Cholon . It's a party stop where people anchor boats and listen to music and hang out in the water that have tables set up. It was ok. That's s place enjoyed if you rent a boat and stay on it and enjoy the water and music. Other than that prepared to be bombarded with vendors constantly trying to sell you items. You have the option to purchase food and alcohol here. I'd say we were here about an hr. 3rd stop was to Playa blanca. We were taken to a beach club called Mambo beach. This is where lunch was served. You're given 25K cop per person towards what you order. I ordered the churasco and it was ok. Small piece of cold meat and cold rice for me. You can also purchase alcohol here. The beach club has music and has beds you can lay out on. The beach is beautiful but it's full of these huge rocks. You have to go out a bit to get to flat sand. I've read reviews people rave about this beach but it's not for me. People seem to be on top of you here and the vendors here are NON STOP every 2 minutes. I'd say we spent 1 to 1 1/2 here. Finally back to where we started. Alex was our guide and he was very good and friendly. Because of him and Isla grande I would recommend this trip. If I could of stayed at La Cocotera all day I would have. This is the best beach to actually relax hassle free. Godfrey
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Highlight of my trip
Veronica_F
, Apr 2022
So great! I had been hearing a lot about how picked the beaches were with pushy salesmen, but the places they took us was amazing. This was definitely a highlight of my trip and you meet so many other people! 10/10 would definitely book again.
star-4
It was a great time...
Jesse_L
, Apr 2022
It was a great time overall. I just wish we had a heads up on the boat ride back with the waves and how the speedboat has to go fast and depending on where you are sitting at it will suck a little bit. Great excursions though.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Jesse Thanks for your review we are happy to know it.
star-5
Unforgettable Island Hoping Experience
Charamea_P
, Apr 2022
Franklin greeted us with a cup of fruit & a warm welcome! He was very informative and ensure everyone was having a great time. First island we went snorkeling 🤿 and relaxed on the beach with some tasty drinks in hand. Second island! Party island 🏝 They had so many different experiences from tubing to wake boarding. Highly recommend doing one. Third island was a whole vibe. Delicious food, dancing in the sun, and swimming in the blue waters. Highly recommend this experience. My favorite day in Cartagena hands down.
star-5
BEST SNORKLING adventure yet
Steven_M
, Mar 2022
BEST SNORKLING adventure yet. I've been on a few snorkeling adventures on cruises and such but this was the best. Most just do a few hour tour and call it a day, but not this one! We spent nearly 9 hours on the tour, travelling to three great islands, each with an adventure. We closed out our day with a hearty meal. FRANKLIN was the best.
star-5
Awesome trip!
Christopher_H
, Mar 2022
Had an amazing time! Literally decided to go on the tour the day before. Seamless experience, great tour guides, beautiful islands! The staff took care of all the guests. Definitely recommend! 😁
star-3
Ok Day
Jennifer_i
, Mar 2022
We left 45-50 min late due to the boat not arriving. Had to stop for ice then to pick up a worker before heading to the islands. Islands were nice. Many ppl in your space selling you stuff and it was a bit annoying. Alex and the crew worked hard. Winds picked up and made our ride home interesting! Oh. No ladder on the beaches so be prepared to jump off the boat.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great Tour!
Rae_N
, Mar 2022
Our guide Jesus was the BEST!! We only had 3 other people on our tour that day so we had what felt like a completely customized experience. We loved relaxing on the beaches, getting to stop and party at Cholon, and Jesus and crew made sure we had GREAT music the whole way. 100% would recommend, would come back just to see Jesus again!!--The Hoffmans
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Rae Thanks for your review we are always working for this kind of experiences we are here to help the next time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Delays and confusion
David_C
, Mar 2022
The islands are beautiful. Pre departure communication was good but on the departure morning that all fell apart. The pick up area was unknown by everyone but by chance we all found it. Then we had to wait in the blazing sun for a half hour while the host radiod for a van that then took us a half hour to the marina where we waited another half hour for 22 additional passengers to join us. The staff acted like they had never done this tour before. In the way back we were told there would be a ban to take us back to our point of origin. No van, we were just dropped off with no information. As it turned out the boat dropped us off close to the point of origin so no van was needed. I would do the trip again but with a different operator.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi David we sorry about your experience we have 7 years operating this activity and we will work to make you feel more confident about our experience we move to a marine for more confort during the time to wait for the rest of the group sometimes we take more time because of the traffic, if you get back to the city give us the opportunity to chance your perspective.
star-5
Great tour!
Catherine_O
, Mar 2022
Had such a great experience! All three beaches were gorgeous and Franklin was such a wonderful tour guide. Everything was very organized and each beach gave a bit of a different experience . I would def recommend!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Catherine we are so happy to know you enjoyed your activity we do our best for you guys.
star-5
Great island getaway
Gabriela_M
, Feb 2022
Our tour guide Franklin was amazing. He was so nice and made sure we got everything we needed. The first island was so relaxing and then the next two were a little more fun! Overall a great experience for relaxation and fun on 3 islands. Each were so different it was great to see them all. I definitely recommend swimming at the first island as it’s way easier then the other two. The second island is more for drinks and socializing and the third for lunch at the beach club and lounging on a cabana. We got massages at the last island and those ladies know what they’re doing it was great. Thank you Franklin :)
star-2
Experience is not what was advertised or promised, poor communication of expectations
Lisha_D
, Feb 2022
Snorkeling, lunch & relaxation parts were great. However the bad outweighed the good, especially disappointing for the pricey tickets. Firstly, the description for the tour explicitly said there is hotel pick up and drop off, but the night before the tour, I received a message after 10pm (the tour was at 8am the following day), that was very long, and included one line about meeting at a dock called Pegasus. Other than a picture of what that dock looked like, no directions or address provided. I promptly texted back to ask why not hotel pick up, and never received a response. So the next morning, we paid for a taxi to take us to what we think is the dock indicated. We arrived at 7:35am, no signage, no Backpackers person, who didn’t show up until around 8am. Luckily we found a few others who were also looking for this tour. We were told to wait, and at 8:30am the guide Melanie finally arrived with a few others who were picked up. No explanation, no apology for the confusion or wait, we just left. Then we embarked on the boat, where aside from this is where we are going and taking menu orders, there was very little explanation or dialogue from the guide. First snorkeling, then beach, both stops were minimally explained upon arrival. Then the third stop was the party island, which received NO explanation, other than “leave everything on the boat”, and we will find a shaded table to sit together.” Of course when we get there, everyone was shocked and overwhelmed by the sheer number of people, boats, crowdedness, and chaos. We disembarked and Melanie promptly ushered everyone to follow her into the water, where we nervously moved through countless people (no one had masks on) to this wooden palate in the middle of a crowded water, no shade, very hot, to stand around surrounded by loud music and vendors coming up to sell things. It felt very unsafe and uncomfortable. Because Melanie didn’t explain anything or that we should only wear our swimsuits, everyone got their clothes wet, and after arriving at the palate, Melanie left to go onshore. Several of us told her we didn’t want to stand around the palate with no shade and wanted to sit on the shore instead, which she helped us get some chairs we squeezed into any free spot and had to purchase drinks or food to use. This was easily the most unsafe (for covid reasons and for our belongings) environment, made worse by us having to be there for an hour. Everyone on our boat was looking at our watches, counting down the minute until leaving. If this stop was properly explained, people may have preferred to stay on the boat or not come on the tour. When we arrived at the final destination of lunch island, we were bombarded by massage vendors who would touch us and put oils on us from behind, without any consent, while we were eating. This was very annoying. Finally, the boat ride back was like a scary roller coaster ride. Aside from saying, “put your things inside, they might get wet”, Melanie did not warn us at all about the high winds, the countless violent bumps, that several times felt like the boat might flip over. Those of us sitting towards the back was completely drenched, and struggled to see or speak because it felt like a strong fire hose was sprayed at us the entire time. We had to take off sunglasses, hats, and wrap ourselves in our shirts to avoid the strong water beating in our face. It felt like abuse, with no warning. Overall, the trip had some highlights but severely lacked proper communication, explanation or what to expect, and was a misrepresentation of the advertisement description. Again at landing, despite the instructions and text saying there would for sure be hotel drop off, the guide Melanie said there wouldn’t be any. We just wanted to be done with the experience and again, found our way back to the hotel. As a frequent traveler and tour participant, I am cool with any level of adventure or self sufficiency, as long as expectations are clear. This was a bait and switch completely. Without proper explanations, we felt thrust into situations that weren’t warranted.
4 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
Rosario island
melissa_c
, Feb 2022
It was an interesting day. Weather was beautiful the ride was very bumpy coming back. I wasn’t very excited by the good selection abs wasn’t offered water throughout the trip. You are bombarded by people wanting to give massages and jewelry on every island.
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience!
Brandon_D
, Feb 2022
The guides were excellent! They made sure we had fun while looking over the entire group to ensure our safety. I would recommend this trip.
star-4
A great day on the water for a good price.
Donna_W
, Jan 2022
Your employees were stellar. Melony and her crew were great. Rafi took us on a leisurely tour of the reef and I was happy that Melony went there first so it wasn't so crowded. Good planning on her part. The party island was a bit much but I understand that the trip must accommodate all tourists. It was fun to see but Sooo many people is such a small space with COVID 19 around made me uncomfortable. We stayed in the shade and were fine with just 1 hour there. Lunch was not handled well by the restaurant. I'm sure they were informed of our arrival but they were N O T prepared. Melony did her best but they really don't know how to accomodate a large group. Over all a lovely day for a good price. I enjoyed myself. -- - the race back to the city was a hoot!!! It was a great ride! LOL

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca
Full-Day Rosario Islands Including Barú, Cholon and Playa Blanca

star-4510

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$155.00

star-54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$370.00

star-4.53

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$136.00

star-4289

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-3.59

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-553

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$130.00

star-3.511

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$105.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations