Recent Searches
Clear

Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cancun, Mexico
Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Your exclusive, direct admission ticket lets you enter the archaeological site the first ones of the day —so you can explore in cooler temperatures without the crowds. Plus, you’ll visit the colonial city of Valladolid, enjoy a buffet lunch, and swim in Cenote. Enhance your experience of one of the New7Wonders of the World with this unique access tour of Chichen Itza, available only on Viator and Tripadvisor.
  • Be the first group of the day at Chichen Itza with this exclusive direct access tour
  • Early morning entry to the world wonder means you’ll beat the heat and the crowds
  • Enjoy a mix of guided sightseeing and free time to explore at your own pace
  • Recover energy and taste the Mexican food with the buffet lunch included
  • Enjoy free time swimming inside a cenote after the tour of Valladolid

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

See and gain more insight than most visitors with a private guide and unique direct entry.
Saved to wishlist!
Direct Entrance Ticket to Chichen Itza
Hotel pick up
Air-conditioned vehicle
Toll Road
Buffet Lunch
Professional Guide (English only)
Entrance to Cenote
Chichen Itza tax (31$)
Life Vest at Cenote
Drinks
Fee for use of video camera at Chichen Itza (between $10USD to $25USD)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

5:00 AM
The pick ups will start approximately at 5am. The exact pick up place and time will be confirmed the day before the tour
Travel to Chichen Itza for early direct access to the ruins. Follow your guide through the UNESCO World Heritage Site before most of the crowds arrive, allowing up-close access and a more tranquil experience.

Purchase your ticket and head inside through a direct entry to learn about the important role that this well-preserved site played in Mayan civilization between AD 600 and 1200 from your expert guide. Listen to your guide's explanation of how this pre-Colombian settlement was an important destination for pilgrimages and a center of worship for the Mayan people, which is still considered sacred today.

Visit the Temple of Kukulkan, the Temple of the Jaguars, the Temple of the Warriors and the Observatory. Hear about the meaning of the staircases, stone carvings, platforms, pyramids, and ball courts according to the mythology and cosmology of the ancient Mayan people.

Enjoy a delicious Mexican Buffet with vegetarian options, visit the colonial city of Valladolid, Yucatán’s third-largest city and finish your day swimming in a sacred cenote.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Cancun
Ride from Cancún or Riviera Maya to Chichén Itzá
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Chichen Itza
Your tour begins with an early morning departure. Arriving at Chichen Itza, join your specialized guide for an in-depth tour of the site, and enjoy the tranquility of your early-morning visit before the crowds arrive. Throughout the trip, your archaeological guide’s commentary provides essential background to the well-preserved site of Chichen Itza. Learn how this large pre-Colombian city played an important role in Mayan civilization from around A.D. 600 to 1200, and remained a center of worship and pilgrimage until the arrival of the Spanish. Even today, it is still considered a sacred site by the Yucatán peninsula’s Maya population. Like many of ancient Mexico’s cities, the site was abandoned, and its ruins were hidden by jungle. Hear how the site was discovered and unearthed by archaeologists, gaining UNESCO protection and considered today one of the New Seven Wonders of the World. Your guide will explain the philosophy, cosmology and mythology behind this ancient site, such as the meaning of the stone carvings, pyramids, platforms, ball courts and staircases. Visit the Observatory, Temple of the Jaguars, Temple of the Warriors and of course the famous El Castillo, also known as the Temple of Kukulkan.  Return around 3:00 p.m. With this Viator Exclusive, your early morning trip to Chichen Itza helps you to beat the crowds so you can enjoy the remainder of the afternoon at your own leisure!
Duration: 3 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Hotel Real del Mayab
Enjoy a delicious Mexican Buffet at a local restaurant
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Hacienda Selva Maya
Enjoy the experience of swimming in a Mayan Cenote
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • It is recommended that you bring comfortable walking shoes and camera
  • Note: An additional fee is required for the use of video camera at the site. The fee can be up to 25MXN (depending on the device) and must be paid directly on site on the day of the tour
  • Please note that all visitors to Chichen Itza will need to pay a local tax of 31 USD.
  • We care about your safety and we guarantee a safe route by toll road to Chichen Itza.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • The visit be only in English
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Amigo Tours Mexico
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
Do I need to bring my confirmation / ticket?
A:Please bring your ID and your voucher (printed or digital).
Dec 2020
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It is very hot there so make sure to bring water." See review
  • "It is absolutely advantageous to get up early and get into the door early." See review
  • "Definitely worth it to get there early before the heat sets in and crowds arrive." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
2,378 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 2,378 reviews
star-1
Horrible Experience
TommyLin
, Jun 2022
We were notified by the tour to be outside waiting at 5:25am. We had 3 kids and an infant so that is difficult for us. While waiting at 5:25am, I messaged the tour and they told me they made a mistake that it should've been 4:25am. Because of their mistake, we wasted an entire day because these tour has to be booked in a day in advance. Their response was sorry but we can reschedule you another day. Like wow.. that was the best you could offer? After much bickering, they only offer me a 10% refund for the tour and reschedule it. Since my family wanted to see chichen itza, we booked the tour for next day and lost out on visiting another place. When we got on the bus, the tour guide told us to go to the back and assigned us seats. I had to tell him my mom needs to sit in the front or she get car sick. Literally everyone else that got on the bus were allowed to sit wherever they wanted without him telling them where to sit but we were told to sit in the back?? The tour we bought specifically has a departure time at 5:00am but they already started picking people up at 4:00am and didn't really end picking people up till 6:00am. So you would have a lot of stops on the way. In their overview, they mentioned visiting Valladolid after the cenote. We did not go to that in the tour as well. So plan on spending first 2 hours picking people up across cancun at 4:00am.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ TommyLin Thank you for letting us know your opinion and for being part of this experience. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused. On the other hand, you were seated in the back since it was a family group of 11 people, we wanted you to be comfortable and together. An apology if you misunderstood our intention. We have it on record that you were picked up at 4:25 and the tour left for Chichen at 5:17 am, so you spent less than 1 hour on the bus. Dulce, Amigo Tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Early but well worth it!
Marisa_B
, Jun 2022
Even though our tour was unexpectedly cancelled, viator was able to immediately reschedule the next day. I would highly recommend this tour. It is an early day but so worth it to avoid major crowds. Frank, Juan, and Rodrigo make an amazing team. Very knowledgeable!!! Awesome!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Marisa_B Thank you very much let us know your comments, and encouraging us to continue providing extraordinary experiences. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Chichen Itza
Arvind_P
, Jun 2022
It was great experience with this tour that I purchased with this Viator on line. Every event was well on time with enough communications to keep us informed Pick up and drop off to our resort that was not in their schedule pick up point ,and still they managed to pick us and drop off precisely. The tour guide Marco was very informative with the history associated with Chichen Itza and very courteous man who took care of all our needs.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Arvind_P Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear you had an excellent experience. We look forward to seeing you soon. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Best tour ever
Valleen_S
, Jun 2022
Freddy was an amazing tour guide. He brought the history of Chichen Itza to life with his knowledge and personality. He really grasped my attention with his passion for the Mayan history! Lunch with the local Mayan village was always a great experience! 100% recommend this tour for anyone wanting to see both Chichen Itza and one of the cenotes!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Valleen_S, we are happy to know you had a great experience during this tour! thanks for sharing this adventure with us. Mariana, Amigo tours
star-5
Early access is the best!
Neena_M
, Jun 2022
Rodrigo, Rolando (driver) and Super Frank were amazing! It makes so much sense to go first thing in the morning. We beat the rush and the heat. Enjoyed the tour and explanations. Hotel pick up was punctual. Rodrigo our tour guide explained everything so well and made us feel very welcome. Great tour thank you to Rodrigo.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Neena_M, thanks for sharing your comments, Rodrigo will be happy to receive them. We hope to see you soon once again! Mariana, Amigo tours
star-5
Amigo Tours... Our Amigos!
Antoinette_A
, Jun 2022
The booking experience was straightforward. Questions were answered by the Amigo staff in good time before the trip. Bare in mind, this was tour was booked last minute the night before! We were picked up on time and made way to Chichen Itza. Antoine very hospitable driver despite the bumpy roads. Then the lovely tour master Marco introduced himself. Very friendly and accommodating. My cousin Amanda was unwell and l unexpectedly experienced really bad pain during the journey. When we arrived at Chichen Itza, I expressed to Marco she wasn't feeling well. I asked if there were any wheelchairs of facilities to accommodate Amanda. Marco gladly showed me an office where they kept wheelchairs. A straightforward process. Though Amanda was in pain, Marco really made her feel at comfort. He even pushed her wheelchair during the tour around the Mayan ruins. Such a wonderful and kind gesture - like a doting uncle. In Amanda's own words: "Unfortunately I began to feel unwell whilst on the tour. Marco personally saw to it that I had the things I needed to successfully navigate the day. He was so kind and thoughtful and ensured I was included throughout. he handled the situation with care and sensitivity for which I will be forever grateful. Marco is extremely knowledgeable, wise, entertaining and all round brilliant tour guide. Although a difficult experience for me, he managed to make the day memorable." Marco allowed us to wonder around the Samaal Cenote and take our Tequila. I bought a bottle of Coco tequila and I jumped in the Cenote. What an exhilarating experience, though I was scared! :) Overall, definitely great value for money. Only negative is the space van was very tight. Definitely book with Amigo Tours, you'll have an unforgettable experience and honestly, Marco is the real deal. You get a sense that he's about the real Mexican culture, storytelling of the history and has such a knowledgable and showman demeanor. Especially as for myself I'm very aware of the spiritual aspects i.e. 7 chakras and the science/technology of the Mayans. So fascinating. Thank you so much to Marco and Amigo Tours!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Antoinette_A, we are so happy to read your review, it is so heartwarming. It´s great to know Amanda was looked after Marco because those are the kind of experiences we want our customers to have, we truly want them to feel safe at every moment. Thanks for sharing this adventure with us, hope to see you soon once again :) Mariana, Amigo tours
star-3
Early access Chitchen Itza
TsengTeresa
, Jun 2022
Recommend: Early access is great! The tour guide at Chitchen Itza Raul is good. Not recommend: The van ride to Chitchen Itza but bumpy and uncomfortable. Driver forgot to turn on AC when returning from Chitchen Itza and it was terrible. We didn’t get to see the cenote near Chitchen Itza. Not enough time there. Only get to visit three “buildings” of Chitchen Itza. Buffet and the souvenir stop is not necessary. Next time I would recommend early access without the buffet.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear TsengTeresa, We are sorry that this experience was below your expectations, We will do anything that needs to be done to improve our services. Thanks for your comments, We will absolutely consider them. Mariana, Amigo tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Worth booking - a fun and educational experience
Tiffany_A
, Jun 2022
It was a great experience. Rodrigo, Frank and Julian were very knowledgable, giving lots of tips. Would definitely recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello dear Tiffany_A, we are happy to know you liked this tour, thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us :) Mariana, Amigo tours
star-5
Awesome Experience!
Amanda_W
, Jun 2022
This tour was the highlight of our trip! There were eight of us vacationing together and Freddy was fantastic! He was so friendly and knowledgeable and made us feel so welcomed to this beautiful part of the country! We all agreed that selecting the Early Entry was by far the best choice! We were among the first people to enter Chichen Itza, the heat wasn't too bad, and as we were finishing there the entrance lines were crazy! It was a bit tough waking up so early, but there's plenty of time to nap on the bus! The lunch and shopping were great and we loved swimming in the cenote, such a unique experience! Overall highly recommend it!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amanda_W, We are truly happy to know you enjoyed the tour which we created with so much love for our guests. We hope to see you soon! Mariana, Amigo tours
star-1
I am really disappointed...
Olga_B
, Jun 2022
I am really disappointed in this tour. It was mistake. tour send me information about point for pick up (Paradisus Cancun) but we stay at Paradisus Playa del Carmen. I sent request to change the point and they told me come at 4.20 am for another point (I should take a taxi to get there!!) It was impossible to get there so yearly!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello dear Olga_B, We are very sorry for this inconvenient, this is not the kind of experience that we want our customers to have, so, we are truly ashamed because of this. Please accept our most sincere apologies, we will do anything that needs to be done to improve our service. Kind regards Mariana, Amigo tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Highly Recommended
Miranda_G
, Jun 2022
This tour was absolutely amazing and probably my favorite part of this vacation. Our tour guides name was Freddie and he was the best. He was very professional, knowledgeable of Mayan history and his personality made it a very fun learning experience for us all. Our driver was Gustavo and he did a great job of transporting us to our destinations and back safely. Pickup time was accurate, the van was very comfortable with TV, AC and overhead storage. This is a very early tour but well worth it because you beat the extreme heat, avoid the large crowds and get the best pictures. The cenote was breathtaking! So if you want a good cenote experience I highly recommend this particular tour. I went for a tour earlier in my trip with a different company and the cenote we visited was dirty and looked nothing like the pictures. We were very disappointed. If you're looking for a great excursion you should definitely choose this one, each experience was great.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Miranda_G, Thank you very much for your comment! We truly appreciate your trust in Amigo Tours; our customers are the most important thing for us so We work hard everyday to offer them great experiences just like yours. We hope to see you soon again for another exciting adventure! Kind regards Mariana, Amigo Tours
star-5
Best way to experience Chichen Itza!
Gerardo_L
, Jun 2022
Marco was a great tour guide and extremely passionate about sharing his knowledge with the group. He also knew where to take the best pictures. The morning tour is perfect for avoiding crowds and the heat. The cenote we stopped at was extremely beautiful. Lastly we made a quick stop in Valladolid and had some amazing coconut ice cream in the town square. I also want to thank our driver Antonio for being prompt and attentive during the ride. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Gerardo_L, Your opinion is very important for us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you soon for a new adventure with Amigo tours! Kind regards Mariana, Amigo Tours
star-1
DO NOT BOOK IT IS A SCAM
Saira_A
, Jun 2022
If I could leave zero stars I’d do that. We never made it to this tour because Amigo Tours (the tour company in Mexico that partners with Viator) never picked us up. They promised us hotel pickup when we booked and then the day before the tour, they told us that they don’t do hotel pickup. We booked the deluxe tour, where this was supposed to be included. They told us they can’t refund us even though they won’t pick us up from our hotel. Instead, they told us to meet them at a sketchy casino at 530am 20 minutes away from our hotel. We got there ON TIME and waited for them along with other groups also waiting for the tour. We waited over an hour, in the dark, in some random part of Mexico, getting bitten by mosquitos with no access to a bathroom. We asked the security guard if anyone had come to pick up for a tour. He said no one had come at all and the only car he saw was at 2am. We called Amigo Tours multiple times and emailed them but no one answered. We called Viator and they were able to reach them (somehow) and Viator told us that they said they came to pick us up and we weren’t there. They also told us that they have VIDEO evidence that we weren’t there. We asked to see this “evidence” but were denied. Viator refused to give us a refund for this awful experience. We had to take a taxi and pay twice as much to see Chichen Itza. After wasting money on a taxi to this casino and back to our hotel for no reason, we spoke to the hotel staff about this. As soon as we said “Amigo Tours” they laughed at us, saying that they are a known scam in the area and that this is their M.O. The taxi driver we got told us the same thing. All the locals know about these people, so it’s interesting that Viator would not only partner with these type of people, but then SUPPORT THE SCAM and deny a refund. When we get back to the USA, we will be further reporting this in addition to this review.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Saira_A We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. Looking for more information about your reservation, we were able to verify that other clients with the same meeting point were picked up successfully, for that reason we are surprised to hear that you were unable to reach us. Unfortunately it is normal that you say a company and other service providers indicate that it is a bad company and encourage them to buy a similar product that they offer, it is an unfair practice that takes place at the destination. Dulce, Amigo Tours
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing day trip!
Benjamin_T
, Jun 2022
We had an amazing experience with Freddie as our tour guide and Manuel as our driver. They kept us entertained and were very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture and history. Although it was a struggle to get up so early with teenagers, it was great to be some of the first people at Chichen Itza! The only thing I would say is that it would have been nice to have more time to shop the vendors at Chichen Itza and a little more time to explore Valladolid. If you go swimming in the Cenote Saamal, please remember to take your phone to get once in a lifetime photos, and so you won’t be late for the bus (😂). Also, we LOVED the buffet at the Mayan community and the tequila tasting was very good! Our first experience in Mexico has been great!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Benjamin_T We love to show you our Mexico in the best way, in an experience that allows you to enjoy and live a little bit of what Mexico has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip, whether in Mexico or in the main destinations around the world. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-5
Great tour
Tom_M
, Jun 2022
Great tour by Freddy and Manuel! Only downside: The Mayan village felt a bit as a tourist trap but the food was good.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Amig@ Tom_M Thank you very much for your comments, it was a pleasure to serve you. The food is varied and delicious, we do our best to recommend you the best places for your service. Dulce, Amigo Tours
star-4
Great Vacation Experience
Naomi_H
, Jun 2022
The bus drive is really long and the tequila tasting is like a sip but the pyramids were very cool and the cenote beautiful!
star-5
The title is a bit...
Julian_A
, Jun 2022
The title is a bit misleading but the whole experience was still great so I have it five stars. It says early access to Chichen Itzá, but you make a few stops prior to reaching Chichen Itzá, we got there early but still nothing considered early access. The two stops made prior we’re welcome bathroom breaks but not much time to explore the old town and the lunch stop should have been later in the day. The stop at the Cenote was way to short for being the funnest part of the tour. At the end, it was a great time, great experience.
star-5
Amazing Experience
Khadeen_D
, Jun 2022
Frank was an amazing tour guide. He shared his history of the Mayan culture and provided such great hospitality and even waited extra time at the sites we stopped. This tour was well worth the price. Food at lunch was pretty good and the people are warm and inviting. We had ample time to spend at each stop to shop around and meet locals. I’d definitely go again and I would go with Frank.
star-5
Amazing :)
Shaka_M
, May 2022
What an experience with such a knowledgeable guide, Daniel. It was early but worth it! I would recommend it to anyone who visits Chichen Itza.
star-5
fun
Jeanette_P
, May 2022
Great experience with me and my friend. The tourist was hilarious, I wish I remembered his name. The tourist also took great photos! if you take reflective glasses he makes sure to get a pic of the pyramid in your glasses. Haha The note went by pretty quick, but beautiful, the food was great, I took snacks but I did not need them, I took comfortable shoes so no complaints here, I would recommend taking a sweater or small blanket because the ac in the bus is a little cold, but perfect for when you come back in from the heat outside :) sunscreen so you do no get sun burned! fell asleep on the ride back to hotel was a whole day thing.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour
Viator Exclusive: Chichen Itza Unique Entry, Buffet Lunch & Cenote English Tour

star-4.52377

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-474

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-4.5354

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-4.5196

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.34

star-55469

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-4.5248

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$77.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations