Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika

|
Bilbao, Spain

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Cruise the curvaceous coastline of Bilbao in a luxurious minivan on a guided tour of the city and its sights. See the intriguing industrial areas that propelled Bilbao into prosperity and visit significant landmarks like the Transporter Bridge of Bizkaia and the San Juan de Gaztelugatxe hermitage. Visit the quaint coastal villages that pepper the Basque Coast and absorb the tranquil ambiance of picturesque marinas on this enriching excursion.
  • Visit the Basque Coast and discover its beautiful sights
  • Stop at the impressive Transporter Bridge of Bizkaia
  • Enjoy transportation by car or mini-van
  • Knowledgeable, local guide
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop off
Professional guide
Transport by air-conditioned coach or minivan
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Please call the provider 48h before tour date in order to confirm the meeting point

Depart from your centrally located Bilbao hotel and climb aboard your comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Arrive at the colossal Transporter Bridge of Bizkaia and admire its industrial stature, then venture to the colorful neighborhood of Neguri to see crumbling colonial mansions owned by affluent merchants. 

Enjoy the scenic coastal splendor as you venture to the interior of the province; discover the imposing Castle of Burtron then travel towards the charming coastal village of Bakio to see why locals favor the spot for their summer sojourns. Arrive at the sublime San Juan de Gaztelugatxe, a location hailed as one of the Basque Coastlines most picturesque and admire the rugged rock formation that protrudes from the sea. 

Continue to Bermeo, a tranquil fishing village replete with winding narrow streets and impressive monuments like the Juradera Chruch and the Ercilla Tower. Enjoy some relaxed free time to explore the sights independently and allow your guide to recommend rustic restaurants for lunch (own expense). 

Next, travel to the site of Mundaka, a mirador that offers stunning views of the Urdaibai Biosphere, a UNESCO World Heritage-listed site. Conclude your tour with a visit to the village of Gernika to see the Basque sacred tree and the elaborate Law House stands beside it. Return directly to Bilbao in time for an afternoon siesta and bid farewell to your group and guide.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Puente Colgante Vizcaya
Photostop at the Vizcaya Bridge
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
San Juan de Gaztelugatxe
Photostop at the viewpoint, no ascend to the church included
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Bermeo
Short guided walking tour
Duration: 40 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Casa de Juntas
Guided visit to the Assembly House
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Please note that the Access to San Juan de Gaztelugatxe is not included on this tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Chldren will have 50% discount if accompained by 2 adults, from 2 to 12 years old.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 54 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Servicios Turisticos Integrales

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 54 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Basque Coast Tour: Vizcaya Bridge, Gaztelugatxe, Bermeo and Gernika.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
39 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews
star-5
Enjoyed the sights and the history
73CJG
, Sep 2019
Stephan did a great job informing our tour in Spanish and in English. Really enjoyed my time on this tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear client, Thank you for your comment. We will transfer your feedback to our guide.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Interesting day in the Basque Country
Bill386
, Mar 2019
The day was very busy, visiting 4 very interesting places.Each place was very distinct, and with the presentation by the guide Stefan, led to a good understanding of the basque culture and government
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear client, Thank you for your feedback.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
I took this tour thinking we were...
Eduardo C
, Sep 2018
I took this tour thinking we were visiting that island on the picture where the Game of Thrones was shot but disappointingly just visited a look out to see the island from afar. All in all the tour was good. The guide was knowledgeable and gave insights to the fight of the Basque people. It was amazing visiting these little known Basque town on our way to Guernica.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear client, I am glad to inform you that we have a new tour in order to visit San Juan De Gaztelugatxe: Gaztelugatxe Reach the Top full day tour. I hope you will visit us and you could enjoy it!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Not the tour we excepted
zkitti
, Jul 2018
The tour that we wanted and signed up for was not the tour we were on. We were very dissapointed that the tour discription on Viator did not match the tour we were on. The tour dates and descritions did not match. The tour we were on was for people who do not want to walk and sit confortable in a bus and see sights. Since, I have kids we wanted a tour that was more interactive . We left the tour midway through as the kids were bored with it. The tour is good for people who do not want to walk and who are very very interested in Basque History.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear client, Thank you for your feedback. We have changed the itinerary and description in order to avoid misunderstoods with future clients! Sorry for the inconveniences generated!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
WARNING: DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR IF...
Viviana M
, May 2018
WARNING: DO NOT TAKE THIS TOUR IF YOU WANT TO SEE SAN JUAN de Gaztelugatxe . Because you simply won't. You will be taken to a far away viewpoint the farthest of the two and you can see half of it from faraway. I booked this tour to see San Juan de Gaztelugatxe from Bilbao. I made a search using viator search tool and I chose the only tour that said had san juan de gaztelugatxe as one of the stops for Saturday. The tour page had even a nice picture of San Juan another picture of San. Juan would feature predominantly in the confirmation voucher both COMPLETELY MISLEADING!!! to illustrate the point that the tour would stop there. The description on viator page said:... Eventually arriving at your second stop, San Juan de Gaztelugatxe.. and continued to praise its beauty. WHICH YOU WON'T SEE!! Then I took the tour the morning I booked it for and when it came to San Juan de Gaztelugatxe, they took us to a viewpoint the further away one, as I discovered on my own there was another one reachable by cars and a lot closer. They lied to my face saying it was the only one reachable by car, but a taxi came later to pick me up from a closer location and a better Mirador -viewpoint. I hate when people lied to you because they think you won't find out. I went on my own and found out their claims were false where you could hardly see the site too far and covered by trees, I have attached a picture of what we saw from there. Tell me you can call that viewing a site: what a joke! and that, according to them, was that. Our second stop at the site was not at the site, we spent 4 minute, were given a very short explanation of 2 minutes the other 2 minutes were used by me complaining that was not acceptable and they wanted to move on. I felt so cheated. So cheated. We did not see the site, we had a glimpse of it!!!! And this was simply taking the piss out of consumers!!! Really, look at the picture I have enclosed which does not resemble the ones on viator at all and honestly tell me that counts as seeing the site. Obviously not. My only reason to take the tour was to see our second stop. But I WANTED to SEE it!!! Anyway, the information provided to me were clearly incorrect and false! I didn't receive what I was promised. I would have never paid for this tour had I known I would be so cheated and not taken when stated in the description!!! I certainly want a refund!!!! This was a joke! Also tip: you can reach the other destinations by bus and it will cost you about 4 euro. And you will also spare yourselves the Basque propaganda. Obviously this way of doing things simply translates into trying to get money out of people providing the wrong information!!! Anyway, just don't choose this if you want to see San Juan de Gaztelugatxe. You would be wasting your money and time.
icon Response from Host , May 2018
TOUR OPERATOR COMMENT: Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your tour experience and regret any misunderstandings while you were on tour. Please be advised, we have another tour, "Gaztelugatxe, Reach the top," which is the best option to visit San Juan de Gaztelugatxe. You would have had to select this option when placing your booking to receive 2-hours of free time in the area to explore at your leisure. The Basque Coast tour only stops at the viewpoint for a short explanation and photos. This is a 5-hour tour and visits many different places, which is why time is more limited at this stop. We are disappointed to learn you did not continue with the tour and instead chose to leave half-way through but hope you were still able to enjoy your overall time in Spain.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Ok tour to get lay of the land but...
Chase
, Jul 2017
Ok tour to get lay of the land but not very detailed. some of the major sites you just drive by and see like Butron castle - seen from distance and thought we would get up close. Main site of the hermitage also just see from distance. Bus seats were way too small and not comfortable. ..
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Good tour, experienced guide with...
federico.ninetto
, Aug 2016
Good tour, experienced guide with overall good service. We focused the day on the Basque culture, which we appreciated a lot. But one thing let us disappointed: due to lack of time we skipped the Butron Castle, which was shown us through the guide's i-phone. We didn't understand this actually, because in fact we thought the time for a quick visit was enough. We think that to give a high service the tour leader should make as much as possible to guarantee all the tour steps. Anyway, recommended if you don't want to drive by yourself
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
We had a wonderful time on our tour...
Arlene C
, Jul 2016
We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide Stefan was knowledgeable, informative and entertaining, he was great! The scenic drive was pleasant. We really enjoyed Casa de Juntas in Gernikara Guernica and having pintxos with our guide. I only wish there was time to explore San Juan de Gaztelegutxe, perhaps it should have it's own tour. Overall, we had a great time. Definitely recommend this tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
My wife and I went on this tour with...
Richard H
, Nov 2015
My wife and I went on this tour with our 21 year old son - the three of us had a very nice day in this small group tour. Pedro was an excellent driver and guide - very friendly and knowledgeable about everything that we saw and experienced. Much appreciated.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
This tour showed us the overall...
William C
, Oct 2015
This tour showed us the overall Basque coast and the history of the people. The tour guide Pedro was very informative and made the tour interesting. The driver of the van was very good also, however the company should maintain the vehicle better. Something was wrong with the van and we had to pull over.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 348401EBIURBEGE

Explore Similar Things to Do