Recent Searches
Clear

Giants Causeway, Rope Bridge, Carrickfergus Castle and Dark Hedges Tour

star-4.588 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Belfast, United Kingdom
Giants Causeway, Rope Bridge, Carrickfergus Castle and Dark Hedges Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The Giant’s Causeway is one of the most popular natural wonders in Northern Ireland and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. With this tour, get more out of your time in Belfast, by traveling along the entire Antrim Coastal Road and seeing a variety of top landmarks along the way, rather than just the Giant’s Causeway. Highlights include the Carrick-a-Rede Road Bridge, Carrickfergus Castle, and filming sites from “Game of Thrones”.
  • Tick off lots of Northern Ireland highlights in a day on this guided tour
  • Visit a UNESCO World Heritage Site—the Giant’s Causeway
  • Enjoy a scenic drive along the Antrim Coastal Road
  • Visit the Dark Hedges—a filming location from the “Game of Thrones”
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Fuel surcharge
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks
Gratuities
29 Donegall Rd , 29 Donegall Rd, Belfast BT12 5JJ, UK

You will find us facing the international youth hostel

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infant seats available
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Allens Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
88 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 88 reviews
star-2
Don't expect too much -but cheap option to see Giant's Causeway
Barbara_J
, Jun 2022
Yes, it's cheap and you are going to see Giant's Causeway - but that's about it. Only when the bus left we learnt that we would not to go the rope bridge as it has not fully re-opened yet. I had to sit right next to the accordeon of a pretty old bus - no window and I had trouble understanding what the driver said as the quality of the microphone was poor. The driver did not try too hard to make it a pleasant day - a toilet break, one quick photo stop and a lunch break at an overcrowed venue - that was all we saw til we reached Giant's Causeway in the afternoon. Hardly enough time to see the Dark Hedges. We could have made more out of the day.
star-5
Great trip
Brandy_H
, May 2022
Our guide Francis was great. He took the time to explain both historical events and local culture. He pointed out interesting sites.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Brandy Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad you had a great day out.
star-5
Loved it
Anna
, May 2022
Lovely tour guide and amazing day. Saw so much for such a decent price. The lunch spot was designed for coaches, and not at all as bad as some are saying.
star-3
The Giants Causeway was...
Mavis_F
, May 2022
The Giants Causeway was incredible and spectacular. We stopped at a place for lunch but this was a waste of time.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, there are no cheap restaurants up the coast and we go to the most reasonably priced restaurant which is family-run.
star-4
Great tour and excellent value for money
Karen_W
, Apr 2022
Great tour if you want to get away from the City. Nice stop at Carrickfergus Castle, followed by a stop off at a viewpoint of the rope bridge which was unfortunately closed. Great views of the Scottish Isles in the distance. We then stopped at a Cafe about 5 mins drive from Giants Causeway. I would have given 5 star review had we not stopped here. It is clearly a purpose built cafe for coach trips, charging extortionate prices for crap food. We paid 11.95 for a bowl of slop which was passed off as seafood chowder, the cafe then charged £1.50 for a slice of bread! We got in the coach and drove less than 5 mins to the start of the Giants Causeway where there is a lovely pub. The NOOK, which served lovely food in pleasant surroundings for a reasonable price. Visiting the rock formation of Giants Causeway certainly was worth it. All in all a lovely day with a great driver who had a great sense of humour. Our advice take a picnic or wait till you get to The Nook pub for your lunch.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your kind review Karen. Unfortunately there are no cheap restaurants up the coast it is a bit of a tourist trap. We would love for everyone to have their lunch in The Nook but with our tours we may have 50-100 passengers going up the coast and The Nook is very small and couldn't accommodate so many people. We are glad you had a great day out with our company.
star-2
Horrible bus, just fine tour
Vasiliki_Z
, Apr 2022
Very very old bus and dirty too. Horrible. The tour itself was just fine. Also the group was really huge, about 70-75 people.. They could have broken this into two for a better experience. Be aware that the bridge has been closed for 2 years now. Not the tour operator's fault obviously but it’s not noted anywhere so keep this in mind. The bus driver is also the “tour guide”. Very average experience…
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review although some of your details are incorrect. The bus was not old and dirty and was completely cleaned inside and out before you entered it as we do with all of our vehicles on a daily basis as COVID is still a big problem that we are still having here and around the world and you are the only person that seems to have a problem with everything as we have had other reviews that say differently.
star-4
Good trip to Giant causeway
arindam_b
, Apr 2022
It was a good trip and well guided tour. But you could have add rope bridge as well. Since it is close but at least buses can go near to the spot so that people can take photos at least.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. Buses cannot get into the rope bridge or anywhere near it as they have put a big barrier up stopping vehicles going in plus it is closed and nobody is allowed in at the moment and this is ran by The National Trust which has nothing to do with our company.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great time!
Sarah_E
, Apr 2022
We had such a lovely time! Lots of information was given about the area, beautiful scenery, and a delightful guide!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your kind review Sarah and we are glad you had a great day out.
star-5
brilliant
Lara_N
, Apr 2022
very good experience, the driver and guide is very attentive and friendly! the route is very good, although the suspension bridge is closed. for the rest the views of each stop are spectacular, and our unbeatable guide
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Lara thank you for your review and we are so glad you had a great day out with our company.
star-4
Giants causeway is a must...
Brooke_W
, Mar 2022
Giants causeway is a must if your going to Belfast, really worth the trip! Unfortunately the red rope bridge was shut for our trip so can't comment.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your kind review Brooke. The rope bridge has been closed since the very first lockdown 2 years ago and the National Trust have not reopened it. They have put a big barrier up so we can't even get a bus onto site.
star-5
Lindsay is brilliant
Lorma_S
, Mar 2022
Lindsay was a brilliant host. Knowledgeable fun and respectful. All stops brilliant with plenty of time but no time pressure
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you Lorma for your kind review and we are so happy you had a great day. I will pass your kind words to Lindsay he will be so happy.
star-5
Nice trip ever
Sanjida_A
, Feb 2022
Whole tour is well organised. Love the food in giant burn. It’s really amazing to Listen a lovely man in the bus.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you Sanjida for your kind words and we are so glad you had a great day out with our company. I will pass your kind words on to the restaurant and to our driver Lindsay.
star-5
The whole family enjoyed...
Aijie_Z
, Feb 2022
The whole family enjoyed the guided tour very much. Extremely satisfied with guide Linsey (sorry if this is a wrong spelling). He was very knowledgeable, professional and helpful . I will definitely recommend Allen’s Tour to friends and families.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your kind review and we are so happy you had a great day out with your family. I will pass your kind words on to Lindsay he will be so happy.
star-4
It was an amazing...
Neha_D
, Feb 2022
It was an amazing experience, enough information has been given by driver about visited destinations.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy you had a great day.
star-5
Hilarious
Vanessa_L
, Jan 2022
A fun ride and a very informative tour. We enjoyed it thoroughly. Definitely recommend this. You may want to carry snacks with you because the lunch stop may not suit your taste and is also overpriced.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hi Vanessa thank you for your kind review and we are so happy you enjoyed your day. Unfortunately up the coast there are no cheap restaurants it is a bit of a tourist trap.
star-5
Great tour
Jade_C
, Jan 2022
Loved this tour. Driver was super knowledgeable and highlighted places during the whole trip such as the police station and the university. Tour was organised really well. Many toilet breaks and time divided up well. Lunch is in a cafe which is a tad pricey but you can bring sandwiches and eat outside. All stops are worthwhile seeing, but can be cold so wrap up warm and bring a brolly
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you had a great day.
star-4
Great tour
Madison_S
, Dec 2021
It wasn’t clear that a lot is closed because of Covid (which I understand), so I only wish that had been reflected in the description of the tour. But otherwise we still had a great time and got to see a lot!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your day. Due to government funded bodies that operate some of the attractions they don't have the same stamina as the rest of us in the real world and we can only apologise on their behalf.
star-5
Getaways Belfast tour
Jenneth_P
, Oct 2021
It’s amazing views and beautiful places in Belfast ! I’ve enjoyed all of them! The tourist guide Lindsey was hilarious and helpful!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your review. I will pass your kind words to our driver Lindsay he will be over the moon.
star-5
Great tour
Supriya_D
, Sep 2021
The tour was perfectly timed. Our guide Lyndsey made us laugh on his jokes. Everything was great. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you Supriya for your review, I will pass your kind words to Lindsay our driver. Have a wonderful day
star-3
Nice
DenisaGabriela_U
, Aug 2021
My driver Lindsay was fantastic. Such a lovely man. The trip itself was okay for the most part. I think the description needs to be updated - we didn’t stop at Carrickfergus… had another pit stop in a different town but I feel like Carrickfergus would’ve been cute to walk around in. Also, the rope bridge is closed so we were only taken to a viewpoint. Again, the description needs to be updated on the site as it advised 1h30min there. Giant’s causeway was wonderful! So gorgeous for a walk/easy hike and really relaxing. It’s free as well - you just walk down the road (don’t need to overpay for an useless audio guide just go explore on your own). Before giant’s causeway we stopped for lunch at Giant’s Barn - this wasn’t my style as i am not big on home cooked foods… i much prefer overly processed junk, so if you’re like me you’re better off bringing your own snacks. The dark hedges were okay, considering we didn’t spend so much time in other places that were advertised on the website when i booked it I hoped for more time at the hedges (they’re meant to get more dramatic the further you get). We only stopped at the entrance and snapped a few pics. Overall it was a good day trip but they need to update their “what to expect “ description as obviously some places are closed because of this flu going around.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your day. Unfortunately there was a fun fair at Carrickfergus which had caused some confusion but the council have now sorted out a different coach park for when these events are happening as a result of your review so thanks again

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Giants Causeway, Rope Bridge, Carrickfergus Castle and Dark Hedges Tour
Giants Causeway, Rope Bridge, Carrickfergus Castle and Dark Hedges Tour

star-4.588

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$31.22

star-5781

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.45

star-4.5104

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$43.71

star-4.549

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$43.71

star-4.561

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.45

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.83

star-4.53

4 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$623.22
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations