Recent Searches
Clear

Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Barcelona, Spain
Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Venture into the Catalan countryside to visit Montserrat and go wine tasting on this full-day tour from Barcelona. Take a guided tour through the Basilica and Monastery on Montserrat, a beautiful, multi-peak mountain with dramatic rock formations, with free time to continue exploring the museum, farmer's market, or views from the ridge of Cavall Bernat. Afterward, visit the winery of Oller de Mas for a cellar tour, wine tasting, and a multi-course, Catalan meal.
  • Full-day tour to Montserrat from Barcelona
  • Learn about the Santa Maria de Montserrat Abbey on a guided tour
  • Explore the cellar and vineyards of the Oller del Mas winery
  • Enjoy a multi-course, Catalan meal at the winery's restaurant, including wine

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Tour Monserrat before a multi-course lunch and wine tastings—not Cava—at a castle winery on this trip.
Saved to wishlist!
Shared transportation in a comfortable air-conditioned bus
Local English-speaking tour guide
Guided visit to Montserrat Monastery
Free time at Montserrat
Multi-course Catalan meal with wine
Guided visit to a boutique winery
3 wine tasting
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Pl. de Catalunya, 21, 08002 Barcelona, Spain

Please meet your guide by the  Hard Rock Café at the above address. Look for someone holding a bright pink umbrella. The tour departs at 10:00 am, please meet strictly at 9:45 am.

Departure Time

10:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The tour leaves from Plaza Catalunya, 21 (by the Hard Rock Café) – look for the pink umbrella.
  • The tour departs at 10:00 am (meet strictly at 9:45 am).
  • There is a limit of 16 people per guide, although transportation will be shared with other groups.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to modify itinerary if considered necessary. Please notify us if you are interested in hearing the boys' choir during this experience.
  • Please note that the Boys’ Choir doesn’t perform on Saturdays, school holidays and several other dates throughout the year.
  • We work daily with different low-production, family-owned boutique wineries. Due to logistic reasons, you might visit another cellar instead of Oller del Mas.
  • Comfortable clothes and shoes are recommended as there is some walking involved.
  • Temperatures in Montserrat and the winery tend to be more extreme than in Barcelona. Please check the weather forecast the day before and dress accordingly. We advise bringing water, especially in the summer season.  
  • Infants aged 3 or less may join the tour free of charge, but note that no car seat or meals are provided.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • If you have reduced mobility, please contact us before booking. We do our best to welcome everyone on board!
  • We cater for any dietary allergies or restrictions – no need to warn us beforehand.
  • Please note that we reserve the right to modify itinerary if considered necessary. Please notify us if you are interested in hearing the boys' choir during this experience.
  • Our company is composed of a deeply committed team of people. We are working hard in our team, and with all our partners, to be up to the current circumstances. When operating, all our services will abide by all health and security policies issued by the competent administrations. Our top priority is and will be ensuring a safe environment for all our customers and our team.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The tour is lead in English
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Castlexperience Wine Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It is easy to highly recommend this trip for friends and family." See review
  • "The funicular to Santa Cava is under repair, so if you want to visit there the hike is strenuous and will take over an hour to hike as trail is steep." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
1,721 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 1,721 reviews
star-5
Highly recommend Montserrat tour
Nancy_P
, Nov 2021
We enjoyed this tour very much except it was very windy and very cold on the day of our tour. David was an excellent tour guide.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi, Nancy! Last week we had very windy days indeed! We are very sorry you had one of those in your tour! Thank god you had David to compensate for the wind :P Thank you so much for posting!
star-5
Money well spent, highlight of my trip.
OOkorie
, Nov 2021
Absolutely amazing! If I ever visit Catalonia (Barcelona) again I WILL do this tour. It is DEFINITELY worth the money. The tour guides had a great sense of humor and made the experience enjoyable. I can’t remember my guide’s name unfortunately but he’s half Spanish and half Mexican. He was hilarious and very knowledgeable about the history of Catalonia. This tour did not only have great views but also I learned a lot. I’m having trouble uploading photos so I regret I can’t show exactly the tour but I just wanted to say this tour was honestly the highlight of my trip to Barcelona. I was on the fence since I’ve never paid this much for a tour but I’m glad I did. We got to see the mountainside, vineyards, visited a farmers market (got me hooked on goat Brie!) and a very famous church with a lot of history. Only downside was because of my allergy to nuts I couldn’t have the tiramisu cake they provided for dessert 😭 and instead had a bowl of grapes instead (the grapes were delicious though!) There is a slight little hike for some of the views so I would just wear comfortable shoes! They provided transportation from downtown Barcelona to and from so it was a very convenient.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear traveler! Thank you for your kind words about our tour and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time. We appreciate your great comments regarding our wonderful guide Merak. Please rest assured your comments will be passed among our guide. We would love to welcome you again and thank you for recommending us! Warm regards, Castlexperience Team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
The balance of time...
Nancy_B
, Nov 2021
The balance of time between Montserrat and the winery was bad- we were really rushed at Montserrat (slightly less than two hours there) and then were just sort of hanging about at the winery (four hours or so) at the end.  It was frustrating.  Also, the bus didn't have alot of leg room.  And I'm only 5'8".  Highlights:  My guide Marta was super knowledgeable both about the history and the wine, and really funny.  Lunch was delicious.  Montserrat was gorgeous.  But I'd tell friends to find a tour that just went to Montserrat so they had longer there- I wouldn't recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hello again, Nancy! We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. We think that there is always room for improvement and this is the best way to know what we need to improve. Because of that, we really appreciate your honest comments. Regarding Montserrat and its free time, we had a tour that offered 2 hours of free time after the guided tour. However, due to the consequences the pandemic had in our company, we had to change some itineraries and schedules and we are not operating that tour at the moment. We hope to start operating it again next year if things continue to be stable regarding the global pandemic. I am sorry you did not have the opportunity to join that tour since, regarding your feedback, it would have been the perfect match for you. Being said, we really appreciate your honest feedback and we hope we can welcome you again any other time and delight you with the beautiful tours that we are use to do. Thank you again for your feedback and for joining us on tour :) Best wishes,
star-5
Montserrat and Oller de Mas Winery
Allison_L
, Nov 2021
Excellent trip. I did the same tour 4 years ago and it was even better this time. Pol is an outstanding guide. He is very knowledgeable and has mastered the English language.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi, Allison! First of all, thank you for choosing our tours again! For us truly it means a lot :) Thank you for such a flattering review, we love being described the way you did! And Pol surely will be delighted to read this as well Third time anytime soon? :P Best Regards
star-5
This tour was totally worth it!
w6b6ymvbwc
, Nov 2021
The trip was wonderful. The Monserrat portion is a little rushed, but it would take a full day to experience all of the immediate parts of Montserrat. I think this was great to be able to catch Monserrat and also experience a relaxing lunch (wonderful food), and great wine tasting. Marta was wonderful as a host!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear traveler, Thank you so much for your lovely words. We really appreciate you for taking the time to write this review, and specially for mentioning Marta’s good job. We are glad you enjoyed the tour. Don't hesitate to come to visit us again if you are in Barcelona! Best wishes, Castlexperience team
star-4
Lunch lacking.
Kate_B
, Nov 2021
Ok so, the good; the Monserrat is gorgeous and the cogwheel train is great. I had a hard time finding a description, so you meet up and get on a mega bus. You’re assigned to a guide, and get off/on the bus at their direction. Gourmet lunch for us was roast duck leg, 1/2 a small potato and 2 spears of wilted asparagus. I had special diet requests in our party and I’m not a huge fan or duck. So, instead we got a gourmet soy pattie. That is their primary option if you don’t like a leg of duck. The wine at lunch is limited and the tasting is long and at a hotel like establishment. Aurora was great to the others in our group, but felt she was particularly annoyed by me. “Can I not have duck?” Was met with “that’s why we asked earlier”. I would have preferred better food, and less of a cattle car experience.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Kate! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed Montserrat and the cogwheel train! Regards the lunch part of our tour, we are sorry to read that you felt disappointed with the options offered, once said so, I would love to say that wine and food are a matter of taste – and in this case we are terribly sorry that the expectations you had placed in our tour were not met. What it really concerns me it is the fact you felt Aurora was annoyed by you. We have received many beautiful emails and reviews commenting on her performance. I have passed your feedback on to her and she is really sorry for the bad feeling you had on your tour, that was not her intention at all, in fact, every time we have a tour our guides are meant to send us a feedback with everything that was related to the tour. On your date, there were only 14 people in your group and Aurora told us the tour was great, not only Montserrat but the wine tours as well, she mentioned that you had a gorgeous view at the winery with the Autumn lights and she pointed that on the tour seems like everyone was having a great time. However, we still think that there is always room for improvement and our only goal is for you to feel satisfied by the end of the tour, and we are deeply sorry we couldn´t meet your expectations. As I mentioned, we truly appreciate your honest comments as this is the only way to improve. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and thank you for joining us. Best regards, Víctor J Castlexperience Team
star-5
We’ll Worth It!
Phyllis_C
, Nov 2021
Our whole experience was a delight. Marta, our guide, was very knowledgeable, yet humerus about the tour sights. The monastery at Monserrat was a breathtaking sight, especially on a cool fall day. The lunch of duck confit was was absolutely delicious, accompanied by two fabulous wines! The winery was a lovely ending to our day, again with tastings of unique Catalonian wines!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hey, Phyllis! Thank you so much! We could not agree with you more when it comes Montserrat! It is such a magical place that one simply has to visit. Of course, we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed with Marta and the tour in general. I mean, what can go wrong when you finish the day with a wine tasting and stunning views right? Thank you so much for joining!
star-5
Best day on my trip
Maristela_B
, Nov 2021
The tour guide Pol was amazing, super knowledgeable. It’s was such a great day. I would highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Dear Maristela, On behalf of all the team I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our tours! We are very happy to read you enjoyed the tour as much as you enjoyed your guide’s work. Please rest assured your comments will be passed on to Pol. Warm regards
star-3
Need More Time At Monserrat
JoAnn_F
, Oct 2021
The fog was very low so we couldn’t see anything. Had to pay extra to see the Black Madonna. If the whether was good the time spent in Monserrat would not be enough. Too much time at the winery.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hello again! We are very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. We think that there is always room for improvement and this is the best way to know what we need to improve. Because of that, we really appreciate your honest comments. Regarding Montserrat and its free time, we had a tour that offered 2 hours of free time after the guided tour. However, due to the consequences the pandemic had in our company, we had to change some itineraries and schedules and we are not operating that tour at the moment. We hope to start operating it again next year if things continue to be stable regarding the global pandemic. I am sorry you did not have the opportunity to join that tour since, regarding your feedback, it would have been the perfect match for you. Being said, we really appreciate your honest feedback and we hope we can welcome you again any other time and delight you with the beautiful tours that we are use to do. Thank you again for your feedback and for joining us on tour :) Best wishes,
star-5
Best part of our visit to Barcelona.
MARCELA_S
, Oct 2021
Our guide Victor was amazing and very informative. He made us feel like family. We visited the monastery and the beautiful nature around it. We took a tour of the Montserrat Museum. Lunch was incredible and we had the best table in the restaurant. We toured a winery that has belonged to the same family for 36 generations and produces delicious wines. The whole day well planned and carefully executed. Worth every penny and more. An absolute must. We loved it and would do it again.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hi there! Thank you so much for sharing your experience! Víctor will be happy to read your review :) We love that you think that this tour is a must! The truth is that it is hard not to enjoy Montserrat, the views, the food and the wine tasting! Especially with such a great tour guide :) We’re very lucky to count with amazing guides like Víctor in the team. They are very enthusiastic and their passion for our culture is contagious! Thanks also for mentioning the planning and execution! There is a fantastic team backstage and I am sure they will love to read your comments! Best wishes!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting
Montserrat Tour with Lunch and Gourmet Wine Tasting

star-51721

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$115.03

star-51222

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.26

star-523

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$143.86

star-4.5930

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$104.23

star-534

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$245.13

star-4.528

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-56

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$245.13

star-4128

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$113.94

Explore Similar Things to Do