Recent Searches
Clear

Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Atlanta, United States
Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Atlanta is known as 'the Black Mecca' for its wealth of African-American culture and history—and this half-day, small-group tour offers a comprehensive introduction to the city's key neighborhoods, landmarks, and more. Pick between morning and afternoon tour times, meet your guide in Downtown Atlanta, and travel in an air-conditioned vehicle. You'll see neighborhoods like Sweet Auburn, will visit local Civil Rights landmarks, will immerse yourself in Black arts and culture, and more.
  • Learn all about Atlanta's Black culture, history, and traditions
  • This small-group tour is capped at 12 participants for a personal feel
  • See more of Atlanta in less time when you travel via air-conditioned vehicle
  • Visit African-American neighborhoods, Civil Rights landmarks, and more
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
3-4 stops for exploring and selfies (lunch-stop is optional)
Driver/ Local Tour guide
Bottled water
Gratuities (suggested)
Food
Child Car Seat
Parking rates range $10-$30 Parking lots are located about one block from Atlanta Marriott Marquis
Atlanta Marriott Marquis , 265 Peachtree Center Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30303, USA

Meetup at the hotel’s STREET curbside for pickup (You’ll see a big grey sign on the hotel STREET curbside entrance that’ll display “Marriott Marquis Atlanta” The sign is located directly across the street from the Hyatt Regency. Paid-parking is available one block from the hotel. Arrive 15min early

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.
  • Atlanta Marriott Marquis Hotel is the meet-up location for all travelers. Good location that's using using Marta train riders, Uber/Lyft drop offs. The hotel has comfortable lobby seating, clean bathrooms, and Starbucks (opened 6am-1pm only) Parking is available, but isn't free! The parking garages and lots are located about one block from the hotel. Parking rates range $10-$30. Please arrive 15-20 min before tour departure.
  • Tour operates in all weather. Umbrella or rain poncho is recommended for for light rain. For extreme weather conditions, please call the phone number on your voucher to reconfirm tour operation.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • The morning tour starts from 9:30am-1:30pm and the afternoon tour 2:00pm-6:00pm
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Roundabout Atlanta Tours and Transportation
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Omar guide great- driver Ron great- Van way too cramped and uncomfortable -would not recommend without a more comfortable van!" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

5.0
star-5
426 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 426 reviews
star-5
Our travel ambassador...
Florine_L
, Aug 2022
Our travel ambassador Jeff was the best! So many sights and he was loaded with facts. I learned so much. I would definitely recommend this tour to others visiting Atlanta. He knew the area.
star-5
Great experience
Andrea_H
, Aug 2022
I was very impressed with the whole tour the information given was excellent Jeff was considerate knowledgeable and professional great experience
star-5
Atlanta’s Finest
India_P
, Aug 2022
The tour guide was very knowledgeable and went above and beyond to ensure everyone walked away with knowledge regarding present day Atlanta as well as the historical facts of Atlanta. I recommend this air conditioned ride. I would recommend this tour for families and groups just wanting to have a good time!
star-5
Authentically Black
James_S
, Aug 2022
All of it! I thought I knew Black Atlanta but Jeff our guide brought us to places I didn’t know about.
star-5
An eye opening and captivating experience.
Albert_G
, Aug 2022
Just experiencing the tour and seeing first hand places that I’ve heard about. The tour guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and engaging. My granddaughter is in high school and is already looking at various colleges, therefore that part of the tour was greatly appreciated. Over all it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it to others.
star-5
Certified ATL-lien!!!!
Veronica_W
, Aug 2022
Our tour guide was amazing. J was funny, charismatic and extremely knowledgeable of the city of Atlanta. He was also a helpful gentleman when it came to the elderly passengers on the tour. He used innovative personality to make our travel fun. Our awesome guide, covered everything from the history of the city to the happening spots to “Grady Babies.” We had a wonderful time.
star-5
Great time
Cherish_W
, Aug 2022
Jeff was super kind, generous, thoughtful, and FUNNY. He has so much knowledge and knows his city!!!
star-5
Awesome adventure
Tammie_W
, Aug 2022
Omar was wonderful. He was knowledgeable and humble. I can’t wait to return and bring friends to experience this journey. What a beautiful time I had.
star-5
Jeff was an excellent...
Kimberly_A
, Jul 2022
Jeff was an excellent tour guide, He knows Atlanta very well and his pride and love for the city is evident. He was engaging and had a great sense of humor. It was a wonderful experience and I’d highly recommend i!
star-5
Great tour of the city’s rich and full history with African American influences!
Monique_K
, Jul 2022
This tour was absolutely amazing, our tour guide Omar went above and beyond to make sure we understood the full and rich history this city holds with the influence of African Americans and the history of course. My hubby and I enjoyed every part of the tour, great stops, pictures we will cherish forever and was able to meet some very nice people along the way!
star-5
Iowa in the ATL
mlwilder
, Jul 2022
It was fabulous! Jeff was the perfect driver and tour guide! Very knowledgeable and totally fun! From the pick up point, on the drive through downtown, Tyler Perry studio, to the college row( we didn’t know Spelman and Morehouse were literally across the campus from each other!) to the Dr.Martin L. King center…. Absolutely amazing! I only wished we could have stopped at the mural of ATLANTA by the centennial area to take pictures!
star-5
Our Tour Guide Omar, was...
Omolara_S
, Jul 2022
Our Tour Guide Omar, was very knowledgeable and professional. He gave us historical information about the sights. He was very friendly and considerate.
star-5
Worth the money
Tamika_B
, Jul 2022
Jeff was great. Provided a lot of additional information. We really enjoyed this tour. His tour guide style was laid-back and casual, and fun.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fantastic Learning and Exploring Adventure
Gretchen_C
, Jul 2022
This was an informative and fun tour. Jeff was a great guide; very friendly and accommodating. The van was roomy and had cool air conditioning. Jeff had us sign up on an app to share photos amongst the (private) group, which was awesome! The tour I was on had a group of four women, a group of two women, and me and my service dog. He brought us all together, learning and laughing, and at the end we were exchanging contact information to keep in touch.
star-5
Great Day innAtlanta
deniseeduffy
, Jul 2022
Fun day with a great entertaining , funny and knowledgeable guide. Friendly atmosphere. I have done many aviator tours and rate them all highly.
star-5
Thoroughly Enjoyed This Tour!
Justin_W
, Jul 2022
The trip was simultaneously an affordable and authentic take on the history and city that is Atlanta. The guide does an amazing job of telling the stories of the historical people and places that make Atlanta great! The guide was also very humorous and provides great details that stoke the interests of attendees. We visit all important communities that make up Atlanta and its connection to the Black experience. If you are looking for a good tour of the city, def consider taking this tour.
star-1
Never AGAIN!!!
Shirley_B
, Jul 2022
Inadequate seating on the bus! Tour was not taken. Requesting a refund for Tour taken on 7/2. Van did not fit 10 adult size passengers. My spouse and I had to catch a Lyft to get back to our location. We drove over a 1000 miles for this tour and was very excited and to be treated like that is a very unpleasant feeling. I hope this is not what is referred as southern hospitality!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Ma’am, That particular Van you we're in was a 14 passenger van, suited for 14 regular adult sized passengers. You basically took it upon yourself to exit the van on your own recognases mid-tour, which does NOT mean you get a refund. According to you...you were visiting relatives in Georgia and decided to take our tour. You did not come 1000 miles from MD just for our tour. We have had thousands of customers take our tour and has never been SLANDERED by any one stating this is a scam. As I stated previously we have successfully been in business for over 10 years and this is NOT A SCAM and we are shocked and appalled by this statement. It's unfortunate that your experience wasn't to your liking and we sincerely wish you and your wife love peace and good health for the future.
star-5
Best Tour!!
Serena_M
, Jun 2022
Great tour and definitely recommend it to everyone. Our tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable. Would definitely do it again.
star-5
Great
Jackie_G
, Jun 2022
The history and our guide so informative loved the Martin Luther king stuff and the neighbourhood areas
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The entire tour was...
Cynthia_Y
, Jun 2022
The entire tour was great. Tyler Perry Studios, the Beltway, Freedom Hall were all equally impressive..Jeffery was a great tour guide. He was a wealth of information and provided a lot of unknown tidbits. Would definitely recommend to others.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour
Atlanta's Black History and Civil Rights Tour

star-5419

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-537

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$158.98

star-5272

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$40.00

star-561

15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-4.58

20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$89.99

star-4.553

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-424

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$36.99

star-00

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$170.00

star-5159

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$70.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations