Recent Searches
Clear

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City and Giants House Tour

star-3.514 Reviews
|
Canterbury, New Zealand
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City and Giants House Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

If you're pulling into port in Akaroa, this shore excursion is designed to show you some of the sights of New Zealand's South Island. You'll explore the Banks Peninsula and the city of Christchurch, plus take a guided tour of the Giant's House. See how the city has rebuilt since the 2011 earthquake, and stop by places such as the Botanical Gardens. This tour allows you to relax on a pre-planned adventure instead of trying to find your own way around the area from the cruise ship port.
  • Discover the Banks Peninsula with a guide so you won't miss the top sights
  • Travel by vehicle with some time to explore on foot
  • Skip the stress of taxis or public transportation when you're in port
  • Pickup and drop-off provided in Akaroa
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Port pickup and drop-off
Driver/guide
Guided tour of the Giants House
Worry-free Shore Excursion Guarantee
Food and drinks
Gratuities (optional)
Akaroa Harbour , Akaroa Harbour, Canterbury, New Zealand
10:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Leisure Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
14 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-5 of 14 reviews
star-4
Great Scenery
Welch
, Mar 2020
The scenery and information provided on the drive along the Banks Peninsula en route to Christchurch was well worth the trip. Unfortunately, we had very little time in Christchurch because of delay leaving port due to extreme crowds caused by two ships in this small port. Giants House is a must-see in Akaroa. It is a short walk from the port.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Thanks for the great review, Welch. It's great to hear you had a nice time on you Akaroa shore excursion with Christchurch Sightseeing and Giant's House Tour and learnt a lot about this area of New Zealand. Regarding your comments, unfortunately the slight delays were caused by not just the double cruise ships in the harbour but also because a significant amount of people doing this tour did not take the tenders to shore early enough for our 10.30pm departure time. This is why we ask all travelers to try and arrive ashore at least 15 minutes before the tours departure. Despite the minor delays, we did manage to spend about the same amount in the city as we usually do and I happy that it had little impact on the tour. Thanks again and I hope you get to return to Akaroa and Christchurch again soon!
star-4
Well organized
wilsonshinwa
, Feb 2020
It is definitely a value for money short trip. Lots of histories been told by the driver (our guide actually) and she is so professionally taking all cares on us. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the great review! I'm pleased you enjoyed your Akaroa shore excursion to Christchurch with Giant's House and that you feel our tour is a great value for money! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your cruise and you get to visit Akaroa and Christchurch again soon!
star-5
Perfect Day
dalmorelodge
, Feb 2020
Had a great day. Janet was informative and got us around easily. It was lovely to see Christchurch and all they are rebuilding after the earthquake. Would like to have had more time but the joys of being on a cruise ship limit this. Especially enjoyed Akaroa and the Giant’s House. What a beautiful garden. Akaroa quaint and we loved walking around it.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the awesome review. I'm really pleased that you had such a nice time on your Akaroa Shore Excursion including Christchurch City and Giants House Tour. Both Akaroa and the Giant's House are such beautiful places and definitely a highlight for people doing this tour. It's also great to see that your driver/guide, Janet, was informative and took good care of you! I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to her! Thanks again and I hope you get to visit Akaroa and Christchurch again soon!
star-2
Don't Miss Giant's House, Skip the Rest
Doug S
, Nov 2019
I honestly cannot fathom why the urban sprawl and uninteresting Christchurch is a place you need to visit EXCEPT for the massive and diverse botanical gardens. HOWEVER, we were given a half hour there which is quite honestly criminally too short. The drive each way through beautiful rolling hills just didn't justify the trip in any way. Giant's House is the place to visit...find another trip as do not miss it. It was a highlite of our entire cruise.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
In all cases we aim to meet and where possible exceed our customers excepations. It is disappointing when we receive reviews such as this one, especially where the customer has not enjoyed the beautiful scenery through Banks Peninsula or Christchurch City with its interesting history of earthquakes and the rebuild taking place there, some find this to be the absolute highlight of their cruise. For those not interested in seeing this magnificent scenery and the beautiful city of Christchurch we do have a local cruise excusion which also includes the Giants House.
star-3
A disappointment
Jet61751595400
, Nov 2019
First, we were crammed into a minibus with totally inadequate legroom. Second, there were long drives to and from Christchurch and the city itself had little to offer. Giants House was great, although we did not have enough time there due to our late arrival.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you for your feedback an I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the excursion. I am unsure why you felt cramped in the tour vehicle , this was a brand new 17 passenger seat Ford Transit with coach seating. Most passengers prefer this type of vehicle and small group touring over the larger coaches. In all cases we aim to meet and where possible exceed our customers excepations. It is disappointing when we receive reviews such as this one, especially where the customer has not enjoyed the beautiful scenery through Banks Peninsula or Christchurch City with its interesting history of earthquakes and the rebuild taking place there, some find this to be the absolute highlight of their cruise. For those not interested in seeing this magnificent scenery and the beautiful city of Christchurch we do have a local cruise excusion which also includes the Giants House.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City and Giants House Tour
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City and Giants House Tour

star-3.514

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.98

Explore Similar Things to Do